Chevron Left
Back to Spanish Vocabulary: Meeting People

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Spanish Vocabulary: Meeting People by University of California, Davis

4.6
stars
2,639 ratings
649 reviews

About the Course

¡Hola! ¿Como Estas? In this entry level course, you will take the first step toward exploring the foundations of Spanish grammar and pronunciation, and will begin to build a working vocabulary of common Spanish words and expressions. You will be able to talk about yourself, your family and friends in the present tense, and begin to explore the cultural context of the Spanish-speaking world through a series of videos and interactive activities, including speaking, reading and writing exercises. The adventure begins here, so ¡vámanos!...

Top reviews

GT
Dec 29, 2020

This course is very interacting! Though they only give brief lessons, what I like about it the most are the activities it offers for you to brush up your skills more. Definitely a good recommendation!

MP
Nov 9, 2018

Although it took me a while to warm to the idea of doing peer review exercises, and having to video record and upload work, actually I think this is an important part of the course and really useful.

Filter by:

601 - 625 of 645 Reviews for Spanish Vocabulary: Meeting People

By Jason O

Oct 26, 2020

This course isn't for everyone. Enrollee should have at least done a couple of notes taking from other references prior to this course. I personally am still confused and have no idea in composing sentences with proper accents since that have not been covered through out this course. Worst is that some exams must you provide correct Spanish accents in sentences. Nonetheless, this has helped me hone my Spanish.

By Mahima H

Aug 5, 2020

Overall course was good and I found this pretty easy because I've been learning Spanish with Duolingo around past 2 months. But this course need to make amends because If a person without knowing a single word of Spanish how would he be able to do this. This course is not meant for beginners.

But this course really helped me in polishing my Spanish speaking and writing skills.

By Julet B

Feb 6, 2021

I enjoyed the course and the explanations given throughout. I also enjoyed hearing from others who were in the course. However, this course assumes you know quite a bit of Spanish outside of what this course teaches you. If not for taking a previous course elsewhere, I don't feel that this was an entirely beginner course.

By Md A N

May 16, 2020

Learning experience is good. The thing which is bad in this course is that the questions of the assignments.. There are number of questions in the assignment which is tough for a beginner. Moreover the assignments should be reviewed by some experts instead of some beginners like me.

By Claudine

Apr 13, 2020

Very well structured, and easy to follow. Good practice exercises.

Unfortunately, we must pay the course subscription for all the noted quizzes and even the peer review assignment. It makes it a bit expensive for an entry-level course.

By Sarah H

Jul 5, 2019

The first part was pretty confusing. I was previously taught the basics of Spanish back in highschool and a little more in college yet for the first test I was lost. Other than that I think its an easy course and good for beginners.

By RAYIPALLI P

May 12, 2020

the course is too fast for a beginner to learn a new language.The content in video is not sufficient to learn the pronunciation and vocabulary of Spanish.But overall it can be appreciated with the examples shown.

By Max P

Apr 4, 2018

The amount of time spent on the various grammar rules is really short. There could be more examples, and a few more sentences of the professor to let the theory stick. It is really minimal now.

By Ahmed E

Oct 14, 2020

great course for beginners but the only one thing is the instructor goes fast with spanish so you shout repeat to get the it as beginner.

By Sheena E

Mar 26, 2021

I was expecting more conversation and explanation during the course. More assistance basically.

By Shubhashri A

Jul 26, 2020

The course is not suitable for beginners.

By Tim J

Apr 12, 2017

Eh, not great to be honest.

By Roya s

Sep 5, 2018

this is not for beginers.

By sreenu v

Nov 17, 2020

Good

By Meryl C

Sep 14, 2020

In my opinion, the course is not really for a beginner level. I have been studying Spanish for quite sometime, so I can easily answer the quizzes, etc. The major drawbacks for me include: the fast lectures which I don't think someone without a background knowledge of Spanish grammar and vocabulary can keep up, and the peer-graded review that is dependent on the 'learners' who also do not have yet the correct knowledge in grammar, diction and vocabulary. In this course, I submitted a video, a paper but a learner poorly graded my score, he just put 0- did not upload any video (even if I obviously have it), which is, for me, a little unfair. Anyway, I know my specific level of Spanish so I am just using this to review. Overall, it is just good for a review if you have a A2-B1 level of Spanish.

By Michael R

Oct 14, 2020

I understand that this was an introduction course to the Spanish language but I don't feel that the exercise's really assisted in learning the language.

I don't think I would recommend this course to others.

By SEMANUR A

Sep 29, 2020

You should include how students can learn vocabularies more. Therefore, you make a platform which enables us to memorizes the vocabularies.

By Julia S F

Nov 22, 2020

Useful information but difficult format; impossible to complete course due to technical glitches. Very frustrating.

By Anshu M

Jul 20, 2020

it is very confusing. Instructions are in spanish and its hard to understand without english translations

By Susie S

Mar 17, 2019

I am finding the material a bit confusing... I do not' know why they have to make learning so difficult.

By Qin W

Aug 19, 2018

No tutor is available.

Discussion form is dead.

You can ask question but you will never get the answer.

By Areo B

Jul 30, 2020

It is not really suitable for beginners. The course speaker and course videos are fast paced.

By Archideb S

Jul 10, 2020

Questions and the Practice Tests were much more difficult than what was being taught.

By Divya S

Apr 23, 2020

Quite difficult. Some of the exercises don't have proper explanations.

By Aishwarya K

Mar 16, 2021

A little too hard for a beginner to follow.