Chevron Left
Back to Big Data Analysis with Scala and Spark

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Big Data Analysis with Scala and Spark by École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne

4.7
2,103 ratings
421 reviews

About the Course

Manipulating big data distributed over a cluster using functional concepts is rampant in industry, and is arguably one of the first widespread industrial uses of functional ideas. This is evidenced by the popularity of MapReduce and Hadoop, and most recently Apache Spark, a fast, in-memory distributed collections framework written in Scala. In this course, we'll see how the data parallel paradigm can be extended to the distributed case, using Spark throughout. We'll cover Spark's programming model in detail, being careful to understand how and when it differs from familiar programming models, like shared-memory parallel collections or sequential Scala collections. Through hands-on examples in Spark and Scala, we'll learn when important issues related to distribution like latency and network communication should be considered and how they can be addressed effectively for improved performance. Learning Outcomes. By the end of this course you will be able to: - read data from persistent storage and load it into Apache Spark, - manipulate data with Spark and Scala, - express algorithms for data analysis in a functional style, - recognize how to avoid shuffles and recomputation in Spark, Recommended background: You should have at least one year programming experience. Proficiency with Java or C# is ideal, but experience with other languages such as C/C++, Python, Javascript or Ruby is also sufficient. You should have some familiarity using the command line. This course is intended to be taken after Parallel Programming: https://www.coursera.org/learn/parprog1....

Top reviews

CC

Jun 08, 2017

The sessions where clearly explained and focused. Some of the exercises contained slightly confusing hints and information, but I'm sure those mistakes will be ironed out in future iterations. Thanks!

BP

Nov 29, 2019

Excellent overview of Spark, including exercises that solidify what you learn during the lectures. The development environment setup tutorials were also very helpful, as I had not yet worked with sbt.

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 406 Reviews for Big Data Analysis with Scala and Spark

By Choy R

Apr 10, 2017

Great introduction to spark. Fun assignments. Since it was the first ever session, there were quite a few kinks with the assignments. But the discussion forums rescued me any time I was stuck.

By jiajie

Jul 09, 2017

Learn a lot things about spark. Thanks!

By Jiri K

Apr 08, 2017

Awesome! Perhaps couple of tests would be handy, just a few to have something to start with.

By Varun R

Sep 22, 2017

Greate course to get an overview of Spark. Heather's teaching style is awesome. Her style really helps to connect the dots. Explains a lot on 'why' along with 'how'. To get full benefit, do as a continuation of other scala courses in the specialization. It would have been nice if there was a gentle intro to other areas like ML and Streaming. Great course.

By Aleksander K

Apr 02, 2017

This class is great! Highly recomended! It helped me to understand and perform better at my daily working tasks!

By Peter S

Apr 02, 2017

Another fun Scala course!

By Buddhika L S

Feb 17, 2018

This is a good course if you already know the Scala language and looking to improve your theoretical understanding of Spark programming.

By Tomasz J

Apr 09, 2017

Great, short course, which gives great insight into Spark and ad-hoc data processing on Hadoop-ish clusters.

By Konstantin K

Apr 12, 2017

good stuff, compared to the other similar course in PySpark this one gave me a lot more understanding of how things work in Spark on the low level

By Javier O

Jul 11, 2017

Easy to follow. Really well explained and planned. Strongly recommended.

By Jong H S

Aug 18, 2017

A wonderful and timely course.

By Rocky J

May 08, 2017

Great subject, well explained with solid weekly assignments make this course a stellar learning experience.

By Guixin Z

Apr 05, 2017

very nice material and organized very well. still amazed what spark can do with the data.

By Art P

Mar 10, 2018

Thank you! Some additional examples would be appreciable.

By Alejandro R C

Aug 14, 2017

Everything was easy to understand

By Hermann H

Jul 19, 2017

Great material !!! ;-)

By Kovalenko S

Jul 17, 2017

Курс очень понравился, спасибо большое за ваш труд!

By Vasyl Y

Jun 26, 2017

Cool course! Thanks for your job

By Jinfu X

Mar 13, 2017

Thanks! It's an excellent course.

By 本达 续

Aug 04, 2017

A very natural application of functional programming to real world distributed computation problems.

By Walter D

Jan 01, 2018

Great course to get going with Apache Spark. Would recommend to someone who has java or scala experience already and wants to learn about distributed processing.

By Emanuel E d S O

Oct 22, 2017

Excelente curso. Já trabalhei com Spark, mas tive a oportunidade de aprender muitas coisas novas sobre ele. Achei muito interessante a abordagem sobre as novas estruturas de dados que chegaram nas novas versões (para mim, pelo menos, pois trabalhei com a versão 1.6). Recomendo.

By Darcio

Apr 04, 2017

Excellent and broad view of Spark and its design foundations. Besides the formal knowledge of Spark, it could change my perspective about how Scala and Akka had a crucial role in the Spark architecture.

By Fedor C

Aug 31, 2017

Very interesting course! Thanks!

By Samuel L

Mar 23, 2017

Very well taught and insightful! Especially the combination of slides, and additionally drawn notes on that slides, I found very good.