Chevron Left
Back to Spanish Vocabulary: Meeting People

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Spanish Vocabulary: Meeting People by University of California, Davis

4.6
stars
2,676 ratings
662 reviews

About the Course

¡Hola! ¿Como Estas? In this entry level course, you will take the first step toward exploring the foundations of Spanish grammar and pronunciation, and will begin to build a working vocabulary of common Spanish words and expressions. You will be able to talk about yourself, your family and friends in the present tense, and begin to explore the cultural context of the Spanish-speaking world through a series of videos and interactive activities, including speaking, reading and writing exercises. The adventure begins here, so ¡vámanos!...

Top reviews

GT
Dec 29, 2020

This course is very interacting! Though they only give brief lessons, what I like about it the most are the activities it offers for you to brush up your skills more. Definitely a good recommendation!

MP
Nov 9, 2018

Although it took me a while to warm to the idea of doing peer review exercises, and having to video record and upload work, actually I think this is an important part of the course and really useful.

Filter by:

601 - 625 of 658 Reviews for Spanish Vocabulary: Meeting People

By Berdibaeva N A

Sep 3, 2020

excellent!!!

By nisa

Nov 28, 2020

ıt was good

By Doaa m e

Apr 16, 2020

Amazing

By GOUTHAM R K

Jun 22, 2020

good:)

By MIN C

Jan 1, 2021

GGGG

By pentapati h

Nov 19, 2020

good

By Yashika D

May 18, 2020

nice

By Carolyn D

Dec 27, 2020

I am extremely grateful for the opportunity to broaden my horizon due to covid 19, but this course was a bit difficult to follow. Even with 2 years of Spanish in high school, I found myself looking to outside sources for clarification. For example, there's one lesson where you have to match a question with an answer...all in Spanish! The problem is that as a beginner, if you can't even read the question how are you going to choose the right answer? I'm highly driven to make perfect scores, but I was so glad to get out of this course with a 96. It was a good stepping stone though as it wet my appetite to really engage and get better. Having to do the video was nerve racking and challenging but much appreciated. If you're a beginner, I'd suggest you supplement this course with with something like Duolingo and you'll be just fine!

By Carissa B

Jul 25, 2020

I was a bit disappointed from this course. The amount of material to learn in three weeks is way too much for what is supposed to be a “beginner course” for the language. I wasn’t able to catch on as quick as I had hoped. I also wish that the course would pronounce the vocabulary more often rather than just conjugations. The professor was alright and pretty easy to understand. The amount of peer review was nice too. I hope my review stands out as one that can help the course be improved on. Thank you!

By Hassan H A

Jan 22, 2019

I have finished 'auditing' the course. the course is a very good start. It is not that difficult. I like everything in this course. the only thing I dislike about the course is as an audit student of the course, I can not take the last quiz of each week; I can read the questions though. That was the only draw-back; other than that, the course is highly recommended. I made a vocabulary list of this course in the following link: https://tinycards.duolingo.com/collections/ypWB5Hv/meeting-people

By Margaret B

Apr 30, 2020

This was great practice for me, as I already knew a lot of Spanish. It was a good way for me to earn about the grammar more systematically. However, if someone knew very little or no Spanish at all, they would have a VERY difficult time doing the practice exercises. There are a lot of phrases in the exercises which you are supposed to figure out using context clues, but are never completely defined in the course.

By Jason O

Oct 26, 2020

This course isn't for everyone. Enrollee should have at least done a couple of notes taking from other references prior to this course. I personally am still confused and have no idea in composing sentences with proper accents since that have not been covered through out this course. Worst is that some exams must you provide correct Spanish accents in sentences. Nonetheless, this has helped me hone my Spanish.

By Mahima H

Aug 5, 2020

Overall course was good and I found this pretty easy because I've been learning Spanish with Duolingo around past 2 months. But this course need to make amends because If a person without knowing a single word of Spanish how would he be able to do this. This course is not meant for beginners.

But this course really helped me in polishing my Spanish speaking and writing skills.

By Julet B

Feb 6, 2021

I enjoyed the course and the explanations given throughout. I also enjoyed hearing from others who were in the course. However, this course assumes you know quite a bit of Spanish outside of what this course teaches you. If not for taking a previous course elsewhere, I don't feel that this was an entirely beginner course.

By Md A N

May 16, 2020

Learning experience is good. The thing which is bad in this course is that the questions of the assignments.. There are number of questions in the assignment which is tough for a beginner. Moreover the assignments should be reviewed by some experts instead of some beginners like me.

By Claudine

Apr 13, 2020

Very well structured, and easy to follow. Good practice exercises.

Unfortunately, we must pay the course subscription for all the noted quizzes and even the peer review assignment. It makes it a bit expensive for an entry-level course.

By Sarah H

Jul 5, 2019

The first part was pretty confusing. I was previously taught the basics of Spanish back in highschool and a little more in college yet for the first test I was lost. Other than that I think its an easy course and good for beginners.

By RAYIPALLI P

May 12, 2020

the course is too fast for a beginner to learn a new language.The content in video is not sufficient to learn the pronunciation and vocabulary of Spanish.But overall it can be appreciated with the examples shown.

By Max P

Apr 4, 2018

The amount of time spent on the various grammar rules is really short. There could be more examples, and a few more sentences of the professor to let the theory stick. It is really minimal now.

By Ahmed E

Oct 14, 2020

great course for beginners but the only one thing is the instructor goes fast with spanish so you shout repeat to get the it as beginner.

By Sheena E

Mar 26, 2021

I was expecting more conversation and explanation during the course. More assistance basically.

By Shubhashri A

Jul 26, 2020

The course is not suitable for beginners.

By Tim J

Apr 12, 2017

Eh, not great to be honest.

By Roya s

Sep 5, 2018

this is not for beginers.

By sreenu v

Nov 17, 2020

Good