Chevron Left
Back to Big Data Analysis with Scala and Spark

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Big Data Analysis with Scala and Spark by École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne

4.7
2,108 ratings
422 reviews

About the Course

Manipulating big data distributed over a cluster using functional concepts is rampant in industry, and is arguably one of the first widespread industrial uses of functional ideas. This is evidenced by the popularity of MapReduce and Hadoop, and most recently Apache Spark, a fast, in-memory distributed collections framework written in Scala. In this course, we'll see how the data parallel paradigm can be extended to the distributed case, using Spark throughout. We'll cover Spark's programming model in detail, being careful to understand how and when it differs from familiar programming models, like shared-memory parallel collections or sequential Scala collections. Through hands-on examples in Spark and Scala, we'll learn when important issues related to distribution like latency and network communication should be considered and how they can be addressed effectively for improved performance. Learning Outcomes. By the end of this course you will be able to: - read data from persistent storage and load it into Apache Spark, - manipulate data with Spark and Scala, - express algorithms for data analysis in a functional style, - recognize how to avoid shuffles and recomputation in Spark, Recommended background: You should have at least one year programming experience. Proficiency with Java or C# is ideal, but experience with other languages such as C/C++, Python, Javascript or Ruby is also sufficient. You should have some familiarity using the command line. This course is intended to be taken after Parallel Programming: https://www.coursera.org/learn/parprog1....

Top reviews

CC

Jun 08, 2017

The sessions where clearly explained and focused. Some of the exercises contained slightly confusing hints and information, but I'm sure those mistakes will be ironed out in future iterations. Thanks!

BP

Nov 29, 2019

Excellent overview of Spark, including exercises that solidify what you learn during the lectures. The development environment setup tutorials were also very helpful, as I had not yet worked with sbt.

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 406 Reviews for Big Data Analysis with Scala and Spark

By Rafael M C

Jun 20, 2017

Content was useful, overall a good course. Lectures were kind of dull.

By Jon Z

Jul 05, 2017

Great course, I learned a lot.

By Nicolas D

Apr 13, 2017

Amazingly polished and well taught course although being given for the first time

By Merel C H T

Jun 07, 2017

I really liked the assignments in this course and all the content was well explained.

By Raduś N

May 23, 2017

Awesome teacher - very engaging. This is probably first time when I am watching lectures with pleasure. Also you can easily feel that course is fresh and specially made for this unlike previous ones from Scala speciality.

By William D

Dec 03, 2017

Excellent course! It's clear the instructor put a ton of thought and hard work into this. I learned a lot that I wouldn't have learned without taking this class. Thank you, Heather!

By Adrien C

Jun 29, 2017

Interesting course, the last week feels most useful

By Gregory E

Mar 10, 2018

Good course, shows a lot of useful and unobvious things about Spark. But not always has well described assignments

By Dinesh A G

Apr 02, 2017

good course on spark.

By Piotr A

Mar 16, 2017

Great course. Very informative. I have learned a lot. Lessons are very well prepared and structured. Implementation tasks are interesting. Thanks to all EPFL team. Great job!

By Denis A Z Q

Aug 27, 2017

Course with excellent content, methodology and teacher. It was an extraordinary learning experience

By Angel V

Aug 21, 2017

very usefull

By Apostolos N P

Mar 15, 2017

I really enjoyed this course! First of all I would like to congratulate the people behind this effort. The videos are clear, to the point and they contain very useful information and tips that are very difficult to get from a book. I hope that you will continue with a second course on Spark and Scala with more advanced topics. Thank you very much.

By Jijo T

Apr 13, 2017

It was well worth the wait! The instructor was good. Assignments were challenging as well as hands on!

By Andronik

Jun 15, 2017

Nice introduction into Spark with details about how Spark works internally. This course also talks about when to use RDD/Dataframe/Dataset and performance pitfalls.

By Prachi C

Sep 14, 2017

An excellent explanation of basic concepts of Spark using Scala. We covered the most important topics and ready to deep dive!

By Canh S L

Mar 25, 2017

really good, informative

By César A

Mar 29, 2017

Excellent course. Fun and entertaining.

By Alex S

May 05, 2018

Super course, well done Heather

By Matthias T

Aug 17, 2017

Great introduction to Spark accessed through Scala. Didactically awesome.

By Shashank B

Oct 15, 2017

It is an excellent course with good clear explanation of theoretical concepts and practical examples.

By Carlos S

Jan 23, 2018

Very good !! ... Thanks Heather Miller for such cool class !! (Y) <3

By AJ C

Apr 09, 2017

This course is a nice guided way to get started with Apache Spark! I wish I took this course earlier when i was using Spark at my previous company. It would've come in handy. Plenty of great content and the course exercises supply good practice.

By Max Z

Mar 04, 2018

Excellent. I learned a lot from this course, even though I did not know much about scala. Strongly recommended this course

By Henoc M

Mar 26, 2017

Awesome course