Chevron Left
Back to Qualitative Research Methods

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Qualitative Research Methods by University of Amsterdam

4.6
stars
1,076 ratings
375 reviews

About the Course

In this course you will be introduced to the basic ideas behind the qualitative research in social science. You will learn about data collection, description, analysis and interpretation in qualitative research. Qualitative research often involves an iterative process. We will focus on the ingredients required for this process: data collection and analysis. You won't learn how to use qualitative methods by just watching video's, so we put much stress on collecting data through observation and interviewing and on analysing and interpreting the collected data in other assignments. Obviously, the most important concepts in qualitative research will be discussed, just as we will discuss quality criteria, good practices, ethics, writing some methods of analysis, and mixing methods. We hope to take away some prejudice, and enthuse many students for qualitative research....

Top reviews

KF
Dec 20, 2018

I found this a very useful way of getting a basic introduction to qualitative research methods, without just sitting down with some text books. The content was engaging and at the right level for me.

HU
Aug 8, 2020

Best course on Qualitative Research.Improved knowledge about the concepts and its application in different steps of research.Thanks to Dr.Gerben Moerman for his matchless delivering of concepts.

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 374 Reviews for Qualitative Research Methods

By Thaung H

May 3, 2020

It was the best course I ever took. Before I took this, qualitative methods were very difficult to me but, now, it is not. I learnt a lot on how to interview, how to probe, how to interpret and write a case story. I am going to apply what I have learnt in the course for practical work. I also learnt very interactive and innovative teaching methods from our lecturer. I believe that he's the best teacher ever.

By Helen S

Apr 17, 2016

I found this course to be excellent. I really enjoyed the content and learned so very much.

My only criticism is not of the course content but simply the nature of the course. I am currently working full time and doing a Masters degree part time, and I did this on top of that, so I found the work load to be exceptionally heavy. Not a problem for someone who isn't working though.

Superb course - thank you.

By Julianne S

Mar 24, 2020

I really, really enjoyed this course. This was the first MOOC I have completed. I wondered how rich the experience would be, and I have found the experience to be outstanding. I appreciated the peer feedback. The short didactic videos were wonderful in terms of content AND production quality. The assignments were highly valuable for my learning. Great work from the course designers and professors!

By eman m b

Jun 21, 2017

I've learned from this course a lot about the methods of qualitative research, and the preference of this course is the professor's explanation method, which is characterized by depth and flexibility and the use of images and many many examples that facilitate understanding. I have learned from this course much more than any book I read in the research methods. Thank you so much Dr. Gerben Moerman

By Büşra N A

Apr 10, 2021

I learned the qualitative method easily and joyfully. This lesson lecturer tells the lesson actively and instructive. The lesson duration time is very enough and I didn't bored. All week's homework very instructive. Feedback from other students gave me different perspectives. Also, quizzes are broad on all topics. I gain a point in the qualitative method. Thank you for yours labor:))

By Ilina I

Feb 15, 2016

This course is challenging and exciting. I liked the creative approach of the team, including graphic design and illustration work. The tasks are stimulating and very interactive. I could feel or at least imagine the spirit of the real qualitative research process. The theoretical and practical knowledge from the course was very useful for writing my master's thesis. Thank you!

By Ebtesam A A S

Aug 22, 2020

The amazing course literally!

Qualitative method is difficult and the lecturer made it as simple as possible.

I did a qualitative research previously, but I did not have this deeper understanding as I do now after accomplishing this course ! I am interested in doing another review article about qualitative research method now after I got inspired by this course.

Thank you

By Muhammad R K

Aug 9, 2020

The superbly designed course which very nicely introduces one to the release of qualitative research. The videos are professionally crafted. I like its assignments a lot. My only suggestion is to include the other disciplinary touches to the course as it is mostly sociology based because nowadays, it is much more used in organizational and management studies.

By Elpida S

Jun 12, 2018

Very well organised course useful material well educated ProfessorVery interesting approach for assigments Despite it is so much theoretical it provides the suitable knowledge to undestood the not only the learning process but the aspects of society. Assigments made us to investigate , to search, to code to interprete.. alone. I will reccomend to everyone.

By Masoud I

Mar 14, 2021

It was a helpful and great course. However, I think it could get improved by adding files or transcripts of the concepts taught by the teacher. Videos were great, but the slides were not good enough to recall the details. I assume just like the "Quantitative Methods", this course can become better by using the videos' transcripts at the end of each week.

