Chevron Left
Back to Municipal Solid Waste Management in Developing Countries

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Municipal Solid Waste Management in Developing Countries by École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne

4.8
stars
2,925 ratings
1,000 reviews

About the Course

Have you come across large piles of garbage in neighbourhoods and streets and smelly waste disposal sites polluting the environment of low- and middle-income countries? Do you want to know what kind of sustainable solutions are appropriate to better manage waste and enhance recycling and recovery? If yes, this course is for you! This course provides you with an overview of the municipal solid waste management situation in low- and middle-income countries. It covers key elements of the waste management system, such as its technical, environmental, social, financial and institutional aspects. Besides understanding the challenges, you will be introduced to appropriate and already applied solutions through selected case studies....

Top reviews

CP
Aug 14, 2020

Understandable and easy to access to reading materials recommended in each modules. Benefits to current jobs and will recommend this course to colleagues who have no background on this issue to study.

ES
Feb 26, 2017

Great introduction. It covers a wide range of issues concerning waste management and I thought the material was relevant and reflected my own observations of waste management in developing countries.

Filter by:

851 - 875 of 978 Reviews for Municipal Solid Waste Management in Developing Countries

By T S K

May 7, 2020

This is good course for anyone who is interested in having a broad idea about the various waste management systems, technologies, etc. Apart from this, the course gives us a brief outline on the policy aspects of waste management (SDGs, international agreements, etc). Some of the best practices are also introduced to the learner so that the person will know where to look for, in times of need. This can be helpful to professionals and students alike.

Very good material to follow. The readings are too much to be completed in this course. But still, it was a worthwhile learning experience.

By Mayur B

Feb 28, 2017

It was a really very insightful course which gave me a quite a good knowledge and understanding about the area of solid waste management. I got to know the basics of solid waste management technologies which are practice in the world along with some case studies. The assignments along the sessions of the course were also very helpful in self evaluating our understanding and knowledge. I thank coursera for conducting this course and hope for some more courses in the area of environment and water.

By Margaret E

Feb 27, 2019

I am doing this course purely out of interest (I am a 77 year old retired school teacher) and am finding it fascinating. Your producers are excellent, text is easy to follow and photos and graphs etc add to interest. At present I see no likelyhood of ever making practical use of the knowledge I am gaining - but who knows!!

My only complaint is that I have not yet found out the easy way to find and log onto my current work (my computer skills are not great and grandchildren are very busy!)

By Chaitanya K

Oct 9, 2016

This is a great course! I particularly liked the mix of general and specific information provided- the course provides a overview of the physical and governance aspects of municipal solid waste management (MSWM), and then goes on to focus on the treatment options for the bio-waste stream, which accounts for a large proportion of MSWM in development countries, and for which processing and treatment is still not well-developed or institutionalized.

By Imran N

Nov 20, 2019

Municipal Solid Waste Management in Developing Countries is quite and interesting course, It give you a full understanding on how you manage your environment and also make use of the waste to benefit the environment in many ways such as composting. Composting and Landfills are the best things I have learned in this course because of its relevance and importance to a country like mine.

By Eduardo O

May 18, 2017

Very good and very complete course.

May I suggest for the tests that each questions and its options of response appear clearly on the screen. The need to sometimes having to scroll down or up to see all the options generates some confusion.

Thank you very much and feel free to contact me if you need local information that Imanol (who speaks Spanish) may not find.

Best regards,

By Phoebe P

May 13, 2020

I enjoyed the course, it was insightful and interesting. My favourite module was week 5. This looked at the links between waste, Climate Change and the Circular Economy. All the subjects are extremely important to date. I took this course during the lockdown (Covid 19) to expand my knowledge for when I get back to work. I am super glad I did this. Thanks for your help.

By Roberto C

Apr 29, 2017

El curso ha sido muy interesante, proporcionando información y material de referencia muy valioso.

