Chevron Left
Back to Text Retrieval and Search Engines

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Text Retrieval and Search Engines by University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

4.4
499 ratings
108 reviews

About the Course

Recent years have seen a dramatic growth of natural language text data, including web pages, news articles, scientific literature, emails, enterprise documents, and social media such as blog articles, forum posts, product reviews, and tweets. Text data are unique in that they are usually generated directly by humans rather than a computer system or sensors, and are thus especially valuable for discovering knowledge about people’s opinions and preferences, in addition to many other kinds of knowledge that we encode in text. This course will cover search engine technologies, which play an important role in any data mining applications involving text data for two reasons. First, while the raw data may be large for any particular problem, it is often a relatively small subset of the data that are relevant, and a search engine is an essential tool for quickly discovering a small subset of relevant text data in a large text collection. Second, search engines are needed to help analysts interpret any patterns discovered in the data by allowing them to examine the relevant original text data to make sense of any discovered pattern. You will learn the basic concepts, principles, and the major techniques in text retrieval, which is the underlying science of search engines....

Top reviews

JH

Sep 21, 2016

Great course for those trying to understand how ro analyse and process text data. It has the right amount of tools to help you understand the basics of information retrieval and search engines.

PM

Aug 29, 2016

A great overview of text retrieval methods. Good coverage of search engines. A longer course will cover search engine better (remember this is a 6 weeker)

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 106 Reviews for Text Retrieval and Search Engines

By Karl S

Jul 30, 2018

Although I was very enthusiastic at the beginning of this course, my enthusiasm was soon replaced by disappointment. There were several reasons for my disappointment: First, it is very difficult to understand Prof. ChengXiang Zhai. This is aggravated by the fact that the subtitles of his videos have not been edited and many of these subtitles do not really make any sense. Furthermore, some of the quizzes check on material that is only covered in the week after the quiz. Second, and more importantly, I was disappointed by the explanations offered by Prof. Zhai. Often, he just drops some technical terms without giving any explanation whatsoever. An example in point is his covering of the Kullback-Leibler divergence. He just dropped the name but did not offer any definition or explanation. Unfortunately, there were many more topics that were only covered in such a name dropping way. In the end, I bought myself the book by Stefan Büttcher and the book by Christopher Manning. These are excellent books that were also recommended by Prof. Zhai. For anybody interested in information retrieval I would actually recommend to go directly to these books instead of taking this course.

By Devender B

Feb 14, 2019

Literally this is a dead course. No one is active from course to assist students. You can't complete assignment 1 if you are not good with c++ and STL 'PERIOD'.

Giving up this course

By Bilguun B

Dec 11, 2018

One of the best courses I have taken on Coursera. Really liked how the quizzes were structured!

By Ashish G

Apr 04, 2019

Sir is Amazing. Reviews saying this course lacks practicals are true. Fact is, you will be able to implement them on your own, as sir explained concepts pretty well. This is by far one of the best courses on coursera, comparable to Mr. Ng's course on ML and DL

By Ramakrishnan C

Apr 13, 2019

Good one

By Lena H

Mar 11, 2019

help for building a whole picture about the field

By Amrit S D

Sep 30, 2018

very very good

By Luong A T

Nov 21, 2018

It is a great course, highly recommended for those who wants to work in the AI

By Codrin K

May 13, 2018

Excellent course. The only request I would have is to make honors programming assignment technology independent (I would have wanted to do it in R) and to add feedback on incorrect answers in quizzes so you can learn more easily from your istakes.

By Rajesh V

Jul 11, 2016

Love the way the professor introduces the concepts, doesn't overwhelm the student!

By Abhijit D

Apr 04, 2018

Prof Zhai explains very clearly each models with their pros & cons.

By Pankaj M

Aug 29, 2016

A great overview of text retrieval methods. Good coverage of search engines. A longer course will cover search engine better (remember this is a 6 weeker)

By Hardik J J

Jun 26, 2016

This course is complemented with a software and text (not mandatory) and good explanation with diagrams...

By Ben L

Dec 25, 2016

Itś a geat course, and the teacher shared his knowlege

By Vidya S

Jun 24, 2017

Very interesting!

By Isaiah M

Jan 08, 2018

A well put together course, very rigorous and in-depth...

By August F C

Jul 07, 2016

thanks

By bobblogger@gmail.com

Aug 16, 2016

Excellent Introduction to Text Retrieval and Search Engines technologies.

By Arefeh Y

Nov 07, 2016

Great!

By leila S

Aug 13, 2016

much help for deep understanding of TR

By Jared C

Jun 08, 2016

Great insights in this course... I learned so much!!

By Paulina A Q M

Oct 11, 2016

thanks

By RISHABH T

Dec 18, 2017

Good Course

By Goya Z

Aug 13, 2016

我太喜欢这种课程编排模式了:导论,视频,测试,考试

By Leandro O d N

Oct 03, 2017

Excellent course