Chevron Left
Back to Big Data Analysis with Scala and Spark

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Big Data Analysis with Scala and Spark by École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne

4.7
2,006 ratings
405 reviews

About the Course

Manipulating big data distributed over a cluster using functional concepts is rampant in industry, and is arguably one of the first widespread industrial uses of functional ideas. This is evidenced by the popularity of MapReduce and Hadoop, and most recently Apache Spark, a fast, in-memory distributed collections framework written in Scala. In this course, we'll see how the data parallel paradigm can be extended to the distributed case, using Spark throughout. We'll cover Spark's programming model in detail, being careful to understand how and when it differs from familiar programming models, like shared-memory parallel collections or sequential Scala collections. Through hands-on examples in Spark and Scala, we'll learn when important issues related to distribution like latency and network communication should be considered and how they can be addressed effectively for improved performance. Learning Outcomes. By the end of this course you will be able to: - read data from persistent storage and load it into Apache Spark, - manipulate data with Spark and Scala, - express algorithms for data analysis in a functional style, - recognize how to avoid shuffles and recomputation in Spark, Recommended background: You should have at least one year programming experience. Proficiency with Java or C# is ideal, but experience with other languages such as C/C++, Python, Javascript or Ruby is also sufficient. You should have some familiarity using the command line. This course is intended to be taken after Parallel Programming: https://www.coursera.org/learn/parprog1....

Top reviews

CC

Jun 08, 2017

The sessions where clearly explained and focused. Some of the exercises contained slightly confusing hints and information, but I'm sure those mistakes will be ironed out in future iterations. Thanks!

CR

Apr 10, 2017

Great introduction to spark. Fun assignments. Since it was the first ever session, there were quite a few kinks with the assignments. But the discussion forums rescued me any time I was stuck.

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 390 Reviews for Big Data Analysis with Scala and Spark

By Matthias T

Aug 17, 2017

Great introduction to Spark accessed through Scala. Didactically awesome.

By Shashank B

Oct 15, 2017

It is an excellent course with good clear explanation of theoretical concepts and practical examples.

By Carlos S

Jan 23, 2018

Very good !! ... Thanks Heather Miller for such cool class !! (Y) <3

By AJ C

Apr 09, 2017

This course is a nice guided way to get started with Apache Spark! I wish I took this course earlier when i was using Spark at my previous company. It would've come in handy. Plenty of great content and the course exercises supply good practice.

By Max Z

Mar 04, 2018

Excellent. I learned a lot from this course, even though I did not know much about scala. Strongly recommended this course

By Henoc M

Mar 26, 2017

Awesome course

By Ravi S

Jul 06, 2017

Course material is pretty good. Week 2 assignment is hard.

By David M

Sep 18, 2017

Concepts are very well explained..

By Aldrin

Jul 10, 2017

The information was explained really well for someone coming in with no spark and minimal scala knowledge. Due to this course I understood basic spark concepts well enough to begin understanding pipelines built on top of spark such as ADAM.

I would highly recommend this course to everyone.

By Alberto C B

Jun 30, 2018

Great introductory course on Spark with Scala. Touched many important things

By Estera K

Mar 20, 2017

AWESOME!

By Satendra k

Apr 09, 2017

Thanks

By Shane

May 10, 2018

Very well-organized courses about Spark ! Really learned some good practical tips. Hope there could be more explanations about the assignments.

By Mike D

Apr 06, 2017

Great introduction course to Spark with excellent materials and hand-on programming assignments. Thanks for taking effort to get this class online. I have enjoyed it very much.

Kudos to Professor Miller, we love you :-)

By pratik

Aug 10, 2017

The course starts from the basic concepts and moves towards the complex concepts. The most important thing is that minute details are taken into consideration and explained properly.

By Andrii P

Apr 09, 2017

Just awesome :)

By abhinav

Dec 10, 2017

Wonderful course!!!

By Neha B

May 19, 2017

It gave me very good understanding on Spark Architecture, functioning along with hands on over Scala. Good examples used during lessons.

By ciri

Jun 08, 2017

The sessions where clearly explained and focused. Some of the exercises contained slightly confusing hints and information, but I'm sure those mistakes will be ironed out in future iterations. Thanks!

By Fernando R

Oct 28, 2017

it was a super interesting course

By Ananda P V

Aug 31, 2017

excellent introduction to Spark. I was always looking for some course which touches the underlying functional aspect of Spark then just showing syntactic values. Moreover this course also teaches how parallelism and distributed process works with Spark. You also get an idea why Spark is written in Scala.

By Manuel M C

Mar 23, 2017

Great course, keep up the good work.

By Andreas K

Jul 26, 2017

It was a pleasure to follow the video lectures and solve the assignments.

By Jayaprakash

Apr 09, 2017

Great Material and lecture videos. It covered important concepts we need to know about Spark and helped me to learn further. Assignments were on real datasets and helped me to explore different APIs if Spark and Scala.

By Jay

Sep 21, 2017

cool teacher and cool course!