Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to solar cells

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to solar cells by Technical University of Denmark (DTU)

4.8
stars
1,903 ratings
565 reviews

About the Course

How do solar cells work, why do we need, and how can we measure their efficiency? These are just some of the questions Introduction to solar cells tackles. Whether you are looking for general insight in this green technology or your ambition is to pursue a career in solar, “Introduction to Solar Cells” is an excellent starting point. The course is a tour through the fundamental disciplines including solar cell history, why we need solar energy, how solar cells produce power, and how they work. During the course we cover mono- and multi-crystalline solar cells, thin film solar cells, and new emerging technologies. The course includes hands-on exercises using virtual instruments, interviews with field experts, and a comprehensive collection of material on solar cells. At the end of the course you will have gained a fundamental understanding of the field. This will allow you to identify the most interesting or relevant aspects to be pursued in your future studies or in your professional career....

Top reviews

AP
Dec 11, 2017

Very concise and to the point. Stable and calm teaching. Was my first foray into renewable energy and absolutely loved it. The course instructor was brilliant and had a stable command over the topic.

PM
Dec 26, 2019

This is the first coursera course I have taken and the first I have completed. It is an interesting topic and the format was great for getting an understanding of solar cell technology. good stuff.

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 560 Reviews for Introduction to solar cells

By JOHN M

Dec 14, 2017

I found this course very informative, it was very well taught by

Morten Vesterager Madsen who explained everything well, unlike many lecturers / teachers I have had in the past. many thanks kind regards

By Niccolò S

Oct 25, 2020

I really enjoyed this course and the teacher too! Probably one of the best courses I have ever joined here on Coursera. I found it very helpful and it was exactly what I was looking for. Well done!

By Theodosiadis C

Sep 18, 2020

Excellent course to take for an in-depth knowledge about solar cells manufacturing. Also loved the part you actually had to do calculations and questions that made your critical thinking arouse.

By Anand J

Jun 26, 2020

I got to learn a lot regarding solar cells through this course, this helped me in widening my thinking perspective regarding the current scenario as well as the future prospects of the industry.

By Edisson M J

Mar 9, 2019

The basics of this science, so well and didaticatically covered in this course, will be very important to my start as researcher in this promising, but also challeging, field of investigation.

By José G d C A

Feb 24, 2018

Truly amazing experience. Gives more and deeper information than expected about the Solar energy basics, Solar Cells basics, their technologies, manufacturing, state-of-the-art and future.

By Mauricio M

Jul 30, 2019

It covered almost every aspect of the subject that I was expecting to learn about. I really enjoyed the proposed video-reading dynamic, and the length of these resources was appropriate.

By Sidharth M

Sep 29, 2020

Amazing course content and even better delivery by the instructors' and his team of experts. The course was perfect for anyone looking to gain a rudimentary understanding of the topic.

By Joana O

Oct 9, 2020

Excellent course covering solar cells technology. The teacher clearly explains the technical details and the assistants are experts in specific disciplines. I recommend this course.

By DINESH B

Jun 18, 2020

Just an awesome course. Systematic and simple approaches. The instructor is very good. Everything is so perfect in the course that learning becomes a fun. I strongly recommend it.

By Talha R

May 23, 2020

The course was interesting. it opened a new world for me to learn more. in the future, i will refer to this course whenever i have need of revising concepts related to this field.

By Lucien M

Nov 18, 2019

From the perspective of a non-renewable energy industry professional looking to move into the solar sector, this is a very good course for some basic fundamentals of solar cells.

By suresh w

Jul 27, 2020

Excellent course content. Good use of audio visuals and interviews with the experts in the field. All the three generations of solar cells explained in simple and lucid manner.

By Mecislovas K

Oct 30, 2020

Good overview, easy to understand if you have some scientific background. If you're totally new to this, be prepared to spend the recommended time grasping all the concepts.

By SaiLokesh P

Nov 28, 2017

It was really fun to learn the intriguing and amazing facts as well as techniques about the solar cells and its technology. The course was prodigious and was really helpful.

By olga t

Mar 17, 2019

I really think the teacher has made an excellent effort to teach about solar cells as a whole. A great synthesis work , very clear and very comprehensive. Congratulations.

By Subhasree M

Dec 10, 2017

This course was wonderful, had gained much knowledge about solar cells. I am expecting to have more courses on photovoltaics in coursera, since it is my field of interest.

By Hemang D G

May 20, 2020

very good content, explained in a very understandable and engaging manner. Thank you for this excellent introduction to solar cell technologies. Excited to study more.

By MAHDI A C

May 19, 2020

Learnt so many things about solar cell technology. The videos are quite helpful. Additional resources are provided for better understanding. Must check again someday!

By Aditya M J

Jul 29, 2020

the course on solar cell is too much helpful to me. i'm engineering student and it's really helped me for my project on hybrid vehicle. best faculty and best course.

By Marie P

Jan 3, 2018

Very interresting course, the teacher and the course is very clear. The subject is quite complicated and it had been made simpler for the beginners in solar systems.

By Adrian J L U

Oct 22, 2020

In this course , you would really learn a lot about solar cells and the future of the energy industry. This course has been fun and knowledgeable at the same time.

By Jose D S C

Jul 1, 2020

Excellent course, fully met my expectations and at the end of it leaves us wanting to learn and learn more about this huge world of solar cells. Fully recommended.

By Hasib R

May 27, 2020

Well revised course. Simple web-based simulations that help understand the topics very well. Basically it's totally helpful for beginners studying on solar cells.

By GIRIRAJ S P

Aug 18, 2019

i learned all basics about solar cell, all different types,their methods of manufacturing, uses,etc.

the course was so good and had so much interesting knowledge