Chevron Left
Back to Science of Exercise

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Science of Exercise by University of Colorado Boulder

4.8
stars
3,670 ratings
1,235 reviews

About the Course

Learners who complete Science of Exercise will have an improved physiological understanding of how your body responds to exercise, and will be able to identify behaviors, choices, and environments that impact your health and training. You will explore a number of significant adjustments required by your body in order to properly respond to the physical stress of exercise, including changes in carbohydrate, fat and protein metabolism, nutritional considerations, causes of muscle soreness & fatigue, and the effectiveness and dangers of performance enhancing drugs. Active learning assessments will challenge you to apply this new knowledge via nutrition logs, heart rate monitoring, calculations of your total daily caloric expenditure and body mass index (BMI). Finally, learners will examine the scientific evidence for the health benefits of exercise including the prevention and treatment of heart disease, diabetes, cancer, obesity (weight loss), depression, and dementia....

Top reviews

NT
Apr 14, 2020

Love everything about this course. Nice module. Professor is really nice. However, I need to learn further about weight training (Pros, cons , etc). Looking forward to attend in weight training class.

BO
Oct 3, 2020

An exceptionally great course. I enjoyed every bit of it. Thanks to the organizers for making these as easy and simple as possible. Now I can live a more healthy lifestyle with the principles learned!

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 1,229 Reviews for Science of Exercise

By Mohsin R N

Sep 5, 2017

As a layman I found this course to be extremely informative. The material covered had the right depth and breadth for an average person struggling to keep fit. The instruction style was straightforward and engaging. I felt compelled to audit the course twice just to make sure that I assimilated all the content.

Definitely 5 star.

By Marcela O T

May 4, 2020

Very good course! Reviews everything from a micro to a macro level. I'm a medical student and I love sports and exercise and this course gave me the resources and knowledge to put both my passions together. I will definitely be recommending the course to friends and putting to practice what I learned here.

By Agustin O

May 2, 2020

A really good online course, with all the key points adressed and very easy to understand. Perfect to have a good base and use as a starting point for further studies in this area of sports and health. Highly reccomended.

By Rosheen N

May 4, 2020

Phenomenal teaching by professor Mazzeo.I wish all my teachers were as efficient. Learned a lot despite already having an exercise based academic background.This course will help me tremendously for the years to come!

By Mohit B

Sep 12, 2020

It is a very great course. This course taught me many great things about the human body like how the body responses to exercise and nutrition. What, when, how we should do exercise and take nutrition.

By Neeranart T

Apr 15, 2020

Love everything about this course. Nice module. Professor is really nice. However, I need to learn further about weight training (Pros, cons , etc). Looking forward to attend in weight training class.

By Richard O

Nov 25, 2019

Very well informed course. The range of topic covered is brilliant. I enrolled on the course to reinforce prior learning. This is a perfect course for someone looking for a similar outcome

By Vikhyat Y

May 2, 2020

Definitely go for the course. Will help you as an individual to decide for your training programs and nutrition and live a proper lifestyle.

By PRAVEEN D

May 4, 2020

VERY INFORMATIVE AND WELL PRESENTED .FINAL ASSESSMENT IS A NICE WAY TO REVIEW THE KNOWLEDGE GAIN.

By Mohammed F A

Jan 24, 2020

The course is enjoyable and full of important information in sports science, but it lacks a lot of adjustments in terms of scientific addition of tips for the best muscle exercises and how to use it, which is the subject matter and also the subject of the final evaluation by the trainees and the delay in issuing the certificate for the lack of trainees for this course and thanks to everyone who contributed to this course Interesting, and I wish you the best of luck

By Aaron K

Jan 15, 2019

Delivery was quite static, but the visualisations were good. The content was clearly delivered, but certain terms and concepts need to be explained before they are put into context. Even with the reading, it was a struggle to keep up with all these new terms and ideas when they are delivered in a way that would only make immediate sense to someone with a background in the field.

By Hugo M d l C

Mar 4, 2019

el único inconveniente es que no tiene opción al idioma español

By Filippo F

Oct 20, 2019

The course is good, videos are interesting and I liked prof. Mazzeo. But the grading system is definitely stupid, it is not worth to buy the certificate, cause you're not even sure you can get it, even if you work well and do everything right.

