Chevron Left
Back to Interfacing with the Raspberry Pi

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Interfacing with the Raspberry Pi by University of California, Irvine

4.7
stars
1,467 ratings
229 reviews

About the Course

The Raspberry Pi uses a variety of input/output devices based on protocols such as HDMI, USB, and Ethernet to communicate with the outside world. In this class you will learn how to use these protocols with other external devices (sensors, motors, GPS, orientation, LCD screens etc.) to get your IoT device to interact with the real world. Most physical devices use analog signals; however computer hardware is digital so in this class you will learn how these signals are converted back-and-forth and how this must be considered as you program your device. The basic design of a sensor-actuator system will also be covered. You will also learn how to build more sophisticated hardware systems using Raspberry Pi expansion boards to create fun and exciting IoT devices. Please note that this course does not include discussion forums....

Top reviews

BS
Sep 2, 2019

The course was pretty interesting and I learnt a lot of new things from this course. I have gained confidence to try something new b myself after completing this course and hope I do so in the future

DP
Nov 24, 2018

Course is great, but it takes forever to grade classmates. For example, by the end of the last week homework , I had to wait two weeks till someone was available to grade.

Filter by:

151 - 175 of 224 Reviews for Interfacing with the Raspberry Pi

By Rekha M

Aug 28, 2018

good

By Tabita S

Aug 28, 2018

good

By Deepti S

Aug 8, 2018

Good

By s m k

Jul 22, 2018

Nice

By MAARAM G

Jul 14, 2018

good

By KOPPU H V

Jul 13, 2018

NICE

By Marala S S

Jul 5, 2018

Good

By DUGGU K S

Jul 5, 2018

Good

By G R C P

Jul 5, 2018

Good

By Darshankumar K P

Jul 3, 2018

Good

By GOOLI A

Jul 2, 2018

good

By Tungala R

Jun 23, 2018

good

By ANUMOLU Y

Jun 21, 2018

good

By Thomas T

Sep 23, 2016

GOOD

By Abdullah-Al-Mamun

Jun 28, 2020

NA

By Scott S

Feb 26, 2018

G

By Neville C

Jun 21, 2019

This course is a very interesting monologue of Dr Harris about Raspberry Pi, Python and GPIO. There is no MOOC in this video collection. No way of asking questions to the instructor, no forum and you can not even give feed back on peer graded assignments. The library used for GPIO is not the most current, but it works. There is a whole week about using Twitter which in the end it is not required. Not sure if it has changed, but getting Twitter API keys takes time, as you need to fill some on-line forms and wait for those to be reviewed. But, this course makes you explores a broad range of topics not usually found on short videos or tutorials.

By Alejandro A J

Nov 17, 2020

Good basic course to know the Raspberry Pi. It has interesting information, like connecting the raspbery to Twitter, using the Pi Camera and moving a Servomotor. It could be deeper in this topic, but it just give you the basic (and enough for the course), so hopefully in other course we get to use this stuff better

By Catur A

Aug 25, 2020

The course with Prof. Ian Harris is great.

But, if this course respects the plagiarism honor code, it should be handled better.

I found some learners just use youtube video link from other, even many years ago. I also happened to peer-reviewing another learner using my uploaded image as his/her assignment file.

By Radwan n

May 4, 2020

I liked the course a lot, it gives important basic information to get the learner ready to start working with IoT projects, specifically raspberry pi.

Some of the assignments require the raspberry pi device.

By Jason D M

Jun 5, 2017

Good introduction. Has many small code mistakes and doesn't go too deep into any topic, but at the same time provides a guaranteed way to jumpstart your familiarity with Raspberry Pi. Fun and enjoyable.

By Aman B

Nov 15, 2017

The course is not very complete as in some programs aren't fully explained. But the course is good for someone who is willing to go further with the help of the internet.

By Don R

Apr 8, 2018

Lack of discussion forums impacted learning experience. Other than that, solid technical content and good presentation.

By Rodrigo E

Jan 30, 2016

I enjoyed the course, was easy to follow, but I would rather prefer something more challenging

By Craig W

Jun 27, 2016

Needs to be a little more technical and kick up the level of difficulty a notch or two.