Chevron Left
Back to Big Data Analysis with Scala and Spark

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Big Data Analysis with Scala and Spark by École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne

4.7
2,002 ratings
405 reviews

About the Course

Manipulating big data distributed over a cluster using functional concepts is rampant in industry, and is arguably one of the first widespread industrial uses of functional ideas. This is evidenced by the popularity of MapReduce and Hadoop, and most recently Apache Spark, a fast, in-memory distributed collections framework written in Scala. In this course, we'll see how the data parallel paradigm can be extended to the distributed case, using Spark throughout. We'll cover Spark's programming model in detail, being careful to understand how and when it differs from familiar programming models, like shared-memory parallel collections or sequential Scala collections. Through hands-on examples in Spark and Scala, we'll learn when important issues related to distribution like latency and network communication should be considered and how they can be addressed effectively for improved performance. Learning Outcomes. By the end of this course you will be able to: - read data from persistent storage and load it into Apache Spark, - manipulate data with Spark and Scala, - express algorithms for data analysis in a functional style, - recognize how to avoid shuffles and recomputation in Spark, Recommended background: You should have at least one year programming experience. Proficiency with Java or C# is ideal, but experience with other languages such as C/C++, Python, Javascript or Ruby is also sufficient. You should have some familiarity using the command line. This course is intended to be taken after Parallel Programming: https://www.coursera.org/learn/parprog1....

Top reviews

CC

Jun 08, 2017

The sessions where clearly explained and focused. Some of the exercises contained slightly confusing hints and information, but I'm sure those mistakes will be ironed out in future iterations. Thanks!

CR

Apr 10, 2017

Great introduction to spark. Fun assignments. Since it was the first ever session, there were quite a few kinks with the assignments. But the discussion forums rescued me any time I was stuck.

Filter by:

251 - 275 of 389 Reviews for Big Data Analysis with Scala and Spark

By Kirill K

Oct 10, 2017

A good one.

By Lewis

Mar 29, 2017

It was short and sweet. However, I wish the assignments had more unit tests to fill gaps where the instructions weren't clear.

By Bennie K

Oct 15, 2017

Really clear and direct. Would love to see another course on the Advanced Spark topics such as Spark Streaming and Spark custom libraries

By Jose E T

Jun 02, 2017

Great Course!

By Alexandr M

Jun 24, 2017

This course gives basics of distributed computing by practical examples, several alternative approaches to the same problem are considered, this gives more insight and flexibility. Very interesting one!

By Taneli L

Apr 10, 2017

Excellent course.

By Alex S

May 05, 2018

Super course, well done Heather

By Nishant T

Mar 28, 2017

Brilliant intro to Spark. I really like the enthusiasm with which Heather explains the key concepts.

By Rafael M C

Jun 20, 2017

Content was useful, overall a good course. Lectures were kind of dull.

By Matthias T

Aug 17, 2017

Great introduction to Spark accessed through Scala. Didactically awesome.

By Anna B

Mar 20, 2017

The course covers the important concepts and explains them in detail.

Homework tasks really make you think, revisit the lectures and read documentation, until you get it right, and that all deepens understanding of the material.

I also obtained some clues for the future: the lectures provided me with context, which helps formulate questions when searching for answers elsewhere.

By Zhaokang P

Sep 18, 2017

this course help me form a basic understanding of Spark and how to use it to analyze large scale dataset. Besides fundamental knowledge of how to use, the lecturer also provide students with some deeper concept of how to optimize the performance of spark programming, which can be very useful in running code on large dataset.

By jose c a

May 05, 2018

Muy Bueno!!!!

By Dmitriy K

Mar 20, 2017

Thanks Heather! You did a great job with this course.

By savitri v v

Jul 27, 2018

Very good learning portal

By 李帅鹏

May 02, 2019

Perfect!

By BOUDRAHEM

Apr 16, 2019

Everything was excellent. This was one of the best courses I have attended so far

By Fábio A R

May 13, 2019

Excellent course, very handful for whoever is starting his studies in spark.

By Ronald C M

May 14, 2019

The best way to get to know Spark Fundamentals and Spark Core libraries

By AOC

May 17, 2019

Very engaging and tutor showed excellent delivery. thanks to Coursera.

By Joël V

May 17, 2019

The course presented the concepts in a clear and exemplified way. Tough, it was a bit too verbose.

The exercises were not too hard and thorough enough to cover the concepts presented in class.

I wished there were more exercises as Spark's API is huge and sometimes a bit tedious to use thus being hard to quickly get confident. I hope that the capstone project will help for that.

By CLAUDIO A

Jun 10, 2019

Excellent explanations by Heather Miller. She really knows how to explain a topic, and also makes the lectures a lot of fun to listen !

By Daniele M

Jun 22, 2019

Great Introduction to spark. Programming assignments helped me to improve my skills. Thank you very much.

By Beibit

Jun 27, 2019

Very nice course. Good level of explanations, good examples and pace.

By Carsten I

Jun 30, 2019

Excellent class, very well stuctured, clear and informative.