Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Thermodynamics: Transferring Energy from Here to There

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Thermodynamics: Transferring Energy from Here to There by University of Michigan

4.8
stars
2,250 ratings
480 reviews

About the Course

COURSE DESCRIPTION This course provides an introduction to the most powerful engineering principles you will ever learn - Thermodynamics: the science of transferring energy from one place or form to another place or form. We will introduce the tools you need to analyze energy systems from solar panels, to engines, to insulated coffee mugs. More specifically, we will cover the topics of mass and energy conservation principles; first law analysis of control mass and control volume systems; properties and behavior of pure substances; and applications to thermodynamic systems operating at steady state conditions. COURSE FORMAT The class consists of lecture videos, which average 8 to 12 minutes in length. The videos include integrated In-Video Quiz questions. There are also quizzes at the end of each section, which include problems to practice your analytical skills that are not part of video lectures. There are no exams. GRADING POLICY Each question is worth 1 point. A correct answer is worth +1 point. An incorrect answer is worth 0 points. There is no partial credit. You can attempt each quiz up to three times every 8 hours, with an unlimited number of total attempts. The number of questions that need to be answered correctly to pass are displayed at the beginning of each quiz. Following the Mastery Learning model, students must pass all 8 practice quizzes with a score of 80% or higher in order to complete the course. ESTIMATED WORKLOAD If you follow the suggested deadlines, lectures and quizzes will each take approximately ~3 hours per week each, for a total of ~6 hours per week. TARGET AUDIENCE Basic undergraduate engineering or science student. FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS - What are the prerequisites for taking this course? An introductory background (high school or first year college level) in chemistry, physics, and calculus will help you be successful in this class. -What will this class prepare me for in the academic world? Thermodynamics is a prerequisite for many follow-on courses, like heat transfer, internal combustion engines, propulsion, and gas dynamics, to name a few. -What will this class prepare me for in the real world? Energy is one of the top challenges we face as a global society. Energy demands are deeply tied to the other major challenges of clean water, health, food resources, and poverty. Understanding how energy systems work is key to understanding how to meet all these needs around the world. Because energy demands are only increasing, this course also provides the foundation for many rewarding professional careers....

Top reviews

MJ

Jul 24, 2019

Great course. But I was also hoping to get an in-depth analytical understanding of the second law of thermodynamics and the zeroth law as well. But I really enjoyed it and definitely learned a lot.

YI

May 08, 2020

Margaret mam has done excellent job. Nicely designed the contents and videos were really helpful to solve the questions in the assignments.Thanks to mam. and Please Add course on Heat Transfer.

Filter by:

401 - 425 of 474 Reviews for Introduction to Thermodynamics: Transferring Energy from Here to There

By Jakob M

Feb 24, 2017

Great course and a very friendly professor :) However there were some mistakes here and there, which are annoying because you do not expect a professor to make such mistakes. Furthermore there could be more up to date, data. Especially data on energy use etc should not be from the year 2004 if we are in 2017. Overall though a biiiiiig thank you!

By Svetoslav D

Apr 14, 2019

Overall good and informative course, for those who never get in touch of thermodynamics. I found it little hard since my field is computer science, but in this course I manage to get basic idea of thermodynamics. I can say that I see the world little different now and have explanation of some of the events round us.

By Alexey K

Jun 07, 2020

Decent course. Goes into enough detail to give a nice broad view of thermodynamics overall, but not too much detail that it becomes boring (although there are some cumbersome moments in the course). I would recommend this course if you want to learn more about this field and are aspiring to study/work in it.

By Steven G

Oct 02, 2016

This is a very interesting and rewarding course. It would help if the format was broken up a bit more. Perhaps with some video of power plants, turbines, etc. I enjoyed the "excursions" to see the jet engine and internal combustion engine. More like that would liven the material up a bit.

By Andrew L

Jan 16, 2017

Excellent overview of the First and Second Laws of Thermodynamics. I gained insight into how power is generated across the world and became more fluent in working with concepts such as work, enthalpy, entropy, total internal energy, specific heat, and others.

By Sumit M T

May 07, 2020

it was really good course i learned lots of stuff during this course . high qualified teacher tough us lost of key knowledge of this particular topic. i personally enjoy to have this course and i took lots of positive from this course

By JOHN R

Jan 02, 2017

A useful course for anyone in chemical engineering. I enjoyed the material. Its well structured. Would be nice if Professor Wooldridge gave more example problems.

By sohaib

Nov 02, 2016

Course is great and very useful for thorough understanding of Thermodynamics. But Exergy and Second law efficiency was not discussed. It should also be included

By Ravikumar T

May 23, 2020

I strongly recommend this course who wanted to learn basics of thermodynamics. Good understandings of subject and author was explained the concept very well.

By ATHARVA P

Aug 20, 2020

Some terms like entropy and enthalpy could have been explained in detail . Use of the real life problem was one of the best aspect of this course. Loved it.

By N C V K

Aug 31, 2020

I really enjoyed learning thermodynamics in online classes and way comfortable to understand the concepts.. thanks a lot

By Oscar C

Mar 13, 2017

Very good for an introductory course, clear explanations and exercises. looking forward for more courses in medium level

By Rodrigo L R

Jan 06, 2019

Nice, but should have explored more the 1st and 2nd laws, and a bit more of pictures and videos of real components.

By Sahil K

Aug 15, 2020

After having thermodynamics course two times in academics, this one was very interesting to take and complete.

By Mahmoud A

Jul 26, 2019

very good introductory course but it's quite light, a denser curriculum would have made it an easy 5-star

By Sojjwala P

Jun 09, 2020

the assignments are simply superb which enhanced my subject grip. thankyou coursera! will be doing more

By HARSHAL A

Sep 30, 2020

very knowledgeable course and content. but the presentation could be batter through animation.

By SRINIVAS G

May 22, 2020

This one is gives very basic information about thermodynamics.the class was also interesting

By rajasankar

Jun 30, 2020

It was very much useful to know fundamentals of Thermodynamics and its applications

By ALLURI J P

Jul 18, 2020

really this course is very useful for every student and it is easy to learn

By M. T S

May 23, 2020

This course was informative and useful for Mechanical engineering students.

By Vikas K

Jul 03, 2018

That was a nice course to understand the basic concepts of thermodynamics.

By Cristian J D Á

Sep 01, 2020

The course allowed me to improve concepts on classical thermodynamics

By sunil m

May 23, 2020

good basic knowledge course ,you can make your base strong with it.

By Sameer M S

May 31, 2020

It was amazing course. I learned a lot of things from this course.