Chevron Left
Back to Big Data Analysis with Scala and Spark

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Big Data Analysis with Scala and Spark by École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne

4.7
2,108 ratings
422 reviews

About the Course

Manipulating big data distributed over a cluster using functional concepts is rampant in industry, and is arguably one of the first widespread industrial uses of functional ideas. This is evidenced by the popularity of MapReduce and Hadoop, and most recently Apache Spark, a fast, in-memory distributed collections framework written in Scala. In this course, we'll see how the data parallel paradigm can be extended to the distributed case, using Spark throughout. We'll cover Spark's programming model in detail, being careful to understand how and when it differs from familiar programming models, like shared-memory parallel collections or sequential Scala collections. Through hands-on examples in Spark and Scala, we'll learn when important issues related to distribution like latency and network communication should be considered and how they can be addressed effectively for improved performance. Learning Outcomes. By the end of this course you will be able to: - read data from persistent storage and load it into Apache Spark, - manipulate data with Spark and Scala, - express algorithms for data analysis in a functional style, - recognize how to avoid shuffles and recomputation in Spark, Recommended background: You should have at least one year programming experience. Proficiency with Java or C# is ideal, but experience with other languages such as C/C++, Python, Javascript or Ruby is also sufficient. You should have some familiarity using the command line. This course is intended to be taken after Parallel Programming: https://www.coursera.org/learn/parprog1....

Top reviews

CC

Jun 08, 2017

The sessions where clearly explained and focused. Some of the exercises contained slightly confusing hints and information, but I'm sure those mistakes will be ironed out in future iterations. Thanks!

BP

Nov 29, 2019

Excellent overview of Spark, including exercises that solidify what you learn during the lectures. The development environment setup tutorials were also very helpful, as I had not yet worked with sbt.

Filter by:

251 - 275 of 406 Reviews for Big Data Analysis with Scala and Spark

By Sanjeev R

Aug 26, 2019

Excellent

By Vlad N

Apr 03, 2017

Nice topics regarding using partitions for Spark and encoders!! Really interesting course

By Aleksander S

May 05, 2017

Amazing lectures, and challenging tasks to do on the way. I really enjoyed going through the course, and I learned a lot.

By Ronald C M

May 14, 2019

The best way to get to know Spark Fundamentals and Spark Core libraries

By Andrii P

Apr 09, 2017

Just awesome :)

By Wei-Ting C

Sep 13, 2017

This is my first completed course on Coursera! It's good for understanding Apache Spark's RDD and its usage.

By Mohamed A T

Aug 06, 2019

the theory is very clear and well explained.

the practical assignments are a little bit ambiguous but they are overall very good and challenging.

highly recommended!

By Fernando

Jun 06, 2018

Great course about Big Data analysis

It was my first exposure to Big Data frameworks and I learned a lot about the problems trying to be solved and the power of Spark.

By Jay

Sep 21, 2017

cool teacher and cool course!

By Abhay D

Nov 04, 2018

Wonderful course. Helped me a lot.

By Luca D S

Dec 01, 2017

It surely opens your mind, even on unrelated topics, I found myself able to apply some of the distributed computing logics even to imperative sequential programming. Good job.

By Heyang W

Aug 18, 2017

A walk through from the oldest RDD to newest Dataset API of spark, together with brief introduction on how spark work. Home work set up several scenario to use the different kinds of spark API to do basic data analysis.

By Dennis Y

Jun 06, 2017

Thank the teacher, the course is very good, the teacher is also very nice. The first three weeks of feeling learned a lot of new knowledge, the last week may be each class time is relatively long. It would be better if you could split it.

By Симкин И М

Mar 10, 2019

Perfectly. Very competent teacher and good tasks. Requires knowledge of scala.

By Arnaud J

Jun 02, 2017

Great course. Would definitely recommend.

By pratik

Aug 10, 2017

The course starts from the basic concepts and moves towards the complex concepts. The most important thing is that minute details are taken into consideration and explained properly.

By Bulent B

Aug 07, 2019

Amazing technology, explained wonderfully. Note: familiarity with scala (take Martin's course in coursera) would make your experience even better.

By Akash

Mar 12, 2018

Thank you Dr. Heather Miller and the EPFL team along with coursera team for this course. I found it interesting. It gave me complete insight of spark. I had a great start with spark.

The internal working of spark API, the shuffle operations, query optimization and many more tips are really useful. Thank you once again.

By Nebiyou T

Dec 26, 2017

Very good instructor!

By Anand S

Aug 14, 2018

good implementation of programming knowledge recieved

By Ravikumar

Apr 09, 2017

It is very good course material for Spark with scala.

By Thierry M

Feb 01, 2018

Very complet and accurate about Spark with Scala. Maybe an assignement with MongoDB or the like would be a plus

Thank you

By Kovalenko S

Jul 17, 2017

Курс очень понравился, спасибо большое за ваш труд!

By Rafael M

Oct 18, 2017

Great Course

By Huajian M

Apr 05, 2017

So great!