Chevron Left
Back to The Social and Technical Context of Health Informatics

Learner Reviews & Feedback for The Social and Technical Context of Health Informatics by Johns Hopkins University

4.2
stars
442 ratings

About the Course

Improving health and healthcare institutions requires understanding of data and creation of interventions at the many levels at which health IT interact and affect the institution. These levels range from the external “world” in which the institution operates down to the specific technologies. Data scientists find that, when they aim at implementing their models in practice, it is the “socio” components that are both novel to them and mission critical to success. At the end of this course, students will be able to make a quick assessment of a health informatics problem—or a proposed solution—and to determine what is missing and what more needs to be learned. Who Is This Class For? Physicians, nurses, pharmacists, social workers, and other allied health professionals interested in expanding their understanding of digital health, big data, health information systems, and the unintended consequences of disruptive innovation in the healthcare system. The course is also aimed at those with technical, engineering, or analytics backgrounds who want to understand the nuances of those topics when it comes to healthcare....

Top reviews

DI

Jul 13, 2019

Very good information and the teaching material is easy to process and understand. I think the stack is a brilliant method to assess and to learn it is one of the important aspects of informatics.

MS

Jul 7, 2019

This course is great for beginners in the field of Health Informatics. I really enjoyed it and learnt some new fundamentals concepts and models. Thanks for the effort put in this course

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 134 Reviews for The Social and Technical Context of Health Informatics

By Prince O A

Jul 11, 2020

Fantastic course

By ISMAILA O

Jan 22, 2020

very interesting

By Diana P S

May 16, 2020

Excelente curso

By �ADITI P

Jul 21, 2020

great course

By Navneet K

Dec 14, 2022

nice course

By Anthony E H

Jan 19, 2021

Amazing!

By Dr. T I B I

Nov 14, 2020

It good.

By Deleted A

May 16, 2024

ممتاز

By RANJEET S M

Jun 7, 2020

Great

By Silvana V A

Jan 14, 2020

bien!

By SARAVANA S S

Aug 30, 2020

Nice

By محمد ا

May 16, 2024

جيد

By Gen O

May 4, 2022

Thoroughly enjoyed paticipating in this course. Although I have worked in HIT for some time, this was my first "official" course dedicated to Health Informatics. Learning foundational concepts and using The Stack was appreciative. At the same time, one of the "aha" moments was the differentiation between the roles of a developer and that of the Informaticist relative to the "What an EMR can do" versus "What it Should do". That is always a struggle in the real world of EMR development and end users.

By Jennifer J

Mar 24, 2021

This was an excellent course that provided more context about the specific role that technology has played and continues to play in providing healthcare services. It was an extremely rigorous overview and I learned more about the intricacies of including technology in providing effective care. However, I think some of the grading thresholds were too prohibitive and caused unnecessary frustration. I would encourage the course authors to decrease the grading thresholds.

By KHAN M J

Jun 16, 2020

After taking this course i clearly understand the social and technical context of health informatics. In the begining it was a bit hard for me but as the time passed by i slowly understand the core idea of this corse and was able to analyse my project. and this corse really helps me to know more about the challanges in the field of health informatics.

By Alycia E

Jul 4, 2020

This course was very informative; having to complete the peer-graded assignment at the end of the last module helped tested all the concept you learn throughout this course. I would definitely recommend those who have a healthcare administration background to take this course, otherwise the vocabulary and theories may confuse you.

By Mohamed S O

Oct 30, 2021

The course gave me a good intro about the Health Informatics and further concerns nowadays. I think giving more weeks for the course content may give a space to discuss content in a slower pace in order to allow students to gain the precious content. I also believe we need a text book to follow along with the videos.

By Martin V P

Jun 8, 2020

Course does a good job of building on knowledge and foundation that is built from early on in the course; enjoyed all the data visualization provided and the lectures. Would like if there was more access to other materials as some of the topics covered weren't gone into detail.

By Jim A

Mar 8, 2021

Class is a pretty good introduction to the subject. The quizzes, though, often focus on minutia and the material could be better organized. I also wish there was more written material that I could review during and following the class.

By Michael P H

Jul 26, 2022

No doubt an excellent foundation for the remaining four cousrses. The content really puts health informatics in perscpective and provides a solid organizational context for applying informatics. It's not just about the data.

By Yahel A

Feb 13, 2021

Probably the best course on Coursera on the subject. One star deducted because I don't find the lectures particularly engaging, the focus is too much on the USA, and the quizzes and assignments could be improved.

By Pablo A

Jun 24, 2020

Es un gran curso! El concepto principal "The Stack" que se aprende es una herramienta fantástica para tener una mirada integral de un proyecto en el área de sistemas de información en salud.

By Leovir D C

Jan 1, 2023

Informative course, I learned about the definition of Health Informatics and related about it. Good course to learn especially about Health IT which also can help in your work.

By Gugulami B

Apr 22, 2020

As a healthcare worker, I did not pay much attention to health informations systems, this course has integrated and expanded my worldview

By dinubila_castro@hotmail.com

Nov 24, 2020

Me gustó el contenido del curso, pero considero que hay ciertos temas técnicos que faltarían desarrollarlos con mayor profundidad.