Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Molecular Spectroscopy

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Molecular Spectroscopy by University of Manchester

4.7
stars
2,291 ratings

About the Course

The course introduces the three key spectroscopic methods used by chemists and biochemists to analyse the molecular and electronic structure of atoms and molecules. These are UV/Visible , Infra-red (IR) and Nuclear Magnetic Resonance (NMR) spectroscopies. The content is presented using short focussed and interactive screencast presentations accompanied by formative quizzes to probe understanding of the key concepts presented. Numerous exercises are provided to facilitate mastery of each topic. A unique virtual spectroscopic laboratory is made available to enable students to measure and analyse spectra online. Assessment is via summative quizzes completed during the course period....

Top reviews

KB

Oct 14, 2020

This course helped me to further understand the principle behinds the 3 main spectroscopic techniques: UV/VIS, IR and NMR which is very beneficial for my future career working in a lab environment.

DE

Mar 9, 2022

I learned a lot about the physics behind spectroscopy. The lectures were easy to follow and understand and the notes were detailed. I definitely recommend this course for chemistry-related majors.

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 594 Reviews for Introduction to Molecular Spectroscopy

By divya m

Jul 1, 2022

The course was good.It helped me to undestand the concepts.the content was very detailed one and the work of instructors were excellent.Thank you coursera to giving me this opportunity.

By Muhamad A B A B

Jul 25, 2020

Very informative course that helps beginner learner to understand theory behind three different types of spectroscopy and how to 'read' the spectra. It has challenging quizzes.

By Taposi C

Jul 8, 2020

UV and IR topic was nicely explained. It was a nice experience to join the Course . NMR topic was very good . If another course solely for NMR can be made then it will be nice.

By Luis C M M

May 18, 2020

Such a nice approach is given through this course. There's balance between videos, practices,and quizzes to make sure you get to know what you are dealing with spectroscopy.

By Mora L C G

May 27, 2021

Un curso bastante interesante, vale la pena tomarlo si estás interesado en el área de análisis instrumental en la identificación de compuestos químicos. Excelente curso :)

By Renan A d S

Jun 20, 2020

A great opportunity to improve skills on the subject and learn. Teacher was great with good examples and explanation, everyone interested on the content should join.

By Ali B

Aug 10, 2021

Everything was clearly and explicitly explained by a moderator. Especially helpful were interactive lab experiments and related tasks. This was a great experience!

By KEYURKUMAR K A

May 19, 2020

I 've learned lots of thing in this course about spectroscopy which are very much useful for me in theoritical studies and as well as practical. Good Experienced.

By Yashwantsinh J

Jun 10, 2020

It was a good learning experience and the faculty presented in a nice way to understand, we are waiting for next similar kind of sessions from your university.

By Benjamin C C

Jun 8, 2020

Excellent course, I learned a lot, I am very grateful for teaching the courses, it was a good experience to learn in online. Thank you very much to Cursera!!!

By Dr B K S

May 22, 2020

Introduction to molecular spectroscopy course is very good for science stream, resource person teaches very nicely, designing of the course is very good.

By GAYATHRY T C

Apr 10, 2021

It is a wonderful opportunity to learn spectroscopic techniques. I likes this course structure very much. I am so happy to take part in this course.

By Anushka G

Jan 27, 2022

i learned alot from this course things i knew and i didnt knew it has all practicality of spectrums to run and check how a spectra will be obtained

By Sergio A D A

Oct 8, 2020

Excellent course, I understand in deep the science of Spectroscopy and how I would identify different compounds in basis at the technique that I use

By RAO U D K

Sep 11, 2020

This course was very interesting and objective. I like this course. I hope that this will help me in the future to use the spectroscopic techniques.

By suman k b

Jul 3, 2020

this course is very useful for chemistry faculty and student in molecular spectroscopy. in this course lab quiz and graph technology is wonderful.

By Ragini R

Jun 11, 2020

It was a wonderful learning experience. Solving the quiz was a lot of fun. I really appreciate the content and distribution of the topics. Regards.

By Navneet U

Aug 2, 2020

Most informative and knowledgeable content with good presentation, this course help me to improve my knowledge about Spectroscopy (UV, IR and NMR)

By Dr S A

Jun 19, 2020

The course was very interesting. Specially I liked the videos showing working of different spectrometers and the lab quizzes. Thank you coursera.

By Priyanka K D

Jul 28, 2020

This course was very helpful for me. It was enjoyable to learn online. It helped me to strengthen my concepts of NMR,IR and UV/Vis Spectroscopy.

By NITESH C

May 16, 2020

Excellent course. Very nicely designed. Lab sessions & quizzes are up to the mark & of best level. Thank You very much for all Your efforts.

By Akhil J

Dec 20, 2021

A great course for those with a bit of knowledge about spectro! Especially the lab quiz, its quite intuitive! I am glad i did this course.

By JEMINA.I

May 28, 2020

Interesting course.Applying the theoretical concepts in solving problem has strengthened the knowledge about the spectroscopic techniques

By DHAVAL L B

Jun 12, 2020

This course is very useful fir the spectroscopy point of view and increase the practical knowledge.in this all video easily to explain.

By Sampa B

Apr 14, 2020

excellent course. i brushed up my knowledge of spectroscopy thoroughly. I am very much confident now teaching this topic to my students