Chevron Left
Back to Science of Exercise

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Science of Exercise by University of Colorado Boulder

4.8
stars
4,272 ratings

About the Course

Learners who complete Science of Exercise will have an improved physiological understanding of how your body responds to exercise, and will be able to identify behaviors, choices, and environments that impact your health and training. You will explore a number of significant adjustments required by your body in order to properly respond to the physical stress of exercise, including changes in carbohydrate, fat and protein metabolism, nutritional considerations, causes of muscle soreness & fatigue, and the effectiveness and dangers of performance enhancing drugs. Active learning assessments will challenge you to apply this new knowledge via nutrition logs, heart rate monitoring, calculations of your total daily caloric expenditure and body mass index (BMI). Finally, learners will examine the scientific evidence for the health benefits of exercise including the prevention and treatment of heart disease, diabetes, cancer, obesity (weight loss), depression, and dementia....

Top reviews

BO

Oct 3, 2020

An exceptionally great course. I enjoyed every bit of it. Thanks to the organizers for making these as easy and simple as possible. Now I can live a more healthy lifestyle with the principles learned!

MB

Sep 11, 2020

It is a very great course. This course taught me many great things about the human body like how the body responses to exercise and nutrition. What, when, how we should do exercise and take nutrition.

Filter by:

301 - 325 of 1,416 Reviews for Science of Exercise

By Ashish s

Sep 30, 2020

Communication. Every human interaction begins with communication, but not all communication is verbal. ...Active Listening. People want to be heard and to know that what they're saying is being understood. .well done

By Nazim A C G

Aug 22, 2020

Got a bunch of information regarding exercise, really a must do course for all. Thanks alot to the tutor. Knowing the physiological changes occuring during exercise itself is a great motivator to do regular exercise

By Roberto A P L

Aug 2, 2020

This course was so useful for me because it explains many key concepts in an easy way. In addition, the references presented are a good source for increasing our knowlege in Science of Exercise. Thank you very much.

By Gilberto R

Aug 10, 2022

Really good introduction to the benefits of exercises and the impact to the boudy and therefore to our lives. Good videos and good support material. It is up to each individual to take it from there and go deeper.

By Umme A J S

Oct 19, 2020

Its a very simplified course on Exercise Physiology that makes one understand the basics of our body's mechanisms that adapt to exercise, and its consequent benefits in various areas of health. Thank you so much!

By Nathan P

Mar 15, 2020

High-quality course. Short, to-the-point lessons with just the right amount of information in each, evidence cited for every claim, and an engaging instructor. Enjoyable for students and sports enthusiasts alike.

By Lillian C

Mar 16, 2021

Good info!

Week 1 and 2 are more science-based. Mostly useful for athletes.

Week 3 and 4 are good info for everyone to have.

Super enjoyable if you're someone like me who is passionate about movement and health!

By Anirban N

Aug 10, 2020

Loved the course and the structure which enabled you to regularly revise and comprehend the details better through the quizzes, assignments and reviews. We can increase the number of quizzes during the modules.

By Nicole O

Nov 12, 2020

Excellent course. Succinct lectures backed up heavily by scientific evidence and easy to understand points. Each lesson also allows you to consolidate learning points by in-video questions and weekly quizzes.

By JUNIO C S S

May 18, 2020

This course was really cool I was able to learn more about exercises and their adaptations in the body. Therefore, I recommend this course to every trainer, physical educator and everyone who works in sports.

By Stefan S

Apr 15, 2020

Excellent course to get insights about how the body reacts to exercise. I enjoyed the videos, the links to documents. The concepts are well articulated by the professor and that makes it easy to understand.

By Julieta C B F

Nov 30, 2020

Es increíble, la forma tan amena y tan bien explicado del profesor, unos videos excelentes, Recomiendo ampliamente quien ama el ejercicio de tomar este curso. Se aprende mucho.

Gracias por hacer este curso.

By Iris R

Nov 26, 2019

Excelente curso, todo el contenido es interesante y te da un entendimiento general de los procesos bioquímicos y físicos que hay cunado hacemos ejercicio, así como los beneficios de hacer actividad física.

By Pedro L M R

May 4, 2018

It is a very good course. It has a well worked material, explained in didactic way using the best references in Exercise and Sports Sciences. Congratulations to the Coursera and the University of Colorado!

By Adam K

Sep 18, 2020

I would recommend this course to anyone who wishes to learn a little bit more about how their body operates when introduce the consistent exercise and how to make small changes to improve their lifestyle.

By Prasanth P

May 14, 2020

great course which gives insight of all the basic information about exercise and energy systems and their role in human body and at the end of the course one will be confident about exercise as a medicine

By Mina W W N

Sep 10, 2019

The physiological concepts which discussed here helped me a lot to improve my understanding for what i needed to do and it also helped for my pharmacy counseling as i am studying pharmacy now

thanks a lot

By UNPLUG Y D

Nov 27, 2017

It was extremely helpful for me personally as fitness professional and enthusiast. I recommend it to anyone looking to understand health and fitness beyond just practicing a physical training methodology.

By Jason P C

Jul 19, 2020

Each video has so much value in terms of the amount of information you can get and the clarity of the explanation. Reading materials are helpful support to learning and to confirm claims in the lectures.

By Kailas P

Jun 19, 2020

Absolutely loved your course, Professor Dr Robert your teaching and the course content is amazing, got very good things to know and science of exercise, something i will keep eye on during my training.

By javier g j

Mar 28, 2019

Excelente oportunidad de tener una completa visión de qué cambios se producen a todos los niveles fisiológicos con el ejercicio. Muy bien organizado y expuesto con sencillez pero no por ello sin rigor.

By S H R

Oct 26, 2020

I really enjoyed this course, the Professor is clear and always point out the important concepts. I recommend this course if you want to learn more deeper the molecular mechanism of physical exercise

By nissee r

Jun 9, 2021

excellent i really loved the pre recorded videos and the quiz and the assignment given the response was quite quick i received my certificated as soon as i completed my assignment Thank you so much

By Lara S

Feb 17, 2021

Maravilloso. Claro, conciso, estudio en profundiad y con herramientas y lecturas muy útiles. Da una visión global de qué pasa a todos los niveles en tu cuerpo con el ejercicio. El profesor, un diez.

By David B

Aug 10, 2020

This course was outstanding. There is so much that I learned that I will be able to apply to my own exercise routine. The videos were easy to follow and the quizzes tested the material thoroughly.