Chevron Left
Back to Software Architecture

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Software Architecture by University of Alberta

4.5
stars
717 ratings
161 reviews

About the Course

The way that software components — subroutines, classes, functions, etc. — are arranged, and the interactions between them, is called architecture. In this course you will study the ways these architectures are represented, both in UML and other visual tools. We will introduce the most common architectures, their qualities, and tradeoffs. We will talk about how architectures are evaluated, what makes a good architecture, and an architecture can be improved. We'll also talk about how the architecture touches on the process of software development. In the Capstone Project you will document a Java-based Android application with UML diagrams and analyze evaluate the application’s architecture using the Architecture Tradeoff Analysis Method (ATAM). After completing this course, you will be able to: • Compare and contrast the components, connections, protocols, topologies, constraints, tradeoffs, and variations of different types of architectural styles used in the design of applications and systems (e.g., main program and subroutine, object-oriented, interpreters, pipes and filters, database centric, event-based). • Describe the properties of layered and n-tier architectures. • Create UML ipackage, component, and deployment diagrams to express the architectural structure of a system. • Explain the behaviour of a system using UML activity diagrams. • Document a multi-application system with a layered architecture....

Top reviews

CS

Dec 23, 2019

This is a excellent course for Software architects, addressing all key areas needed in the field. Good content, definitely recommend this course for anyone aspiring to be a Software architect.

MA

Jul 21, 2021

This course integrates the previous courses (Object oriented design and Design patterns) and applies the knowledge taught in those courses to real life problems. Highly recommended.

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 160 Reviews for Software Architecture

By amadou d

Jan 8, 2021

Absolutly Fantastic Courses!! Well Designed. I got what I was looking for. Using Andoid as a way to pratices is also a very good idea. Thank you very all of you.

By Ajay B

Dec 29, 2020

The contents of the course is quite information. Plus the assignments gives the learners more practical insight and how to deal with real life situations.

By Saleh M

Sep 12, 2019

The concepts taught in this course helped me apply them in practice during the development of projects at work. Highly recommended!

By Arek M

Apr 21, 2020

Great material, handy for any architect. Reference architectures, ATAM, ASR were particularily useful.

By Paúl A

May 14, 2018

Excellent course, really good explanation and interesting evaluation methodology

By Md. P A 1

Aug 26, 2020

Course content is awesome. Showed real life example.

By Serdar S

Jul 15, 2020

Thanks to both University of Alberta and Coursera!..

By Tomas G P

May 30, 2020

Excellent course, i recommend it for sure!

By Naveenkumar J

Jun 5, 2020

One of the best architecture course

By Syed H A

May 8, 2020

Excellent course. I really enjoyed.

By Pavel T

Nov 16, 2019

It's hard but very interesting!

By Jerry F

Feb 5, 2018

Excellent for basic concepts.

By AnjaniSivaPrasad

May 25, 2020

Good course and assigments.

By 潘搏隆

Sep 8, 2018

It is a good course.

By linhnb1

May 18, 2020

Very helpful course

By Jones N

Mar 23, 2018

a

w

e

s

o

m

e

c

o

u

r

s

e

By JAAFAR I

Jan 9, 2020

good course

By Cesar F C M

Sep 22, 2017

Awesome

By Light0617

Apr 12, 2019

great!

By Arif H E 1

Aug 29, 2020

good

By Mahir S 1

Aug 26, 2020

good

By Elango G

May 31, 2020

good

By Stefano B

Feb 14, 2021

The course is very good in its content: a lot of documentation, clear explainations and covers subjects that are often underrated. Only reason why this course has 4 stars and not 5 is the final assignment: its objective is not very clear and such task has not been seen as an example in the lessons, only explained in theory. Challenging of course. Anyway worth doing it if you are interested in how to build and evaluate an architecture.

By Jorge A G S

Apr 7, 2021

The contents are very well explained but they felt a little bit shallow though and the capstone project seems unsufficient to me to give solid foundations on the learned material, but it is definitely a good starting point to keep digging deeper on your own. Sadly I saw a lot of work forgery / copied on the capstone exercise.

By Corinna K

Mar 12, 2021

Well structured and good content!

Minor point: For all who have not completed the previous courses of the program, it would have been great if the required Android studio version was mentioned at the beginning of the course.