Chevron Left
Back to English for Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics

Learner Reviews & Feedback for English for Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics by University of Pennsylvania

4.8
916 ratings
298 reviews

About the Course

Welcome to English for Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics, a course created by the University of Pennsylvania, and funded by the U.S. Department of State Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs, Office of English Language Programs. To enroll in this course for free, click on “Enroll now” and then select "Full Course. No certificate." If you want to get a Coursera Verified Certificate for free, please fill out the Financial Aid form. This course is designed for non-native English speakers who are interested in improving their English skills in the sciences. In this course, you will explore some of the most innovative areas of scientific study, while expanding your vocabulary and the language skills needed to share scientific information within your community. In unit 1, you will learn how to preview texts and practice some of the language used to make comparisons when talking about global warming and climate change. In unit 2, you will examine the chemistry of climate change and the language of cause and effect. In Unit 3, you will learn about some of the impacts of Climate Change and the language used to describe these effects. In Unit 4, you will learn reading strategies that can help you explore the science behind some new energy systems. In the final unit, you will investigate practical advances in Nanotechnology that help slow down climate change, while developing your own research skills in English. Unless otherwise noted, all course materials are available for re-use, repurposing and free distribution under a Creative Commons 4.0 Attribution license. Supplemental reading materials were provided by Newsela, which publishes daily news articles at a level that's just right for each English language learner....

Top reviews

UU

Apr 08, 2018

Great efforts are done to design the course.It was really effective and informative course.It was amazing to know about different renewable resources and technologies discussed in the course.

MA

Jul 20, 2018

A very fruitful course in knowledge and language.\n\nI also benefit from the style you use on your videos .\n\nI use some sites such as quizlet.\n\nI got 92.4 % . Thank you very much.

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 288 Reviews for English for Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics

By Abdelhafid B A

Oct 15, 2017

very helpful

thanks

By Derek D V

Jun 21, 2017

Thanks! I loved it!

By MARIAN H V

Jul 09, 2017

great and wonderful , very informative course. Thank you.

By Osbert B V

Nov 17, 2017

such a very informative course

By Gabriela P

Jun 09, 2017

It is an excellent course. This course is rich in information about climate change, global warming. Many thanks to the instructors and University of Philadelphia.

By Bingkun Q

Aug 22, 2017

Very helpful for the non-native speakers to learn English!

By Ghani J

Mar 31, 2018

It is a very informative course and has developed my knowledge about global warning and its consequences along with English Language structures. I would definitely recommend you to join this informative course.

By Tina I

Aug 26, 2017

excelent

By Erin R D G

May 30, 2017

Fue muy gratificante y reflexivo este curso, para tomar conciencia de que nuestro planeta nos necesita, y tenemos que usar los recursos naturales de manera responsable, porque los que primero sentimos las consecuencias del cambio climático, somos nosotros mismos. Gracias al generoso pueblo norteamericano,que a través de sus autoridades, nos brindan la oportunidad de tomar estos cursos para desarrollarnos como mejores personas.

By Tathiana M

Jul 08, 2017

Amazing course, I learned a lot about climate change and my English has improved a lot!

By Willie V

Nov 01, 2017

Great course to learn especially for those who have inclination to Science, where all the science concepts are applied in English sentence construction!

By Mohamed M

Jun 18, 2017

It's awesome

By Paulina M

Apr 08, 2018

Thanks for everything! I learned a lot about climate change and current studies, experiments and possible solutions in the world.

I have also improved my English skills.

By Veronica l L

Sep 15, 2017

Excellent!!!!!!!!!

By Tatjana J

Jun 30, 2017

Excellent course! My reading skills have improved tremendously as well as the ability to write effective summaries.

By Salar B

Jul 28, 2017

A well designed and professionally introduced course from highly graded University

By Danilo P P

Jan 30, 2018

It's a great course.

By Maria L S D

Jan 22, 2018

It's a great refresher course for me coming back as a teacher.

By Muhamed G

Jul 14, 2017

Amazing Content and Powerful stratigy, Thank You.

By Aliosha G

May 19, 2017

Es un curso muy bueno para mejorar nuestras habilidades en inglés y conocer vocabulario especializado.

By Nicat

May 09, 2017

That would be nice to get certificate without fee. I am poor.

By Метелица Ю

Dec 04, 2017

Хороший курс. Из лекций и текстов почерпнула для себя много новых слов, идиом и устойчивых выражений. Задания по грамматике рассчитаны на не очень высокий уровень, но повторить пройденное никогда не будет лишним.

By Jacory G

Sep 04, 2017

The course is really good, thanks.

By Dalia M

Dec 13, 2017

Excellent course

By Cristiane B

Jul 07, 2017

Great