Chevron Left
Back to Big Data Analysis with Scala and Spark

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Big Data Analysis with Scala and Spark by École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne

4.7
2,099 ratings
421 reviews

About the Course

Manipulating big data distributed over a cluster using functional concepts is rampant in industry, and is arguably one of the first widespread industrial uses of functional ideas. This is evidenced by the popularity of MapReduce and Hadoop, and most recently Apache Spark, a fast, in-memory distributed collections framework written in Scala. In this course, we'll see how the data parallel paradigm can be extended to the distributed case, using Spark throughout. We'll cover Spark's programming model in detail, being careful to understand how and when it differs from familiar programming models, like shared-memory parallel collections or sequential Scala collections. Through hands-on examples in Spark and Scala, we'll learn when important issues related to distribution like latency and network communication should be considered and how they can be addressed effectively for improved performance. Learning Outcomes. By the end of this course you will be able to: - read data from persistent storage and load it into Apache Spark, - manipulate data with Spark and Scala, - express algorithms for data analysis in a functional style, - recognize how to avoid shuffles and recomputation in Spark, Recommended background: You should have at least one year programming experience. Proficiency with Java or C# is ideal, but experience with other languages such as C/C++, Python, Javascript or Ruby is also sufficient. You should have some familiarity using the command line. This course is intended to be taken after Parallel Programming: https://www.coursera.org/learn/parprog1....

Top reviews

BP

Nov 29, 2019

Excellent overview of Spark, including exercises that solidify what you learn during the lectures. The development environment setup tutorials were also very helpful, as I had not yet worked with sbt.

CC

Jun 08, 2017

The sessions where clearly explained and focused. Some of the exercises contained slightly confusing hints and information, but I'm sure those mistakes will be ironed out in future iterations. Thanks!

Filter by:

201 - 225 of 406 Reviews for Big Data Analysis with Scala and Spark

By Wei-Ting C

Sep 13, 2017

This is my first completed course on Coursera! It's good for understanding Apache Spark's RDD and its usage.

By Daniel D

Apr 20, 2017

Great course - well prepared by the team.

By Nicolas D

Apr 13, 2017

Amazingly polished and well taught course although being given for the first time

By César A

Mar 29, 2017

Excellent course. Fun and entertaining.

By Merel C H T

Jun 07, 2017

I really liked the assignments in this course and all the content was well explained.

By Ravikumar

Apr 09, 2017

It is very good course material for Spark with scala.

By Raduś N

May 23, 2017

Awesome teacher - very engaging. This is probably first time when I am watching lectures with pleasure. Also you can easily feel that course is fresh and specially made for this unlike previous ones from Scala speciality.

By William D

Dec 03, 2017

Excellent course! It's clear the instructor put a ton of thought and hard work into this. I learned a lot that I wouldn't have learned without taking this class. Thank you, Heather!

By Shane

May 10, 2018

Very well-organized courses about Spark ! Really learned some good practical tips. Hope there could be more explanations about the assignments.

By Mike D

Apr 06, 2017

Great introduction course to Spark with excellent materials and hand-on programming assignments. Thanks for taking effort to get this class online. I have enjoyed it very much.

Kudos to Professor Miller, we love you :-)

By Estera K

Mar 20, 2017

AWESOME!

By Satendra k

Apr 09, 2017

Thanks

By Ravi S

Jul 06, 2017

Course material is pretty good. Week 2 assignment is hard.

By pratik

Aug 10, 2017

The course starts from the basic concepts and moves towards the complex concepts. The most important thing is that minute details are taken into consideration and explained properly.

By Andrzej J

Mar 20, 2017

Great course, presentations prepared with passion, exercise of right level....

By Atsuya K

Oct 30, 2017

A good quick intro to Spark.

By Markus B

Apr 10, 2017

Great course overall. The feedback on failed tests and out of memory errors on the assignments can be improved to make it more user-friendly.

Would be great to see a more advanced version of this course that dives deeper into the machine learning features of Spark, etc.

By Angel V

Aug 21, 2017

very usefull

By Heyang W

Aug 18, 2017

A walk through from the oldest RDD to newest Dataset API of spark, together with brief introduction on how spark work. Home work set up several scenario to use the different kinds of spark API to do basic data analysis.

By abdhesh

Dec 31, 2017

It was an awesome and well explained course.

By Cisco D

May 06, 2018

Accurate content and good explanations. I have got fun with this course

By kevin n

Jun 26, 2017

Great course. Thanks!

By Mani P

Apr 09, 2017

Excellent material. Very good flow. Heather has an amazing way of walking through the flow and simplifying the concepts. Great assignments -- takes a bit longer than 3 hours.

By abhinav

Dec 10, 2017

Wonderful course!!!

By Neha B

May 19, 2017

It gave me very good understanding on Spark Architecture, functioning along with hands on over Scala. Good examples used during lessons.