Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Thermodynamics: Transferring Energy from Here to There

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Thermodynamics: Transferring Energy from Here to There by University of Michigan

4.7
813 ratings
161 reviews

About the Course

COURSE DESCRIPTION This course provides an introduction to the most powerful engineering principles you will ever learn - Thermodynamics: the science of transferring energy from one place or form to another place or form. We will introduce the tools you need to analyze energy systems from solar panels, to engines, to insulated coffee mugs. More specifically, we will cover the topics of mass and energy conservation principles; first law analysis of control mass and control volume systems; properties and behavior of pure substances; and applications to thermodynamic systems operating at steady state conditions. COURSE FORMAT The class consists of lecture videos, which average 8 to 12 minutes in length. The videos include integrated In-Video Quiz questions. There are also quizzes at the end of each section, which include problems to practice your analytical skills that are not part of video lectures. There are no exams. GRADING POLICY Each question is worth 1 point. A correct answer is worth +1 point. An incorrect answer is worth 0 points. There is no partial credit. You can attempt each quiz up to three times every 8 hours, with an unlimited number of total attempts. The number of questions that need to be answered correctly to pass are displayed at the beginning of each quiz. Following the Mastery Learning model, students must pass all 8 practice quizzes with a score of 80% or higher in order to complete the course. ESTIMATED WORKLOAD If you follow the suggested deadlines, lectures and quizzes will each take approximately ~3 hours per week each, for a total of ~6 hours per week. TARGET AUDIENCE Basic undergraduate engineering or science student. FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS - What are the prerequisites for taking this course? An introductory background (high school or first year college level) in chemistry, physics, and calculus will help you be successful in this class. -What will this class prepare me for in the academic world? Thermodynamics is a prerequisite for many follow-on courses, like heat transfer, internal combustion engines, propulsion, and gas dynamics, to name a few. -What will this class prepare me for in the real world? Energy is one of the top challenges we face as a global society. Energy demands are deeply tied to the other major challenges of clean water, health, food resources, and poverty. Understanding how energy systems work is key to understanding how to meet all these needs around the world. Because energy demands are only increasing, this course also provides the foundation for many rewarding professional careers....

Top reviews

MJ

Jul 24, 2019

Great course. But I was also hoping to get an in-depth analytical understanding of the second law of thermodynamics and the zeroth law as well. But I really enjoyed it and definitely learned a lot.

TO

Apr 11, 2018

Great practical information to thermodynamical processes and machines with many calculated examples. A bit light on the fundamental definitions, like entropy, but very good for hands-on work.

Filter by:

101 - 125 of 157 Reviews for Introduction to Thermodynamics: Transferring Energy from Here to There

By Benjamin G

Aug 29, 2017

I really enjoyed this course. The lecture contents are clear with a lot of examples. It gives an overview and different possibilites from the first and second principles of thermodynamics.

By MARCUS V M R

Jan 29, 2017

Simply Perfect it!! I have no comments to it!

By kotakondamaheshkumar

Jan 25, 2017

I started learning courses from online this is so use full to me.I also recommended my friends to learn online.THANKS FOR PROVIDING THIS COURSE.

By GOBINATH

Mar 11, 2017

It is very useful

By Abhishek K T

May 25, 2017

Excellent course.

By moubachir y

Feb 10, 2017

thank you very much

By Ruizhe M

Aug 08, 2016

Great course, very detailed and clear. Wish it would cover a little more material like entropy calculation etc.

By Giannis N

Jun 08, 2017

Excellent Course!!!

By Mykola K

Jun 20, 2017

Very good introductory course.

What i liked:

+ detailed and gradually explained basic concepts and laws;

+ lots of practical tasks in quizes;

+ Interesting info about world energy sources (the last week)

+ well defined amount of work per week for successful learning.

What i would like to be better:

- Would like to see more examples of real machines and processes (more pictures, videos, links to real world examples ), more interesting facts in field of thermodynamics and energy.

By sharun m

Aug 17, 2018

very informative

By Abhay D B

Aug 17, 2018

It was fabulous. Thanks for serving this

By Sundhar N

Sep 02, 2018

fantastic.

By Gustavo G P

Sep 02, 2018

Excellent course for anyone needing an introduction to the main concepts in thermodynamics. Crystal clear explanations from an excellent professor. Highly recommend!

By vishwajeet p s

Aug 18, 2018

easy and quick learning content on lectures

By Shatha

Oct 09, 2018

very informative course!

By Geoffrey A N

Nov 06, 2018

What a great course, instructor, and learning experience. The math was probably more challenging for me than others, but I still learned a lot and enjoyed the course. I wish they had more handouts/PDF notes and videos of the machines. All in all, wonderful class-

By sabir h

Nov 15, 2018

Excellent experience to learn this course.

Thanks to subject teacher.

By ALEEM A R T

Sep 30, 2018

Loved it very much.. its a wonderful course for the students studying mechanical engineering.. thank you.. :)

By Farid J

Sep 20, 2018

just perfect

By Sachin P K

Apr 20, 2019

I have completed the course, "Introduction to thermodynamic, transferring energy from here to there"Successfully under your guidance of Dr.Margaret Wooldrige But unfortunately havent recieved any completion certificate it will be great if I recieve the same. Hope for a positive response. Hence, awaited. Regards,Sachin komble

By Paras K

May 25, 2019

Particularly liked the Problem solving assignments, the lab tour at the end, and of course the excellent teaching skills of Professor Wooldridge.

By Abhilash T

Apr 15, 2019

This is the best and precise content.

By Chelsea R S Z

Jun 10, 2019

Muy bueno para profundizar conocimientos y aprender más sobre termodinámica, lo recomiendo!

By Vaibhav D A

Jul 22, 2019

One of the Best Teachers ever I studied under!! I sincerely wish that we can get more courses by the same teacher on Coursera. I would be more than happy to pursue those courses.

By Emmitt D H

Jul 26, 2019

Extremely educational as well as flexible with its demands for time. I highly recommend this complicated course to be taken through this vessel.