Chevron Left
Back to The Social and Technical Context of Health Informatics

Learner Reviews & Feedback for The Social and Technical Context of Health Informatics by Johns Hopkins University

4.2
stars
442 ratings

About the Course

Improving health and healthcare institutions requires understanding of data and creation of interventions at the many levels at which health IT interact and affect the institution. These levels range from the external “world” in which the institution operates down to the specific technologies. Data scientists find that, when they aim at implementing their models in practice, it is the “socio” components that are both novel to them and mission critical to success. At the end of this course, students will be able to make a quick assessment of a health informatics problem—or a proposed solution—and to determine what is missing and what more needs to be learned. Who Is This Class For? Physicians, nurses, pharmacists, social workers, and other allied health professionals interested in expanding their understanding of digital health, big data, health information systems, and the unintended consequences of disruptive innovation in the healthcare system. The course is also aimed at those with technical, engineering, or analytics backgrounds who want to understand the nuances of those topics when it comes to healthcare....

Top reviews

DI

Jul 13, 2019

Very good information and the teaching material is easy to process and understand. I think the stack is a brilliant method to assess and to learn it is one of the important aspects of informatics.

MS

Jul 7, 2019

This course is great for beginners in the field of Health Informatics. I really enjoyed it and learnt some new fundamentals concepts and models. Thanks for the effort put in this course

Filter by:

101 - 125 of 134 Reviews for The Social and Technical Context of Health Informatics

By Surbhi A

Apr 2, 2020

I liked this course. The peer-graded assignment was interesting and helped me evaluate myself on the understanding of this course.

By Perry B

Oct 6, 2020

The course was well insightful and thought challenging. I hope to complete the whole specialization. Thanks for the certificate.

By Geoffrey K

Oct 9, 2020

The final peer review project helped make sense of the preceding 4 weeks. That was the bit I enjoyed the most.

By Yenge D

May 9, 2022

Very interesting. Large amount of information on basic concepts of health informatics. Well explained.

By Jason T C H

May 30, 2020

Quiz answers may be too specific to what was said or written. Answers could be confusing.

By Ranidu N

Oct 2, 2020

Teaching is commendable although there is room for improvement

By channara r

Nov 9, 2020

many challenges to learn, great i can passed this course.

By Kate J

Apr 15, 2020

Good course. A practical framework to follow.

By Dr M S S

Sep 28, 2021

Excellent content. Great learning.

By Sujithsagar D .

May 23, 2024

Thank you for the good sessions

By Gabriel S

Dec 19, 2019

Hard finding peers

By Nsaidzeka R

Nov 9, 2022

very educative

By Sara E

Jan 11, 2021

USEFUL

By Chandan Y

Dec 11, 2019

More interactive quizzes and discussions would be helpful as just plain lectures and quizzes. Course 2 is a great example to follow that is more engaging.

By Amer d

Aug 19, 2022

Good introduction and practical advise from world of health informatics.

By Mihir T

Feb 21, 2023

Decent course until the peer reviewed exam at the end.

By Edward L

May 25, 2021

Would prefer less theory and more practical use cases

By Emmanuel B

Nov 10, 2020

Need to drop course

By Daniel E

Aug 26, 2021

A massive waste of time. Choose another course on the topic. The end assignment was vague and useless. The quizzes are difficult since the lecturer and the visual presentation do not provide much detail or explanation. I finished the project but did not get the certificate because there are no other participants to evaluate. Take that as a sign of the qulity of this course.

By Susan W

Aug 18, 2021

I would not recommend this Course. Some Slides were not explained yet were referred to in the quiz.

Instructor's train of thought/voice was unclear at times. Objectives not covered at the start but were on a slide at closing? No review of the answers to objectives at closing just statement of objectives.

By James S

May 28, 2021

Of all the courses I've taken via Coursera, this is by far the worst. The instructor was/is monotone with a flat affect and seem to think professional dress was for someone else. I had to continously pinch myself to stay awake. I could not recommend this course to anyone I cared about.

By Elssy Y

Mar 11, 2021

The Instructor's voice is unclear and monotone which makes it hard to understand the idea.

Week 1 is long and contains very few information.

By Krishna B

Mar 14, 2021

Author needs to improve on this communication skills. Some of the works during his lecture are not intelligible.

By Hal S

Mar 23, 2020

I found the information to be of low level learning quality.

By Xiaofeng W

Nov 29, 2023

very tough to follow