Chevron Left
Back to The Social and Technical Context of Health Informatics

Learner Reviews & Feedback for The Social and Technical Context of Health Informatics by Johns Hopkins University

4.2
stars
442 ratings

About the Course

Improving health and healthcare institutions requires understanding of data and creation of interventions at the many levels at which health IT interact and affect the institution. These levels range from the external “world” in which the institution operates down to the specific technologies. Data scientists find that, when they aim at implementing their models in practice, it is the “socio” components that are both novel to them and mission critical to success. At the end of this course, students will be able to make a quick assessment of a health informatics problem—or a proposed solution—and to determine what is missing and what more needs to be learned. Who Is This Class For? Physicians, nurses, pharmacists, social workers, and other allied health professionals interested in expanding their understanding of digital health, big data, health information systems, and the unintended consequences of disruptive innovation in the healthcare system. The course is also aimed at those with technical, engineering, or analytics backgrounds who want to understand the nuances of those topics when it comes to healthcare....

Top reviews

DI

Jul 13, 2019

Very good information and the teaching material is easy to process and understand. I think the stack is a brilliant method to assess and to learn it is one of the important aspects of informatics.

MS

Jul 7, 2019

This course is great for beginners in the field of Health Informatics. I really enjoyed it and learnt some new fundamentals concepts and models. Thanks for the effort put in this course

Filter by:

26 - 50 of 134 Reviews for The Social and Technical Context of Health Informatics

By Eric A

Dec 21, 2020

New to this field yet inspired and motivated to learn and pursue a career in health informatics. Excellent presentation with clarity and knowlwdge -based information.

By Héctor E S P

Aug 26, 2020

As a biomedical engineer, I am very excited and grateful to John Hopkins University for the opportunity to acquire this knowledge of health information technology.

By Dennis L

Dec 10, 2023

Very Americanism centric, not applicable outside USA

By Lisa C

Nov 25, 2022

I very much appreciated the in-depth review of information in this course and found it applicable to what I hope to achieve in my next role.

I did not think the quizzes were fair- they were poorly worded and sometimes had very similar answer choices. In addition, a few of them in module 2 covered things in depth that were not covered in the course!

By Natschja R

May 15, 2020

Good lectures, but the quizzes and assignments were a bit off. As in, the quizzes would make clearly correct answers as correct, and the final assignment was not that helpful in synthesizing my learning.

By Yasmin D

Jul 10, 2020

I wish he did not use a video of himself, rather should have narrated the slides. It was too distracting

By Ravil B

Jul 1, 2020

It;s a very interesting course overall. More practical exercises could be more useful instead of tests.

By Kanitta

Apr 22, 2021

The cause is load with valuable information. The lecturer is knowledgeable; however, I found that he did not elaborate well. He mumbled pretty often, and the clip's sound was fussy. I hardly understand what he said sometimes. The slide presentation is well organized, yet only a little piece of information on it. If more study material available to download would be more helpful.

Regarding the final assignments, the provided projects aren't well structured. So it's pretty frustrating trying to study and understand that projects. Also as mentioned, only a little information provided I had to find other online sources to be able to finish the report.

**This cause is focused on US healthcare and the HIS they use. If you are not familiar with the health system, you might find it hard to follow. **

By Shannon R

Sep 6, 2023

Using the videos, the video transcripts as well as printing the slides and taking very thorough notes is not enough to learn the material. I had to look up some things independently, because the information presented was not always clear. The quizzes (especially Mod 2 & Mod 3 quizzes) were not written well. If a quiz has an 89% fail rate for the first time it is taken, that should not be seen as a failing of the students, but of how the quiz was designed.

By Daniel B

Nov 17, 2023

Adequate information; presentation is sub-par with only video instruction at times with poor audio quality. Would prefer more written materials - at least as a supplement - and strongly prefer more modules with interactive components.

By melissa c

Aug 20, 2020

material is not as detailed to answer the questions on the quiz, please just have a PowerPoint option without the lecture available.

By Alphious K

Mar 3, 2020

Useful concepts but Too US-focused

By Siobhan S M K

Jan 25, 2024

Lecturer is a bit confusing

By Kunal P

Jan 18, 2022

Unfortunately, I do not think this course is a good intro for the specialization. The material is overly esoteric, not particularly useful. The metaphor of the stack serves no real purpose in thinking of informatics, and cannot be the focal point of an entire course.

By Abdelrahman

Aug 26, 2019

slides are differ from tutor explanation, content is not useful

By Gary B

May 13, 2020

not a great course, not engaging enough

By José M A R

Jul 24, 2020

El curso requiere de un nivel avanzado de conocimientos y habilidades de redacción en ingles. Los cuestionarios y las tareas ponen a prueba lo conocimientos de una manera efectiva. Las habilidades obtenidas son en extremo valiosas en el contexto de la información en salud y sin lugar a dudas son herramientas esenciales en la formación de una carrera en Health IT.

By Vipin V S P

Nov 9, 2020

The Course was good and i am happy that i learned lot from this Social & Technical Context of Health Informatics. I came to know the difference between Health IT & Health Informatics, then Population Health Informatics & Public Health Informatics. Overall this is a good course and i hope, i will be able to complete other 4 courses under this specialization soon.

By Lim C Y

Sep 30, 2021

I took up this course to educate myself for a career change from clinical to informatics pharmacist. The Stack System is a good tool to use. The content of the course were relevant and well designed to path understanding from basic level. Highly recommended for all informaticsist regardless of your seniority in this field.

By TULSHIDAS M

Jan 15, 2020

This Course is the best glance at health informatics and its context at present level in health science. Unfortunately because of college exams and other activities in between i couldn't able to use the course and complete at its fullest,

Thanks for the opportunity ,Coursera , Best online course certification site .

By Njuguna K

Apr 12, 2020

Very detailed and to the point. I have gained a new appreciation for what I should do, application of the stack every day and having fun. The slides are worth their weight in gold and I will be revising them back and forth in the coming months and maybe years!

By Reena S

Sep 14, 2021

it is a well structured course,

I applaud the two professors here for taking the time to create an easy to understand course for something so complex.

I feel empowered and hopeful for the future of IT,electronic health records and improved healthcare systems.

By MATHY V

Dec 22, 2021

This is an incredible course. In addition to acknowledging the professor on his presentations, I'd like to emphasize the quizzes and assignments that made it a knowledge bundle. Thank you to everyone who helped make this possible.

By Kristen M

May 10, 2022

I though this was a well-rounded course that explained in detal the origination and importance of health informatics within the healthcare field, as well as the contribution to technological growth within the field.

By Roxane G

Nov 29, 2020

I am incredibly impressed with this course. I have enjoyed Harold P. Lehmann, MD, PH.D videos. I am grateful for the opportunity to take this course.