By Emilia M C d L

Mar 4, 2021

I not only learnt a lot in this course, but also I enjoyed it!!! I strongly recommend it. I am a PhD student and the whole learnt will be practiced pretty soon. I feel more confident about Qualitative Research Methods!! Thanks a lot! The teacher is amazing! So clear and enthusiastic!! Whole materials and assigments are so helpful to understand theory!

By Thomas B

May 25, 2020

Professor Moerman was truly exceptional. His passionate teaching was motivating me all the time and made the whole process so enjoyable! Moreover, some tasks, such as interviewing and observational fieldwork, were really helpful and made me understand what applied qualitative research looks like in practice. Reference sources were also very good.

By James B

Sep 28, 2016

I found this to be an excellent course for not only developing my knowledge of qualitative research methods, but also expanding it. Having done a previous course in University I was surprised at the amount of new information this course had. The peer reviews felt fair and were always informative, I have never been exposed to such global critique!

By Sue L

Jan 7, 2018

A good overview of qualitative research methods from a sociological and anthropological perspective. Definitely made me realize that there is so much to learn and experience in the world of rigorous qualitative research that one cannot simply "pick up" when working in research-related roles in the industry. Love the enthusiastic instructor!

By Theo A R S

Jun 22, 2017

Awesome introduction to qualitative researches perspectives, methods and techniques in social science. The student is allowed to deepen the study and make practical activities on some methods. However, the broad overview given presents the principles of general qualitative research and points to high value literature on diverse topics.

By Rita A

Sep 10, 2020

Thank you very much to the Lecturer who is very jolly and alive aside from the fact that he is well-equipped in the course and with so much experience and knowledge. I am confident and better now as a teacher in Qualitaitve methods, then perhaps I can go an extra mile in conducting an exploratory study of my own. Mabbalo mestru!!!!!

By Angela S

Mar 30, 2017

I really enjoyed this course, I would have liked a bit more explanation for certain concepts and perhaps some reading that were shorter, like articles (the suggested readings were mostly books). The assignments were designed to apply your knowledge and build on what you were learning, I thought this was a great learning experience!

By Jonathan G

Dec 12, 2016

This was a tougher course than I expected, but Dr. Moerman does a great job of taking a huge field with some inherently fuzzy concepts and practices, then breaking them down logically. The focus on assignments more than exams is really useful, since so much of qualitative research involves talking, listening, and writing.

By Bikash D

Jul 23, 2019

It's really a very good course. I am from technical background but Dr. Gerben Moerman taught in such an interesting way it's really very helpful to me. He created an interest for the subject. Really good course and really good teacher. I will ask those who are starting their Ph. D must do this course in their coursework.

By Giulia L

May 13, 2020

I truly appreciated this course, the professor's approach and way of teaching. It has been very inspiring and made me love qualitative research even more!

I am not sure that this is applicable, BUT I would have appreciated even more if more qualitative research designs have been described.

Thank you for that course!!

By Linda.Zh

Aug 29, 2017

It is a fantastic course. It deepens my understanding of qualitative research methods and prepares me with basic skills in doing qualitative research. It is perfect for beginners. The lecturer Dr Moerman is very passionate, logic and funny in these lectures. It has been a very enjoyable learning experience.

By Nabaraj G

Oct 16, 2019

This is most promising course ever offered online which includes very practical aspects of the qualitative research design and its application. Further, the mixing of qualitative and quantitative research is most interesting part.

I recommend this course for the academicians and development practitioner.

By Sheetal S

May 3, 2020

Being a development practitioner, it is very important for me to equip with knowledge and skills for conducting, interpreting and analyzing qualitative research. This course is a perfect blend of theory, analysis and examples. I am very happy to have enrolled into the course and building my knowledge.

By Juliana M

Nov 16, 2018

The course is great! I came out of it with enough knowledge to start reading the books recommended by . the professor and I am having a very good time with them. The course gave me enough knowledge to be able to understand the area's language and apply some of the things I learned at my work.

By Polina B

Apr 3, 2017

I liked the course a lot. I was impressed by Dr Moerman's passion to qualitative research methods (though sometimes his vivid gesticulation and jumping distracted me from the material). Assignments were quite useful for understanding of course concepts, though they took a lot of time.