Chevron Left
Back to Terrorism and Counterterrorism: Comparing Theory and Practice

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Terrorism and Counterterrorism: Comparing Theory and Practice by Universiteit Leiden

4.8
stars
2,503 ratings
601 reviews

About the Course

Terrorism has arguably been one of the defining factors of our age. It frequently makes headlines, threatening or attacking governments, private business and ordinary citizens. And in many parts of the world, it has been one of the most important threats to peace, security and stability. But what does this exactly mean? What is the nature of this threat? Who or what is threatened, how, by whom and why? What can be done about it or how can we at least limit the impact of terrorism and make sure that terrorists do not make headlines and manage to scare us? These are just a handful of questions that will be addressed in this course that consists of three parts. First it focuses on the essence of terrorism as an instrument to achieve certain goals, in addition to an exploration of this phenomenon and the difficulties in defining it. The second part provides an overview of the state of the art in (counter) terrorism studies. Since ‘9/11’ terrorism studies have grown exponentially, reflecting the rise in perceived threats. But what has academia come up with? What theories, assumptions and conventional wisdom has it produced that could be of help in understanding terrorism and dealing with it? The most interesting results are examined and compared with empirical evidence with the aim to either stress their importance or to debunk them as myths. The final part looks into the implications and possibilities for policy making. The course ends with a module specifically designed to address one of today's most topical issue: the foreign fighter phenomenon....

Top reviews

LZ

May 23, 2016

This excellent, balanced course uses a great combination of concise videos and additional reading. I enrolled hoping to better understand this hot-topic and Prof. Bakker's course was perfect.

MZ

Sep 21, 2017

Useful and well done. This course is an example how to boost resilience in our society with knowledge. At the end of the day is a brick of our holistic counter terrorism actions. Thank you.

Filter by:

201 - 225 of 582 Reviews for Terrorism and Counterterrorism: Comparing Theory and Practice

By Henrik O

Aug 21, 2018

Super introduction to modern terrorism, with explanations to how LE and other institutions perceive and mitigate terrorists.

By Josh G

Jun 16, 2017

Excellent course, incredibly interesting and really a very useful insight particularly with the way our world is currently

By Marietjie J

Oct 23, 2015

A most interesting and insightful course. The quizzes challenge the student, and give opportunity for individual thinking.

By Miriam E G

Feb 14, 2018

Muy buen curso. Aclara todos los preconceptos. Muy buen material y lecturas sugeridas para seguir aprendiendo. Gracias

By César L B d S

Dec 18, 2017

Muito bom. O Curso nos oferece uma oportunidade para conhecer o assunto e esclarecer muitos pontos obscuros do tema.

By Jeffrey W

Mar 27, 2020

I learned a great deal during this course and really appreciate all the hard work/time that went into creating it.

By Josefina G

Nov 25, 2019

Excelente curso, lo recomiendo totalmente a aquellos que estudian ciencias políticas o relaciones internacionales.

By Alexandru M G

Dec 06, 2018

Very professionally taught, a great variety of topics, not easy to pass, lean for life ! I strongly recommend it !

By Lorenzo A

Feb 11, 2016

The lectures are very clear and the readings extremely interesting, including many articles written by top experts

By Tulika K

Jul 07, 2020

I really enjoyed doing this course and i learnt a lot of things. Im sure this is going to help me in the future.

By Lucio A M

Mar 13, 2020

Excellent course! Professors Edwin Bakker and Jeanine de Roy van Zuijdewijn conducted the subject in superb way.

By Rodolfo Q L

Sep 01, 2019

Fantastic course. I learned incredible concepts. Incredible content. Great instructor, extremely well qualified.

By ABHIJEET S

Jun 22, 2020

THIS COURSE IS SO INFORMATIVE AND HELPS TO LEARN A LOT ABOUT THE BASICS OF THE TERRORISM AND COUNTER-TERRORISM.

By Jacob K

Dec 28, 2018

Great theoretical foundation for everyone interested in the field of terrorism and counterterrorism! Excellent.

By Amine D

Sep 18, 2017

Very interesting course, I have a new vision of terrorism and counter-terrorism after completing this course.

By Hareesh H

Jul 01, 2020

I enjoyed this course thoroughly. It gave me new insights into this domain which is comparatively new to me.

By Toni H

Nov 20, 2017

Curso muy interesante y completo, el único punto a mejorar son las traducciones al Español.

Recomendable 100%

By Eric H

Jun 16, 2018

This course is simply AMAZING! Wish they had more and that one could pursue a degree via distance learning.

By Niels G

Nov 06, 2015

Very interesting topic given by an excellent lecturer. Readings and course video's complement one another.

By Jovana B

Oct 21, 2015

My first course here on Coursera and I am completely satisfied with both the lectures and the professor.

By Tomek C

Feb 26, 2016

It's a good introduction. Being green in this subject, it really changes my understanding of terrorism.

By Meghan C

Jun 05, 2020

Very good course. A lot of useful information and a great subject to take in todays globalized world.

By Tomasz M

Dec 01, 2018

Fantastic Fantastyczny kurs! Polecam kazdemu kto chce wiedziec wiecej na temat terroryzmu.

Regards

Tom

By Galen J R

Mar 07, 2016

A very in-depth skim of the beginning of a new trend in study and how we view another uneasy subject.

By Maria A

Oct 22, 2017

Thank you for the course, it was very interesting! Where I can find my certification of this course?