Chevron Left
Back to Python for Genomic Data Science

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Python for Genomic Data Science by Johns Hopkins University

4.3
stars
1,343 ratings
255 reviews

About the Course

This class provides an introduction to the Python programming language and the iPython notebook. This is the third course in the Genomic Big Data Science Specialization from Johns Hopkins University....

Top reviews

KR
Jul 16, 2018

A very good course for its length and the amount of time it requires. It improved my python skills and knowledge of Genomics. I'm more engaged in my pursuits than before taking the course.

JD
Oct 6, 2017

Easy to understand and very powerful examples. Not just it made me familiar with python, it also made it easy for me to teach to my students and inspire them to pursue python further.

Filter by:

226 - 250 of 252 Reviews for Python for Genomic Data Science

By Yuxi L

Dec 15, 2019

The final project may be too hard for beginners.

By sonali g

Feb 15, 2018

could have included some practical sessions

By shubham k

Jun 2, 2020

please make things easy for learning

By FABIEN C

May 24, 2020

Interface not the most Pleasant.

By Lauren M

May 15, 2020

This is not a beginner course. Lectures were fine, but FAST and more like a review than an actual lecture. Quizzes were off the wall difficult especially in week 3 and 4, and do not get me started about the Final Exam. Im not sure why lectures spoke about one topic and all quizzes were seemingly BARELY related. If you are new to programming, start python somewhere else, and come back to this later. I found myself spending 50% of my time googling other resources trying to figure out basic code syntax. Super frustrating and I dont feel I learned very much here, unfortunately. This course may be helped a lot if the quizzes were RELEVANT to lecture material and if it would be at all possible to provide PRACTICE PROBLEMS as assignments instead of some of the quizzes? Just a thought...

By Cesar P G G

Sep 2, 2020

El curso se encuentra desatendido, las actividades/examenes no presentan el formato correcto (desactualizado) lo que hace más difícil aun contestarlos, el examen final es bastante complicado para primerizos en Python. El curso te da conceptos básicos de Python aplicada a secuencias genomicas, es retador por los problemas anteriores, pero el conocimiento que se logra es bastante bueno. Recomiendo tomar otro curso de Python y posterior a ese tomar este, además, recuerda revisar los foros de debate dentro del curso para que conozcas de antemano los problemas que existen con cada actividad/examen.

By Leah P

Jan 6, 2021

The modules are good and fairly easy to follow, although the course states you don't need any background in biology or coding (which they go very fast and offer little explanation of concepts) so this is coming as someone with a background in both. The quizzes are much harder than what they show you in the modules for examples, bringing in new concepts not discussed entirely. I wouldn't advise someone without a need for Bioinformatics programming to take this course (e.g. someone who is just interested in Molecular biology etc but hasn't taken courses before)

By Manuela L

Mar 16, 2021

This is the second specialization I take in Coursera (I took Statistics with Python from Michigan University). I am really disappointed with this course. It was clearly made years ago and dropped on line but is not really an online course. There is no interaction between the teachers and the students, questions in the forum remain years unsolved and there are no actualizations. The videos are very basic and the level of final exam is extremely high. What I can say is that almost all that I learnt was by myself on the internet trying to solve the final exam.

By Jennifer D

Nov 21, 2016

This class was really difficult. The course material did not cover what we needed for the weekly quizzes (particularly in Week 3 & 4) and the final exam was immensely difficult. Additionally, the written instructions for the final exam did not even cover some of the questions that needed to be answered i.e. repeats or questions about particular reading frames when analyzing the ORFs. I had to do a lot of self teaching using random resources and I simply didn't have the bandwidth to dig around as much as was needed in order to do well in the class.

By Xavier L G

Oct 29, 2016

Although courseware video is well done

Assigment are poorly designed and imbalanced

Far too easy on end of each week

Last week final assignment overly difficult and poorly guided

The sense of progress is very small after completing the course

Biology meets programming from UCSD is better designed on pedagogy and code challenges level.

Can't recommend not worth investing time or 50 bucks

By Toygar P

Dec 27, 2020

The content and the exams were way more different. With those lectures it is impossible to pass final exam. There are a lot f untold part about programming. You shouldn't take this course before knowing Python. It does not teach Python for beginners exactly.

By Timothy M

May 15, 2020

Just tried to get through functions week. The video shows how to write an reverse compliment function and then doesn't show you that it works. Only one example and then, done. Then the quiz asks about reiterative functions which was never covered. Sloppy.

By Kagning T E

Dec 12, 2017

The instructors explain well, but it is difficult for beginners to implement the codes using python. Therefore, video tutorials describing how to implement the codes in python would have been better to further make this course beginners friendly.

By PROMISREE C

May 11, 2020

This course is not really meant for beginners! From week 2 onwards it gets very challenging and difficult to follow. The quiz questions do not match with the content of the the lectures and some of the questions are even framed wrong.

By Anastassiya Z

Feb 14, 2016

Not enough material provided to successfully complete final exam. More detailed explanation needed for newbies in Python and especially for newbies in programming, as it is , I am assuming, target group.

By Bryan G

Jul 20, 2018

It's a decent course, but do not expect them to explain much on how to code in Python. It would've been much more helpful had I taken an intro course on Python first.

By Limeng X

Mar 10, 2018

very poorly taught,really don't recommend it. The Algorithm for DNA sequencing is the best in this Specialization.

By Jessica A

Jun 28, 2020

The lectures are great but the quizzes and the final are so hard compared to what they teach.

By Tahani A B

Oct 19, 2020

it is very hard

need advance and good background in python

By Yerbol T

Jul 7, 2020

There are no practice problems at all during the week

By Catherine J

May 19, 2020

Not for a beginner as advertised

By Leo U

Sep 11, 2018

Incomprehensible.

By Carmen B

Aug 22, 2021

A very large portion of the code in this course material does not work, even when copied directly. Moderators don't post the discussion forums where students are trying to help each other due to lack of guidance. Some of the moderators have never posted in the forums at all - 1 of them has only posted 3 times.

People who have used Python have commented in the forums that the code formatting in the quizzes is terrible, and that they have to use their existing understanding of Python to be able to get to correct answers. This course is marketed to people who have no prior knowledge of Python. Many are just completing quizzes by repeating them over and over until they get the right answers.

In short - don't do this course if you are looking to learn. It has been abandoned by Johns Hopkins University. If you just want the certificate, just keep trying till you get the right answers and youll be fine.

By Yee G

Jun 19, 2020

The week 4 content is the worst. The lecturer just briefly explain the algorithm and expect us to answer the quiz and final exam which most of the question does not teach or even introduce in the lecture! Are they just assuming that we need to know bio module before taking this course? I thought this course is to introduce Python for genomic data science.

Next, there are few questions in the weekly quiz has the wrong format for the python code and has not been fixed since 4 years ago. No mentor replying the discussion question, only students discuss among themselves.

I have taken the Algorithm for DNA sequencing course and is way better than this course.

By HARSHIT J

Jun 30, 2020

The final project is very tough and requires an extensive background in Python Programming not at all suitable for beginners, and there was little to no help provided for the same via the course materials