Chevron Left
Back to Python for Genomic Data Science

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Python for Genomic Data Science by Johns Hopkins University

4.3
stars
1,295 ratings
245 reviews

About the Course

This class provides an introduction to the Python programming language and the iPython notebook. This is the third course in the Genomic Big Data Science Specialization from Johns Hopkins University....

Top reviews

KR
Jul 16, 2018

A very good course for its length and the amount of time it requires. It improved my python skills and knowledge of Genomics. I'm more engaged in my pursuits than before taking the course.

JD
Oct 6, 2017

Easy to understand and very powerful examples. Not just it made me familiar with python, it also made it easy for me to teach to my students and inspire them to pursue python further.

Filter by:

226 - 240 of 240 Reviews for Python for Genomic Data Science

By Timothy M

May 15, 2020

Just tried to get through functions week. The video shows how to write an reverse compliment function and then doesn't show you that it works. Only one example and then, done. Then the quiz asks about reiterative functions which was never covered. Sloppy.

By Kagning T E

Dec 12, 2017

The instructors explain well, but it is difficult for beginners to implement the codes using python. Therefore, video tutorials describing how to implement the codes in python would have been better to further make this course beginners friendly.

By PROMISREE C

May 11, 2020

This course is not really meant for beginners! From week 2 onwards it gets very challenging and difficult to follow. The quiz questions do not match with the content of the the lectures and some of the questions are even framed wrong.

By Anastassiya Z

Feb 14, 2016

Not enough material provided to successfully complete final exam. More detailed explanation needed for newbies in Python and especially for newbies in programming, as it is , I am assuming, target group.

By Bryan G

Jul 20, 2018

It's a decent course, but do not expect them to explain much on how to code in Python. It would've been much more helpful had I taken an intro course on Python first.

By Limeng X

Mar 10, 2018

very poorly taught,really don't recommend it. The Algorithm for DNA sequencing is the best in this Specialization.

By Jessica A

Jun 28, 2020

The lectures are great but the quizzes and the final are so hard compared to what they teach.

By Tahani A B

Oct 19, 2020

it is very hard

need advance and good background in python

By Yerbol T

Jul 7, 2020

There are no practice problems at all during the week

By Catherine J

May 19, 2020

Not for a beginner as advertised

By Leo U

Sep 11, 2018

Incomprehensible.

By Yee G

Jun 19, 2020

The week 4 content is the worst. The lecturer just briefly explain the algorithm and expect us to answer the quiz and final exam which most of the question does not teach or even introduce in the lecture! Are they just assuming that we need to know bio module before taking this course? I thought this course is to introduce Python for genomic data science.

Next, there are few questions in the weekly quiz has the wrong format for the python code and has not been fixed since 4 years ago. No mentor replying the discussion question, only students discuss among themselves.

I have taken the Algorithm for DNA sequencing course and is way better than this course.

By HARSHIT J

Jun 30, 2020

The final project is very tough and requires an extensive background in Python Programming not at all suitable for beginners, and there was little to no help provided for the same via the course materials

By sundrish s

Aug 3, 2020

Frustrating!!!!!! The teacher is teaching from reading the content from the screen and No connection with the student. I had hard time understanding what teacher was saying. Dissappointing!

By 063 P J

Oct 31, 2020

Do not take if without programming experience