Chevron Left
Back to Big Data Analysis with Scala and Spark

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Big Data Analysis with Scala and Spark by École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne

4.7
2,007 ratings
406 reviews

About the Course

Manipulating big data distributed over a cluster using functional concepts is rampant in industry, and is arguably one of the first widespread industrial uses of functional ideas. This is evidenced by the popularity of MapReduce and Hadoop, and most recently Apache Spark, a fast, in-memory distributed collections framework written in Scala. In this course, we'll see how the data parallel paradigm can be extended to the distributed case, using Spark throughout. We'll cover Spark's programming model in detail, being careful to understand how and when it differs from familiar programming models, like shared-memory parallel collections or sequential Scala collections. Through hands-on examples in Spark and Scala, we'll learn when important issues related to distribution like latency and network communication should be considered and how they can be addressed effectively for improved performance. Learning Outcomes. By the end of this course you will be able to: - read data from persistent storage and load it into Apache Spark, - manipulate data with Spark and Scala, - express algorithms for data analysis in a functional style, - recognize how to avoid shuffles and recomputation in Spark, Recommended background: You should have at least one year programming experience. Proficiency with Java or C# is ideal, but experience with other languages such as C/C++, Python, Javascript or Ruby is also sufficient. You should have some familiarity using the command line. This course is intended to be taken after Parallel Programming: https://www.coursera.org/learn/parprog1....

Top reviews

CC

Jun 08, 2017

The sessions where clearly explained and focused. Some of the exercises contained slightly confusing hints and information, but I'm sure those mistakes will be ironed out in future iterations. Thanks!

CR

Apr 10, 2017

Great introduction to spark. Fun assignments. Since it was the first ever session, there were quite a few kinks with the assignments. But the discussion forums rescued me any time I was stuck.

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 390 Reviews for Big Data Analysis with Scala and Spark

By Kyle L

Jun 11, 2017

very good course, really enjoyed

By Angel A

May 07, 2017

love this topic!!!! New and frontier technology in NLP. More and more concentrations and analysis on this big data research.

I wish more courses about Parallel clustering using Spark available to the many.

By Vlad F

Mar 14, 2018

I learned a great deal about the Spark API. I recommend it to anybody eager to self educate after working hours.

By Zdeněk H

Jul 22, 2017

Thanks to this course I think that I have finally understood partitioning and everything about Datasets.

By Andy S R

Aug 21, 2017

It's a great course for those who want to learn Apache Spark.

By Shae S

Mar 23, 2017

I learned so much from this course! It was amazing how Dr. Miller used concepts that were meticulously built up in the earlier courses, such as evaluation strategy, functional collections, reactive programming, and associativity, to describe the core of Spark in only four units. As someone coming from more of a statistics background, I started this specialization only to learn Spark, so I wasn't always sure how relevant learning the more theoretical underpinnings of Scala would be. It turns out that it was pretty essential, while also just making me a better programmer. Looking forward to the capstone!

By IURII B

Aug 07, 2017

Thanks !

By Jeroen M

Apr 10, 2017

Great course, well explained, instant value!

By Jorge B C

May 02, 2017

Very interesting course!!

By Salvatore R

Apr 23, 2017

This course is very well done.

By Rafael M

Oct 18, 2017

Great Course

By Ismail A I

Apr 09, 2017

A very interesting and useful course.

Highly Recommended!

By Grzegorz G

Mar 21, 2017

Some of the assignments are a bit challenging, due to grading system I suppose, but in the end general impression about this course is very positive

By Joseph C A A

Apr 07, 2017

Excelente curso, muy bien material y explicado de manera muy dinámica y practica.

By Marcus E

Apr 09, 2017

The course gave me insight into the world och big data batch processing and how Spark solves it. Heather does a great job with presenting the material in a thorough way with relevant theory and illustrative examples. The assignments are well balanced and forces you to apply all your new knowledge when solving them. I highly recommend this course!

By Juan L R A

Jun 19, 2017

Very good course and good materials for learning

By Oleg m

Apr 10, 2017

First weeks were overcomplicated with k-means and stuff not related to Spark itself.

In general - GREAT JOB !!! Thx for such kind courses

By Kuntal G

Apr 01, 2017

Very Nice and effective course. One of the best course i have done on Spark online. Many Thanks to the course instructor Heather Miller for creating a very detail and updated course on Spark.

By Tal G

Apr 08, 2017

Excellent teacher

By Fernando

Jun 06, 2018

Great course about Big Data analysis

It was my first exposure to Big Data frameworks and I learned a lot about the problems trying to be solved and the power of Spark.

By Dennis Y

Jun 06, 2017

Thank the teacher, the course is very good, the teacher is also very nice. The first three weeks of feeling learned a lot of new knowledge, the last week may be each class time is relatively long. It would be better if you could split it.

By samy k

Mar 21, 2017

Interesting and challenging course! Thank You!

By Neeraj V D

Feb 27, 2018

limited content with dewp knowledge

By Jevelson S

May 18, 2017

This course is awesome. I got a pretty good idea of spark. In fact this course helped me understand scala well.

By lu

Sep 17, 2017

A good introduction to Scala programming in Spark environment.