Chevron Left
Back to Big Data Analysis with Scala and Spark

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Big Data Analysis with Scala and Spark by École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne

4.7
2,098 ratings
421 reviews

About the Course

Manipulating big data distributed over a cluster using functional concepts is rampant in industry, and is arguably one of the first widespread industrial uses of functional ideas. This is evidenced by the popularity of MapReduce and Hadoop, and most recently Apache Spark, a fast, in-memory distributed collections framework written in Scala. In this course, we'll see how the data parallel paradigm can be extended to the distributed case, using Spark throughout. We'll cover Spark's programming model in detail, being careful to understand how and when it differs from familiar programming models, like shared-memory parallel collections or sequential Scala collections. Through hands-on examples in Spark and Scala, we'll learn when important issues related to distribution like latency and network communication should be considered and how they can be addressed effectively for improved performance. Learning Outcomes. By the end of this course you will be able to: - read data from persistent storage and load it into Apache Spark, - manipulate data with Spark and Scala, - express algorithms for data analysis in a functional style, - recognize how to avoid shuffles and recomputation in Spark, Recommended background: You should have at least one year programming experience. Proficiency with Java or C# is ideal, but experience with other languages such as C/C++, Python, Javascript or Ruby is also sufficient. You should have some familiarity using the command line. This course is intended to be taken after Parallel Programming: https://www.coursera.org/learn/parprog1....

Top reviews

CC

Jun 08, 2017

The sessions where clearly explained and focused. Some of the exercises contained slightly confusing hints and information, but I'm sure those mistakes will be ironed out in future iterations. Thanks!

BP

Nov 29, 2019

Excellent overview of Spark, including exercises that solidify what you learn during the lectures. The development environment setup tutorials were also very helpful, as I had not yet worked with sbt.

Filter by:

126 - 150 of 405 Reviews for Big Data Analysis with Scala and Spark

By Taneli L

Apr 10, 2017

Excellent course.

By Nishant T

Mar 28, 2017

Brilliant intro to Spark. I really like the enthusiasm with which Heather explains the key concepts.

By Rafael M C

Jun 20, 2017

Content was useful, overall a good course. Lectures were kind of dull.

By Nicolas D

Apr 13, 2017

Amazingly polished and well taught course although being given for the first time

By Merel C H T

Jun 07, 2017

I really liked the assignments in this course and all the content was well explained.

By Raduś N

May 23, 2017

Awesome teacher - very engaging. This is probably first time when I am watching lectures with pleasure. Also you can easily feel that course is fresh and specially made for this unlike previous ones from Scala speciality.

By William D

Dec 03, 2017

Excellent course! It's clear the instructor put a ton of thought and hard work into this. I learned a lot that I wouldn't have learned without taking this class. Thank you, Heather!

By Andrii P

Apr 09, 2017

Just awesome :)

By abhinav

Dec 10, 2017

Wonderful course!!!

By Neha B

May 19, 2017

It gave me very good understanding on Spark Architecture, functioning along with hands on over Scala. Good examples used during lessons.

By ciri

Jun 08, 2017

The sessions where clearly explained and focused. Some of the exercises contained slightly confusing hints and information, but I'm sure those mistakes will be ironed out in future iterations. Thanks!

By Laurent S

Apr 02, 2017

Fantastic initiation to Spark. Thanks Heather and the whole team at EPFL & Coursera.

By Animesh K

Mar 17, 2017

Really Awesome course. The instructor is great. Looking forward to more courses from Heather.

By Luis M M S

Jun 21, 2017

I loved this course

By Jevelson S

May 18, 2017

This course is awesome. I got a pretty good idea of spark. In fact this course helped me understand scala well.

By Salvatore R

Apr 23, 2017

This course is very well done.

By Rafael M

Oct 18, 2017

Great Course

By Grzegorz G

Mar 21, 2017

Some of the assignments are a bit challenging, due to grading system I suppose, but in the end general impression about this course is very positive

By Andy S R

Aug 21, 2017

It's a great course for those who want to learn Apache Spark.

By IURII B

Aug 07, 2017

Thanks !

By Jeroen M

Apr 10, 2017

Great course, well explained, instant value!

By Dario G

Sep 08, 2017

Lovely presentation of Apache Spark fundamentals using Scala. I believe that this course gives you enough background to do just about anything you want (as long as you have some familiar with Scala and SQL, and are willing to dig deeper).

By Vasyl Y

Jun 26, 2017

Cool course! Thanks for your job

By Jinfu X

Mar 13, 2017

Thanks! It's an excellent course.

By 本达 续

Aug 04, 2017

A very natural application of functional programming to real world distributed computation problems.