Por lo que se refiere a las buenas practicas sobre recilcaje e inclusión de los recicladores infromales, sería interesar incluir un modulo sobre casos exitosos tanto de Latinoamerica como de otros lugares del mundo. Muchas gracias

By Aadit S

Nov 20, 2016

A really well designed course which touches many different aspects of solid waste management in developing countries. Starting from waste generation and collection of different kind of waste and then explaining different methods and technology used across the world in developing countries to treat and manage this waste.

By Harshil S

Aug 19, 2018

Excellent course for budding students and professionals who are learning and practising the field of urban development, Solid Waste Management sector etc. The course provides wide insights into MSW management, recycling, bio waste processing, stakeholder roles in SWM chain and circular economy of solid wastes

By raphael l

Sep 10, 2016

Excellent cours ! Etqnt étudiant en gestion de projet dans les pays en développement je le conseille fortement pour ce spécialiser et pouvoir conseiller. Néanmoins la partie sur le vermicomposting et le l'anaerobic digestion via le compostage peut sembler moins pertinent pour ma aprt.

By Kurian P

Aug 29, 2021

The Course was very useful in developing a conceptual understanding of Municipal Solid Waste issue. It helped me to prepare myself for entering into a Solid Waste related assignment. The videos and lectures and the materials were all very useful and informative. Thanks every one.

By Vidhyalakshmi C

Sep 27, 2020

Simple yet exhaustive topics covering all aspects of waste management in developing countries. Interactive questions within topics help in the understanding of the topic further. Overall, a good course module and helped me in acquiring new knowledge.

By Manoj J

Mar 24, 2016

This Online Course is really one of the best , that I have done . The Course design is excellent & a lot of new thing about Solid Waste Management , that I have not known earlier. Would like to go for more courses in Renewable Energy & SWM Sector.

By Josue G

Apr 2, 2021

Muy buen curso y muy contento de haberlo finalizado.

cabe mencionar que yo lo complete hace mas de un mes y ahora que puedo pagar mi certificado no me aparece, por favor me podrían ayudar para poder pagar y descargar el documento.

Gracias.

By MUHAMMAD A

Nov 12, 2018

This online course is really important & helpful as being an Energy student; It strengthen students knowledge regarding this critical issue of waste; & also develop interest for taking required measures for better environment & society.

By George N K R

Mar 11, 2016

I think I am experiencing a challenge on the MOOC. After completing a course section , you I do not notice any colour change to green, even after repeating some of them. I have completed all of the course sections in week3.

By Nkeze N

Oct 19, 2016

I suspended for a while due to reasons beyond my control; but the simplicity of the course instructors and the explicitness of the course content cannot be over emphasized.

I hope to finish it without any more suspensions.

By Anurag A D

Sep 18, 2017

This course taught me how to approach a Municipal or Rural Solid Waste management problem. I believe I can use the knowledge and skills acquired here as they were very relevant and resembled practical scenarios in India.

By anjali m

Apr 25, 2016

The lectures were insightful and concise. A few topics were a bit too technical like the one on Thermo Chemical Conversion. May be more time could have been dedicated to governance issues and strategic planning for SWM.

By Yogita P

May 22, 2020

The content in the course is simple and lucid to understand and the mentors are excellent on their part. This course has helped me with gaining overview on a completely new content in an entirely different way.

By Zwe W P

Dec 4, 2019

This course is good enough for me and get much knowledge about waste. Although the certificate is given, no credit is mention in certificate. It would be better if not adding no credit statement in certificate.

By Laura Z

Jul 8, 2016

This course includes Municipal Solid Waste Management in developing countries, and issues that we do experience in latin american countries. It has a good overall technical data on solid waste management.

By Declan O

Aug 17, 2020

Overall a good and interesting course, though some material (referenced) are getting a little dated and needs to be updated. Would like to see more on institutional challenges and financing of MSWM.

By Czarina C

Apr 12, 2020

This has provided technical knowledge on waste management for developing countries. It would be great for this to broaden discussion on plastic waste management as this is a growing topic. Thank you!