Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Thermodynamics: Transferring Energy from Here to There

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Thermodynamics: Transferring Energy from Here to There by University of Michigan

4.8
stars
2,243 ratings
479 reviews

About the Course

COURSE DESCRIPTION This course provides an introduction to the most powerful engineering principles you will ever learn - Thermodynamics: the science of transferring energy from one place or form to another place or form. We will introduce the tools you need to analyze energy systems from solar panels, to engines, to insulated coffee mugs. More specifically, we will cover the topics of mass and energy conservation principles; first law analysis of control mass and control volume systems; properties and behavior of pure substances; and applications to thermodynamic systems operating at steady state conditions. COURSE FORMAT The class consists of lecture videos, which average 8 to 12 minutes in length. The videos include integrated In-Video Quiz questions. There are also quizzes at the end of each section, which include problems to practice your analytical skills that are not part of video lectures. There are no exams. GRADING POLICY Each question is worth 1 point. A correct answer is worth +1 point. An incorrect answer is worth 0 points. There is no partial credit. You can attempt each quiz up to three times every 8 hours, with an unlimited number of total attempts. The number of questions that need to be answered correctly to pass are displayed at the beginning of each quiz. Following the Mastery Learning model, students must pass all 8 practice quizzes with a score of 80% or higher in order to complete the course. ESTIMATED WORKLOAD If you follow the suggested deadlines, lectures and quizzes will each take approximately ~3 hours per week each, for a total of ~6 hours per week. TARGET AUDIENCE Basic undergraduate engineering or science student. FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS - What are the prerequisites for taking this course? An introductory background (high school or first year college level) in chemistry, physics, and calculus will help you be successful in this class. -What will this class prepare me for in the academic world? Thermodynamics is a prerequisite for many follow-on courses, like heat transfer, internal combustion engines, propulsion, and gas dynamics, to name a few. -What will this class prepare me for in the real world? Energy is one of the top challenges we face as a global society. Energy demands are deeply tied to the other major challenges of clean water, health, food resources, and poverty. Understanding how energy systems work is key to understanding how to meet all these needs around the world. Because energy demands are only increasing, this course also provides the foundation for many rewarding professional careers....

Top reviews

MJ

Jul 24, 2019

Great course. But I was also hoping to get an in-depth analytical understanding of the second law of thermodynamics and the zeroth law as well. But I really enjoyed it and definitely learned a lot.

YI

May 08, 2020

Margaret mam has done excellent job. Nicely designed the contents and videos were really helpful to solve the questions in the assignments.Thanks to mam. and Please Add course on Heat Transfer.

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 471 Reviews for Introduction to Thermodynamics: Transferring Energy from Here to There

By Benjamin G

Aug 29, 2017

I really enjoyed this course. The lecture contents are clear with a lot of examples. It gives an overview and different possibilites from the first and second principles of thermodynamics.

By Phuc N

Aug 28, 2020

This course is very theory-heavy, but that is what makes it so entertaining and engrossing. Professor Wooldridge was able to connect the course material to real-world applications.

By MUJUMALE A

Apr 04, 2020

Best teacher i have had till now,clear explanation of concepts and understanding and examples based on real life problems and analysis.Best course the start thermodynamics with

By Qaiser A

May 05, 2020

The course was best though, the content was incredible. I learned alot of new things from this course. And specially the instructor was best. Hope more courses from Margarate.

By Joaquim L

Jul 06, 2017

The course was a great refresher for my upcoming FE exam. I have been out of school for almost 10 years so I really needed this course. Overall the teacher was easy to under

By Rishabh s

Mar 30, 2020

By end of this course i've learnt more about the energy transfer in different medium.This course helped me to clear my concept about what is the role of energy in jet engine.

By Byungkeun S

Jan 18, 2017

I wanted to learn cycle part in Thermodynamics. The professor gave me a new insight in terms of renewable energy, consumption of energy, etc.

Thanks. I appreciate your class.

By Gustavo G P

Sep 02, 2018

Excellent course for anyone needing an introduction to the main concepts in thermodynamics. Crystal clear explanations from an excellent professor. Highly recommend!

By Sardar H P

Jun 01, 2020

Excellent course with all the topics included starting from very basics to complex combine cycle. A must take program for people related to Mechanical Engineering.

By Saqib A

Mar 29, 2017

Fantastic course. Want to revise and refine your basic thermodynamics concepts specially related to Mechanical engineering? Then go for it, This course is for you.

By N D P

Jun 22, 2020

The course was very informative and challenging . The instructor provided good material. I would recommend this course to engineering students and enthusiasts.

By Kuldeep S

Jul 12, 2020

I got a very good experience by doing this course also I got very good teacher that cleared my all doubts.

My all basics got cleared by undergoing this course.

By MS. S M

May 02, 2020

Its a nice and ellaborate course with basics made very clear.Assignments are also very good.Only drawback was all the laws of thermodynamics were not covered.

By VEENA B R

Aug 20, 2020

this course material and course instructor were very good. i learnt many aspects here than other online course. would like to join advanced TD course as well

By Brandon K W

Nov 05, 2019

Great professor who has an obvious love for the course material. I'd highly recommend this course for those looking for a solid foundation in thermodynamics.

By Sanjai M

Apr 10, 2019

This course was very useful, The explanations were clear and the assessments helped us check our knowledge. This helped me very much in my academics as well.

By Samuel M

Sep 23, 2020

If you didn't take a proper thermodynamics course while you were in college or just interested in getting your feet wet in engineering, its a good option.

By 승학 이

Aug 13, 2017

Good contents, good professor and good divided chapters. This 3G system let me study hard enthusiastically. Thx to provide great lecture Univ.Michigan!

By Vijay S

Oct 27, 2016

A very useful course for those who wants to learn about Thermodynamics. The Professor taught every topics in detail. I learnt a lot from this course.

By NISHANTH M 1

Sep 23, 2020

its very good platform to learn about the things that we are undergone and still some doubts about that .Here is the place to clarify all your doubts

By RAJESH P G

May 09, 2020

Thank you Prof. Margaret for giving us a clear insight on the subject matter. We are eager to learn other specialization courses from you in future.

By SRI B T M

Feb 07, 2020

Good and valuable course that all should know basically and this helps us to improve our knowledge and make us to do research i the field of thermal.

By SANCHITA T

Feb 14, 2019

Dear Team, Thanks for the online training course.

This course is very useful for my current role.

Thermodynamics is a very Interesting topic for me.

By MANOJ K S

May 16, 2020

I recommend this course for all undergraduates pursuing mechanical engineering. Theoretical guide with application in real-world all in a package.

By Paras K

May 25, 2019

Particularly liked the Problem solving assignments, the lab tour at the end, and of course the excellent teaching skills of Professor Wooldridge.