Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Molecular Spectroscopy

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Molecular Spectroscopy by University of Manchester

4.6
stars
379 ratings
83 reviews

About the Course

The course introduces the three key spectroscopic methods used by chemists and biochemists to analyse the molecular and electronic structure of atoms and molecules. These are UV/Visible , Infra-red (IR) and Nuclear Magnetic Resonance (NMR) spectroscopies. The content is presented using short focussed and interactive screencast presentations accompanied by formative quizzes to probe understanding of the key concepts presented. Numerous exercises are provided to facilitate mastery of each topic. A unique virtual spectroscopic laboratory is made available to enable students to measure and analyse spectra online. Assessment is via summative quizzes completed during the course period....

Top reviews

SA

Jul 02, 2019

It was a good experience to learn online. This course increase my knowledge an i gain new concept which are very helpful for me and guide me in this field more. thank you

AK

Apr 13, 2019

This course gives comprehensive overview on various spectroscopic techniques providing a large deal of underlying theory and also technical details in laboratory work.

Filter by:

76 - 81 of 81 Reviews for Introduction to Molecular Spectroscopy

By Yurshanva K

Jun 29, 2019

The content is good but the lectures audio was quite disturbing

By Frank B

Aug 11, 2017

Sometimes confusing!

By Sofija K

Nov 08, 2019

I really did not like the way the professor was explaining. There was no story to it, no proper narrative. He may be the expert in his field, and I salute that, but there are many less knowledgeable people who could explain this much better. I wanted to quit the course many times, but I am not a quieter. If you are new to Spectrometry, I do not recommend you take this course. If you already learned about spectrometry and want to take this course to brush up on the basics (like I did), do not waste your time.

The saving grace of this course are lab spectra that you are given to interpret at your own pace. Great exercises! Absolutely loved them!

By Dominick M

Oct 09, 2017

A decent qualitative and quantitative intro to UV/Vis, IR, and NMR spectroscopy. The lecture videos are little more than the instructor reading the slides, and coughing. The slides are a good intro to the material, but you can probably find better videos on youtube. Though this class give you experience in solving some quantitative problems, the quizzes and final have many mistakes in the answers which have not been fixed despite many posts in the discussion forum.

By Daniel A v

Nov 04, 2019

Muy baja calidad de las explicaciones, es necesario estudiar en otros referentes bibliográficos para poder superar el curso, es monótono y aburrido.

By Wei Y

Feb 21, 2018

Youtube level videos. The quiz is poorly designed.