Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to solar cells

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to solar cells by Technical University of Denmark (DTU)

4.8
674 ratings
224 reviews

About the Course

How do solar cells work, why do we need, and how can we measure their efficiency? These are just some of the questions Introduction to solar cells tackles. Whether you are looking for general insight in this green technology or your ambition is to pursue a career in solar, “Introduction to Solar Cells” is an excellent starting point. The course is a tour through the fundamental disciplines including solar cell history, why we need solar energy, how solar cells produce power, and how they work. During the course we cover mono- and multi-crystalline solar cells, thin film solar cells, and new emerging technologies. The course includes hands-on exercises using virtual instruments, interviews with field experts, and a comprehensive collection of material on solar cells. At the end of the course you will have gained a fundamental understanding of the field. This will allow you to identify the most interesting or relevant aspects to be pursued in your future studies or in your professional career....

Top reviews

AP

Dec 12, 2017

Very concise and to the point. Stable and calm teaching. Was my first foray into renewable energy and absolutely loved it. The course instructor was brilliant and had a stable command over the topic.

CC

Apr 16, 2018

I have B.Sc and M.Sc in mechanical engineering and I will say that I'm really happy with taking this course.\n\nAs its name, the course provides a great introduction to solar cell technology.

Filter by:

201 - 222 of 222 Reviews for Introduction to solar cells

By Sanjay P

Oct 12, 2017

The Introduction to solar cells course provides all resources needed to explore and dive into the fascinating field of solar energy conversion. The course addresses and embraces most important issues relevant to solar energy harvesting in a most interesting and comprehensive manner. Congratulations and thanks to DTU and course conductors, subject experts, researchers and everybody associated with the course.

By ahmed g a s

Oct 31, 2017

very good course

By phelipe

Jan 06, 2018

Great course!

By Patrick I

Jun 04, 2018

Good information and not to hard things are introduced

By Ashish S

Feb 01, 2018

Awesome......

By Malin A

Dec 04, 2017

I very good introduction to the topic! Good quizes and a good mix of video and complementary text.

By Wong Y

Nov 16, 2017

This course is really good and informative although I do not really understand certain parts clearly as I am not familiar with the technical terms used.

By Seng H P

May 17, 2018

Great course to know the history and also the technologies advancement for solar cells through the years. Learn the different types of solar cells available, with their advantages and disadvantages.

By Fatimah A

Mar 26, 2018

It was very useful and interesting general introduction of solar cells especially for beginners in this field, easy and convenient materials and understandable explanations from specialists that encourage you to continue the course to the end, I recommend it .

By Stephan L

Apr 28, 2019

One of the best courses I 've done on coursera. It is scientific and informative. In my opinion the didactic in the 1st week is just ok.

By Alexey S

May 30, 2019

Very good course with a wide coverage of the topic. The information delivery is a bit dry and the level of detail/complexity of the material is uneven (ranging from things anyone will understand right off the bat to topics where you might want to check some electronics and chemistry basics first), so it's not "get excited about the topic because of the course", it's "get exited about the topic beforehand, then join the course to learn about things you were curious about already". All-in-all, I thoroughly enjoyed the course as it put a lot of segregated pieces of knowledge and sometimes even assumptions in my head into something much more structured and concise.

By Sean M E

Jul 20, 2019

Excellent introduction to the current state of technology of solar cells. It also gave in-depth teaching and examples as to how to calculate cell efficiencies and other fundamental concepts. The course has made me look at the technologies in a new light (hah!) and has stimulated my interest in exploring the subject further.

By Dhruv S

Aug 08, 2019

As the name suggests, it is just an introduction course and one should definitely follow up for in depth knowledge. Although the course provides a good overview on all the aspects of solar cell technology and is recommended to be completed for solar technology enthusiasts.

By Krishnendu D

Aug 15, 2019

very good course to learn and building curiosity about the new topics

By Luna M B T

Aug 16, 2019

It was a bit complex for a beginner, but I learned a lot, thanks

By Saurabh K

Sep 08, 2019

Informatory!

By Helen E

Oct 12, 2018

Good overview course - covered a wide range of topics.

By Marco B

Nov 01, 2017

It was a really nice course and i think it gave a good introduction to the whole world of solar cells.

Unfortunately, i couldn't help but begin to get annoyed at the fact that you could see the video being edited ten times in a two-minute video. even though the editing was actually impressingly good, it gave a kinda un-teacher-y impression

But overall i liked the course ^_^

By jayant a

Mar 06, 2018

I would have rated this course 4 star if all the videos were audible

By Kamal R

Jun 04, 2018

Didn't provide new insights.

By Krishna K

Aug 31, 2017

This is a poor course for someone in the energy industry. I would actually say this course is a middle school or high school level at best. Not a university level education.