Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Molecular Spectroscopy

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Molecular Spectroscopy by University of Manchester

4.7
stars
2,087 ratings
547 reviews

About the Course

The course introduces the three key spectroscopic methods used by chemists and biochemists to analyse the molecular and electronic structure of atoms and molecules. These are UV/Visible , Infra-red (IR) and Nuclear Magnetic Resonance (NMR) spectroscopies. The content is presented using short focussed and interactive screencast presentations accompanied by formative quizzes to probe understanding of the key concepts presented. Numerous exercises are provided to facilitate mastery of each topic. A unique virtual spectroscopic laboratory is made available to enable students to measure and analyse spectra online. Assessment is via summative quizzes completed during the course period....

Top reviews

KB

Oct 14, 2020

This course helped me to further understand the principle behinds the 3 main spectroscopic techniques: UV/VIS, IR and NMR which is very beneficial for my future career working in a lab environment.

MR

Sep 9, 2020

Muy bien todo y super completo, ayuda aun mas en esta situación de cuarentena porque facilita la información y es una nueva manera de aprender que esta muy bien fundamentada y muy bien organizada

Filter by:

426 - 450 of 551 Reviews for Introduction to Molecular Spectroscopy

By Prabesh J

Jul 3, 2017

Great course. There is a good room for improvement. May be a more numerical problems could be added. More exercise problems could also be helpful. I hope the team at Manchester University continues developing the courses like this. In sum, really great course. helped me fill some gaps in my knowledge in spectroscopy.

By Priyakrit S R

Jul 10, 2020

An amazing course for people just curious about science in general and an amazing platform to quench one's scientific curiosity. However, the only problem is that in a few options in the weekly quizzes the mathematical expressions aren't given properly which makes selecting the correct answers difficult at times.

By Asher D

Dec 1, 2020

A nice informative refresher on or introduction to common molecular spectroscopy techniques. The course requires some independent info gathering in order to complete the assignments. In my opinion the quizzes tend to focus too heavily on math problems rather than concepts.

By Fernando V P

May 26, 2018

Me gustó el curso, lo disfruté y aprendí. Sólo me hubiera gustado ver más al profesor, como en una clase presencial, y no sólo ver las diapositivas explicadas por él. El material del curso es bueno, y los cuestionarios realmente te ponen a pensar.

By LIYA A

May 7, 2020

It was my first chance to attend an online course and it was a great experience. The course gives basic information about molecular spectroscopy. Thankful to the University of Manchester and also to the Course era to provide this platform.

By SUJOY K S

Jul 5, 2020

This course is very excellent and I have gained many basic knowledge. But there was some lack of information, mostly the practice session was very short. Overall this course help me a lot to improve my capability to understand more.

By Srilakshmi

May 2, 2020

After completion of the course I realised that I made a good decision. Reading materials are not lengthy and easy to understand. My only request is to provide answer material for quiz questions so that we can correct or mistakes:)

By Martínez F B

Sep 14, 2020

me gustaría contar con esta clase de cursos en español o al menos con alguna clase de subtitulos en español para los vídeos ya que es mas complicado levar la lectura con el vídeo en miniatura, no se aprecia bien el contenido.

By Mostafa A A A

Jul 22, 2017

the course is great, but if you add mass spectroscopy part, it would be better. Also, there are a technical problem in week 3 and final exam in marking certain questions where the system marks it wring although it is right.

By Y K

Mar 23, 2021

I highly recommend this course for beginners and starters who are studying by themselves, or/and would like to improve their knowledge in Spectroscopy, especially those who are from outside the Chemical and Physics fields.

By Saul I U B

Apr 1, 2020

It is a course with excellent content that gives you a good introduction to the world of molecular spectroscopy. Unfortunately, there are technical errors in the quices that need to be improved to make it a 5-star course.

By Sarfuddin A T

Apr 28, 2020

It was an excellent experience in in online learning on molecular spectroscopy. it would have been more helping for me if there were a text book or a hand book on detailed spectral assignment of uv, ir and nmr studies

By Loveille J G

Aug 14, 2020

This course was very helpful in reviewing concepts in molecular spectroscopy. A good theoretical background was presented but the approach was very practical. The examples were very helpful.

By Preetika

May 20, 2021

it was very useful for the people who are new to this topic. but they do have to include some more small topics like red shift blue shift and emphasis more on the spectral bands.

By Rupam G

Oct 26, 2017

Some of the questions had wrong answers in the system and hence the actual marks shown is not reflective of the exam. Please see to it that the system has correct answers.

By Paul I

Apr 13, 2022

Practical and worthwhile. Supplementary short videos that give a brief overview of each technique was helpful for me to get a handle of some of the theoretical concepts.

By Sivakumar R

Feb 10, 2022

A very good course for beginners. But video lectures alone wont help to solve quiz, you have to refers books and google to score good marks. Quiz questions are standard.

By Nathan P

Feb 20, 2020

I think for the NMR spectroscopy, more examples should be given on how to read an NMR scan and determine the possible molecular structure.

Everything else was great.

By SUGANTHI A

Jun 15, 2020

The course was really interesting and useful for me. I gained knowledge about the spectral analysis (UV, IR and NMR). Wonderful QUIZ time. Experience was amazing.

By MANIKANDAN U

May 12, 2020

This course is very useful to know about UV-Visible, IR and NMR Spectroscopy at introductory level. Class notes and explanation videos are very good.

By Ananya S

Apr 21, 2020

it was a very informative course, very thoroughly explained. Very nicely moduled, great course all in all. helps you learn from the fundamentals.

By Ali A

Jul 30, 2017

Very useful and overall rating is very good. However, there is some error in the grading system related to some questions, hope to be checked.

By Deeya

Aug 6, 2020

Great Content. Highly Informative. Just one issue...In initial videos, the coughing was disturbing. Rest was a highly learning experience.

By MARIO C

Jun 1, 2020

Very interesting lectures, topics explained pretty clear. But Eng subs are not very good and some practice quizzes have incomplete text.

By Iván M D B

Jul 18, 2020

Buen curso para aprender las bases del tema. Sí ya llevaste la materia a un nivel licenciatura te va a parecer muy básico el curso.