By Masoud H A

Jun 27, 2020

A very interesting and worthy journey, especially for a person like myself, with no real solid background in the science of muscles and skeletal parts of the human body and anatomy. I did the course because I exercise 5 times a week and almost diligently. I wanted to know more about the inner body effects of working out. When I saw the course on the Coursera catalog, I thought this is the package I was looking for. Yes, there are varieties of short videos, lectures, and writings on the subject easily found on the internet but this course differs in the way it was structured, prepared, and presented that it made it a worthy experience. Thank you, Coursera.

Masoud H Ali

By Giannina Z

Jul 2, 2020

I cannot begin to express my gratitude for all the content that was condensed and clearly explained. I have learnt so much from this course. Thank you Dr. Mazzeo. If you are reading this and you rely on science/facts, please do yourself a favor and enroll. Understanding what happens in my body when I exercise and why it is important that I do so regularly to stay healthy has helped me to stay motivated and continue exercising even on days when I struggled due to the current situation.

By Kiran R

Nov 23, 2020

Am 44 years old and have always been physically active ever since childhood. This course really opened up my knowledge regarding the physiological functioning that goes on behind our Jogging and Running and Weight training. Prof Mazzeo is very lucid in his explanations and makes it sound so simple. The slides on display were also very clear and informative. The reading material were very relevant and the exercises engaging. Was four weeks well spent. Thank you, Professor.

By Justyna S

Jun 30, 2020

I have a pleasure to thank you for this excellent course content that significantly developed my knowledge on the scientific side of exercise.

I have previously earned a Certificate for Personal Trainer and taking the Course - Science of Exercise with UC I was aiming to improve my knowledge in these fields. The Science of Exercise Course was beyond my expectations.

Thank you very much, and it was a pleasure studying with you.

By Danielle K

Jul 11, 2020

this course was very comprehensive. It was extremely enjoyable, and the videos and explanations were very well done. I especially liked that the presenter provided evidence of his information from many studies. I would very much recommend it to anyone interested in learning more about the science behind exercise, and why exactly it is so good for you. Doing this course has also motivated me to exercise more often!

By Aamena A

Jul 9, 2020

This course has been helpful to understand the way our bodies work during exercise and how one can benefit from exercise if they are diagnosed with diseases that are otherwise preventable. I would definitely suggest this course to my colleagues who are studying medicine. It's a quick way to revise your physiology and biochemistry (but of course that doesn't mean you won't need those books!)

By Adrian V D

Jun 29, 2020

Me encanto el curso, obtuve grandes conocimientos basicos sobre la actividad fisica y como funciona el cuerpo durante el ejercicio con los diferentes mecanismos que tiene para mantener la homeoestasis. Ademas te explica sobre la bioenergetica, el entrenamiento y los beneficios en salud que tiene la actividad fisica.

By Charleton J

Jun 22, 2020

Pretty awesome as an introduction, wish there was more detail in the covered biomechanisms & especially the chemistry and more extrapolated concepts rather than the last two weeks being broad ideas about what I would consider as common knowledge. Still loved it, thanks Robert.

By Fatima M

Jun 22, 2020

I really enjoyed this course and it enhanced my skills regarding the Domain of Exercise and Physiology and most specifically towards my specific domain Doctor of Physical Therapy.

I am feeling blessed to have such a transformational journey with such great mentors.

By Soujanya S

Jun 25, 2020

Great course. A must do course for endurance athletes (runners, triathletes, bikers etc). Given the extent of research on female physiology at present, would have been nicer if the course covered impact of female physiology on exercise.

By MANOJ K M

Jul 6, 2020

It was very good course to understand how exercise affects our daily life and health. In this particular course so many Lecture about everything that you want to know about health and disease. Professors's explanation was very good

By Seann D

Jun 25, 2020

Very informative and practical. More challenging than I thought but in a good way. This is information that you can take and immediately apply to your life. Recommend that everyone but especially couch potatoes take this course.