Chevron Left
Back to State Estimation and Localization for Self-Driving Cars

Learner Reviews & Feedback for State Estimation and Localization for Self-Driving Cars by University of Toronto

4.7
stars
562 ratings
91 reviews

About the Course

Welcome to State Estimation and Localization for Self-Driving Cars, the second course in University of Toronto’s Self-Driving Cars Specialization. We recommend you take the first course in the Specialization prior to taking this course. This course will introduce you to the different sensors and how we can use them for state estimation and localization in a self-driving car. By the end of this course, you will be able to: - Understand the key methods for parameter and state estimation used for autonomous driving, such as the method of least-squares - Develop a model for typical vehicle localization sensors, including GPS and IMUs - Apply extended and unscented Kalman Filters to a vehicle state estimation problem - Understand LIDAR scan matching and the Iterative Closest Point algorithm - Apply these tools to fuse multiple sensor streams into a single state estimate for a self-driving car For the final project in this course, you will implement the Error-State Extended Kalman Filter (ES-EKF) to localize a vehicle using data from the CARLA simulator. This is an advanced course, intended for learners with a background in mechanical engineering, computer and electrical engineering, or robotics. To succeed in this course, you should have programming experience in Python 3.0, familiarity with Linear Algebra (matrices, vectors, matrix multiplication, rank, Eigenvalues and vectors and inverses), Statistics (Gaussian probability distributions), Calculus and Physics (forces, moments, inertia, Newton's Laws)....

Top reviews

WS

Oct 14, 2019

There are many interesting topics. Without the help and suggested readings from this course, I wouldn't be able to finish by myself. Also, the final project is very enlightening.

AQ

Feb 09, 2020

One of the most exciting courses ever had in terms of learning and understanding. Kalman filter is a fascinating concept with infinite applications in real life on daily basis.

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 90 Reviews for State Estimation and Localization for Self-Driving Cars

By Guillermo P G

May 13, 2020

Amazing course, congratulations, I have learnt a lot!

By jinglong

May 27, 2020

very nice tutorials for autonomous driving beginner.

By PRASHANT K R

Oct 08, 2019

it's really nice, and amazing course. I enjoyed it

By Felipe M G

Oct 26, 2020

This is a excellent course with great proffesors

By Varun J

May 13, 2020

Indeed one of the best courses here at Coursera!

By Ansh S

Aug 14, 2020

Amazing specialisation to get aquainted to SLAM

By 刘宇轩

Apr 25, 2019

The projects are useful enough

By Shridhar N V

Jun 08, 2020

Kalman filter was interesting

By Vishwas N

Apr 29, 2020

very nicely crafted course

By Luis E T R

Sep 13, 2020

An outstanding course

By naren

May 28, 2020

Many many thanks!

By MIHIR R J

May 30, 2020

Very Infomative!

By mert s

Nov 01, 2019

excellent course

By Arturo A E O

Sep 03, 2020

excelente

By Md. R Q S

Aug 19, 2020

great

By Soumyajit M

Oct 05, 2020

Good

By Nejc D

May 06, 2020

The course covers some interesting and highly important concepts regarding state estimation. I guess the videos are not intended to be a "follow-along" lectures but more of a "these are the topics you should study by yourself" videos. In other words, the videos tend not to go deep, instead only the important results are quickly presented. On the other hand the programming assigments are quite fun.

Reflecting on how much knowledge and understanding somebody needs to show to pass this course I wouldn't rate it as advanced, I would rather say intermediate.

To sum up, this is either a course for somebody who wants to get some basic ideas about state estimation applied to self driving cars or for somebody who wants to dive deep into this topic and wants to use this course as a guidance on his/her self-study journey

By Maksym B

Apr 04, 2019

The course has very advanced material and I value this course a lot. However I am very confused at some key concepts and didn't understand many details conceptually. For example it is not clear what is the difference between EKF and ES-EKF.

Also, for the final project the formulas have been given. I implemented the project using the formulas, but I didn't understand deeply enough the meaning of those formulas. For example what does Kalman Gain represent.

Maybe the topic is just so advanced, or maybe I should be reading more resources outside the lectures. But I finished the course with the feeling that I have a lot to learn in the space of localization and state estimation.

By Baixiao

Jul 29, 2019

Great course that teaches you most of what you need to know about state estimation. What is missing is the state estimation using particle filter, it would be great if there is a module dedicated for that. Some video lectures are little bit confusing, specifically at the error state estimation part, but if you read the provided reading materials, you should be able to understand it more thoroughly. The final project is difficult, you are expected to read some advanced papers on state estimation, but it is very rewarding once you figure out on your own.

By Nicolas Y

Dec 04, 2019

This course is wonderful, however, is it quite tough, not only for the technical content but also because I believe it could use some more clarification for the quizzes and other.

All in all, I thought it was a very satisfying way to review old skills and learn new state-of-the-art techniques!

Recommending it heavily, but be ready for frustrations.

By mike w c

Jun 18, 2019

There are several errors in the presentations and in the videos, the tutors did not correct them and thus the assignments were very confusing due to stupid math mistakes made by the organizers, it is clear that they are not taking it 100% serious, nonetheless I have seen few courses were they explain State estimation for SDV so good as this one.

By Shubham R P

Sep 20, 2019

Great course! Very in depth understanding of Kalman Filters and Sensor Fusion. You need to look more literature to understand the concept. Final project is very nice. May be more insight could have been provided about orientation,quaternions and euler angles conversions.

By Atharva K

May 30, 2020

A pretty involving course.

Good points - EKF, UKF explained properly.

Bad points - The weeks 3 onwards course is not sufficiently explained, less mathematics and more intuitive understanding, tough time if you do not have experience with python programming.

By Yulia M

Mar 11, 2019

The content of the course is great, very useful and applicable ! The lectures are well told, animations are brilliant. I rate this course as 4 stars due to a low feedback activity from the teaching staff.

By SHRUTHEESH R

Jul 17, 2020

Thank you for this absolutely fantastic course. Kalman filters and state estimation in general is a concept that I've tried to understand for a long time, and I'm glad to have finally understood it!