Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Thermodynamics: Transferring Energy from Here to There

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Thermodynamics: Transferring Energy from Here to There by University of Michigan

4.8
stars
939 ratings
183 reviews

About the Course

COURSE DESCRIPTION This course provides an introduction to the most powerful engineering principles you will ever learn - Thermodynamics: the science of transferring energy from one place or form to another place or form. We will introduce the tools you need to analyze energy systems from solar panels, to engines, to insulated coffee mugs. More specifically, we will cover the topics of mass and energy conservation principles; first law analysis of control mass and control volume systems; properties and behavior of pure substances; and applications to thermodynamic systems operating at steady state conditions. COURSE FORMAT The class consists of lecture videos, which average 8 to 12 minutes in length. The videos include integrated In-Video Quiz questions. There are also quizzes at the end of each section, which include problems to practice your analytical skills that are not part of video lectures. There are no exams. GRADING POLICY Each question is worth 1 point. A correct answer is worth +1 point. An incorrect answer is worth 0 points. There is no partial credit. You can attempt each quiz up to three times every 8 hours, with an unlimited number of total attempts. The number of questions that need to be answered correctly to pass are displayed at the beginning of each quiz. Following the Mastery Learning model, students must pass all 8 practice quizzes with a score of 80% or higher in order to complete the course. ESTIMATED WORKLOAD If you follow the suggested deadlines, lectures and quizzes will each take approximately ~3 hours per week each, for a total of ~6 hours per week. TARGET AUDIENCE Basic undergraduate engineering or science student. FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS - What are the prerequisites for taking this course? An introductory background (high school or first year college level) in chemistry, physics, and calculus will help you be successful in this class. -What will this class prepare me for in the academic world? Thermodynamics is a prerequisite for many follow-on courses, like heat transfer, internal combustion engines, propulsion, and gas dynamics, to name a few. -What will this class prepare me for in the real world? Energy is one of the top challenges we face as a global society. Energy demands are deeply tied to the other major challenges of clean water, health, food resources, and poverty. Understanding how energy systems work is key to understanding how to meet all these needs around the world. Because energy demands are only increasing, this course also provides the foundation for many rewarding professional careers....

Top reviews

MJ

Jul 24, 2019

Great course. But I was also hoping to get an in-depth analytical understanding of the second law of thermodynamics and the zeroth law as well. But I really enjoyed it and definitely learned a lot.

TO

Apr 11, 2018

Great practical information to thermodynamical processes and machines with many calculated examples. A bit light on the fundamental definitions, like entropy, but very good for hands-on work.

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 179 Reviews for Introduction to Thermodynamics: Transferring Energy from Here to There

By S Y

Dec 22, 2017

This course really gave a good idea of the basic thermodynamics and tutor is really took good measure in brining the subject to the viewer.

By Christos M

Oct 16, 2016

I very well structured and interesting course, with simple and easy understandable learning methods for the principles of Thermodynamics!

By J. A J

Oct 15, 2019

Helped in understanding the basics of thermodynamics,gives a clear picture about the fundamentals .

teaching style is very impressive.

By SACHIN K K

Nov 27, 2019

One of the best course to learn thermodynamics. but there are so much more in thermodynamics which has to be covered for beginners.

By Sathvik V

Jan 18, 2018

Very interesting course. I understood much about thermodynamics. Thanks to Professor Margaret Wooldridge for this amazing course.

By Mansoor A

Jul 18, 2017

Though I have not yet competed all the lectures, but I am impressed with the level of effort put in this course. Thank you

By RITU B

Jan 31, 2019

Thank you for the training course. this course is very interested and my favorite topic, also useful for my current job.

By Miguel M

Apr 14, 2017

Great course of thermodynamic. I learn a lot about energy generation, mechanical equipments and fluids properties

By Ashwin A

Aug 16, 2016

The lectures are crisp and clear. The fundamental concepts are well explained with adequate supporting examples.

By Ruizhe M

Aug 08, 2016

Great course, very detailed and clear. Wish it would cover a little more material like entropy calculation etc.

By Siddharth S V

Mar 26, 2020

This course was absolutely fantastic to learn and question were interesting solve and videos as well.Thank you

By ALEEM A R T

Sep 30, 2018

Loved it very much.. its a wonderful course for the students studying mechanical engineering.. thank you.. :)

By Aditya S

Jun 08, 2016

The best of all I have seen here, If you looking for deep insight of thermodynamics this is the best place.

By Jair M

Feb 16, 2020

A phenomenal course that will help guide me to further research in fields such as mechanical engineering.

By ABHIRAM G

Feb 22, 2020

Thank you for helping me to improve my knowledge in modes of transferring energy from different sources

\

By Juan G A B

Jul 09, 2019

Great course to wake up your school knowledge about Thermodynamic that you may need in your daily work !

By Dhruvil P

Jul 04, 2017

This course is really helpful to understand the concept and basic of thermodynamics and energy.

Thank you

By Gowtham S

May 07, 2017

I spend My time to this wonderful Course.Its look easy and amazing. It is very useful for New learners..

By Abhishek K

Apr 15, 2019

It is a very good experience to learn from this course and it will be very helpful for my future also.

By Ashutosh J

Aug 30, 2016

Very nice course! I would request the teacher to have follow-up courses as well on advanced topics.

By Shrinivasa V P

Oct 03, 2019

Excellent course , very dynamic and nicely structured and the pop up questions really helped!

By Siddarth K A

Oct 11, 2016

Really helpful on refurbishing my Thermodynamic basics,

Thanks a lot Mrs. Margaret Wooldridge

By Dr. R K

Mar 27, 2020

Such a useful course to develope the problem solving skill in the domain of thermodynamics.

By Chelsea R S Z

Jun 10, 2019

Muy bueno para profundizar conocimientos y aprender más sobre termodinámica, lo recomiendo!

By Paula

Apr 26, 2018

I really enjoyed this course. The teacher is awesome. I strongly recommend this course!