Chevron Left
Back to Budgeting and Scheduling Projects

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Budgeting and Scheduling Projects by University of California, Irvine

4.7
stars
7,445 ratings
984 reviews

About the Course

A good project schedule helps all team members’ work together to meet project objectives. A project budget with realistic cost constraints is also an essential bedrock of any project. In this course you’ll learn to plan and stick to time and cost constraints in order to ensure the success of your projects. Upon completing this course, you will be able to: 1. Identify the resource needs of the project 2. Decompose work packages into activities 3. Define what is needed to estimate activity durations 4. Define milestones and create a milestone schedule 5. Determine the critical path and calculate float 6. Describe the purpose of using leads and lags in a project schedule 7. Estimate the quantities and costs of resources required to perform project activities 8. Select one of three common cost estimating techniques to determine a project budget 9. Use a responsibility assignment matrix to assign responsibilities 10. Recognize the components of a project’s quality management plan...

Top reviews

MF
Oct 23, 2016

I enjoyed this course, the mix of the video presentations and the powerpoints are well done. The instructor does an excellent job. the 'bonus videos' and 'panelist interviews' are very good as well.

JR
Feb 5, 2017

Great course going into important details on cost and budgeting. I really like the video portion which gives real-world examples that help reinforce and bring the concepts to an everyday audience.

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 970 Reviews for Budgeting and Scheduling Projects

By ashish d

Jan 15, 2020

An excellent course with professional tutors. The course gives an insight into the Budgeting and Scheduling projects. It covers most of the basic topics in an excellent, elaborate and understandable manner. The panelist interviews covered are a gold mine as you listen to the experienced people from the project management field sharing their views.

By Utibe E I

May 6, 2020

Participating in this course has been an illuminating experience. I have gained solid theoretical background and practical application scenarios on project cost management and project schedule management. The role of strategic quality management was also emphasized and driven home. I look forward to the third course in this series. Tank you UCI.

By Victor Q

Nov 1, 2020

The course was concisely presented. Valuable information gained thru online learning will be helpful for my career and personal development. Thank you very much to the instructor, Margaret Meloni, MBA,PMP. Special thanks as well to the Department of Science and Technology (DOST), Philippines and Coursera for this opportunity.

By MA. J T V

Aug 19, 2020

This course is definitely worth taking as it is very detailed and all the reading materials are high-yield and highly supplemented with explanations in the videos. It did not just focus on how to budget financially but also budgeting time and resources in order to not compromise the quality of the project and the product.

By Michael B

Jul 17, 2016

Excellent course. The videos by Professor Meloni are greatly supported by follow on presentations and quizes. Great information backed up by the interviews of professionals from the field ad to the learning enviroment. I have already become an advocate for Coursera and reccomended to many of my coleagues.

By Anastasiia L

Jun 10, 2018

All information is presented in an accessible form. You will have to read a little and understand the charts in this course, but there are enough detailed instructions and explanations on the examples at the end of the week. So you can figure it out. Perhaps this will have to review several times videos.

By Tim B

Apr 3, 2018

First of all, many thanks to creator/instructor Mrs. Margaret Meloni who teached and shared a lot knowledge from fundamentals to advances of Resource, Budget and Schedule planning as well as management skill sets. There was a lot attractive case studies, well-organized lessons helped me to learn fast.

By SWIFT G L

Nov 18, 2020

THE PROGRAM WAS VERY VERY EDUCATIVE AND EYE OPENING TO MANY GOOD THING TO COME.FOR THE WEEKS I FOUND MYSELF PREPARING TO WRITE MY QUIZES AND FINAL EXAMS HAS REALLY BEEN REFREASHING AND LOOK FORWARD TO SUCH GREAT OPPORTUNITIES FOR MYSELF AND ANY SERIOUSE PERSON WHO WANT TO LEARN.

By KSHITIJ B

Apr 17, 2020

The course highlights the key aspects of cost, time, schedule management. The course gives a good clarity of PMBOK 6th edition lessons. Miss. Margaret has done an amazing job of explaining the key terms very easily. The bonus lectures are worth watching and the case studies too.

By Suhaimi W C

Nov 9, 2020

Great course. Highly recommended. Prof Margaret delivered high quality materials. Really love her bonus videos that shared her challenges and pitfalls to avoid. Love the course structure. And kudos to the panelist interviews that provided insights on project management role.

By V.Vijay M B T C

May 4, 2020

The way you have paved the knowledge so systematically, it is laudable. An average student such as me- could easily grasp the spirit of How the Budgeting and Scheduling is done. Surely the panel discussion gave lots of insights in addition to the teaching by Ms. Meloni.

By Ildiko M

Jan 12, 2017

The "Budgeting and Scheduling Projects" course was very useful, with lots of hands-on examples and valuable real life experience based expert tips. I also enjoyed the level of interactivity and small tasks within the course slides and the case study videos.

By Bencherki M

Apr 1, 2020

enjoyed the lectures, presented in relaxed atmosphere, with easy step-by-step to understand, practice, and built project activities scheduling and assessment. I recommend even to non-Program managers, good to understand how pieces of the puzzle fit in.

By alexandre C

Jun 22, 2016

Thanks to this cours, you will act more confidently in your business, you will use professionnal tools and knowledge. So you will bring security. This tool will change your life because you will do it your way but in a manner understood and shared.

By Gaston L

Mar 11, 2020

The panelists interviews at the last week of the course is simply amazing.

I love how this course not only teaches the theory, but also the practical part of the job and the daily problems that (beginner) project managers might encounter.

By Yoga P D

Sep 26, 2020

thank you so much for this course, i am sure i understand about budgeting and scheduling projects. its also has such a point that you can highlight for your knowledge. dont forget to watch the video from the lecture, it was so helpful

By AMANDA J

Oct 31, 2020

The lessons were very informative, easily understood and the presentations were attractive. I would be much grateful for the lecture and support staff, for their endless endeavours to make this course a success. Thank you so much.

By Jose A P N J

Oct 20, 2016

little confusing on week 4, not about the math, the math is super simple but whether I should use ES equal 0 or 1. Margaret says 1 but slides says 2. Apart from that, great course. Much more interesting than the first one.

By Gautam A K

Aug 5, 2019

Excellent course, well structured and presented. To get the total benefit of this course, I would recommend completing all courses in the Introduction to Project Management Principles and Practices Specialization.

By Jagadeesh V

May 5, 2020

It was very good , informative and covers all the essential information on estimating project budget, considering cost factors and techniques to manage the schedule well which is eventually tied up tot he cost

By Basharat J

Aug 25, 2020

This course has actually reinforced all the concepts I had studied previously in such a way that I won't forget again. I would highly recommend this course to all those who have interest in project management.

By Luiz F R

Jul 24, 2017

Excellent knowledge! I've always got in trouble with scheduling and budgeting. What a night it has always been in my project. Now with this Technics, I will be merciless with no guessing at all! Thank you!

By Paul B

Oct 6, 2015

Very interesting and insightful course, with practical information on projects scheduling. The instructor is increadibly engaging and cheerful making even the most hard things easy to understand.