Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Thermodynamics: Transferring Energy from Here to There

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Thermodynamics: Transferring Energy from Here to There by University of Michigan

4.8
stars
2,767 ratings
579 reviews

About the Course

COURSE DESCRIPTION This course provides an introduction to the most powerful engineering principles you will ever learn - Thermodynamics: the science of transferring energy from one place or form to another place or form. We will introduce the tools you need to analyze energy systems from solar panels, to engines, to insulated coffee mugs. More specifically, we will cover the topics of mass and energy conservation principles; first law analysis of control mass and control volume systems; properties and behavior of pure substances; and applications to thermodynamic systems operating at steady state conditions. COURSE FORMAT The class consists of lecture videos, which average 8 to 12 minutes in length. The videos include integrated In-Video Quiz questions. There are also quizzes at the end of each section, which include problems to practice your analytical skills that are not part of video lectures. There are no exams. GRADING POLICY Each question is worth 1 point. A correct answer is worth +1 point. An incorrect answer is worth 0 points. There is no partial credit. You can attempt each quiz up to three times every 8 hours, with an unlimited number of total attempts. The number of questions that need to be answered correctly to pass are displayed at the beginning of each quiz. Following the Mastery Learning model, students must pass all 8 practice quizzes with a score of 80% or higher in order to complete the course. ESTIMATED WORKLOAD If you follow the suggested deadlines, lectures and quizzes will each take approximately ~3 hours per week each, for a total of ~6 hours per week. TARGET AUDIENCE Basic undergraduate engineering or science student. FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS - What are the prerequisites for taking this course? An introductory background (high school or first year college level) in chemistry, physics, and calculus will help you be successful in this class. -What will this class prepare me for in the academic world? Thermodynamics is a prerequisite for many follow-on courses, like heat transfer, internal combustion engines, propulsion, and gas dynamics, to name a few. -What will this class prepare me for in the real world? Energy is one of the top challenges we face as a global society. Energy demands are deeply tied to the other major challenges of clean water, health, food resources, and poverty. Understanding how energy systems work is key to understanding how to meet all these needs around the world. Because energy demands are only increasing, this course also provides the foundation for many rewarding professional careers....

Top reviews

MJ
Jul 23, 2019

Great course. But I was also hoping to get an in-depth analytical understanding of the second law of thermodynamics and the zeroth law as well. But I really enjoyed it and definitely learned a lot.

AM
Feb 24, 2021

Courses from the University of Michigan are always awesome. Hats off to Margaret Wooldridge, mam. Thank you so much, Coursera and the University of Michigan for making this outstanding experience.

Filter by:

101 - 125 of 569 Reviews for Introduction to Thermodynamics: Transferring Energy from Here to There

By Ankit S

May 10, 2020

This course had alot of unnecessary discussion about fuel consumption which I think is not needed here.

This wanted almost 80% of week 8.

By J. A J

Oct 15, 2019

Helped in understanding the basics of thermodynamics,gives a clear picture about the fundamentals .

teaching style is very impressive.

By CJ

Aug 18, 2020

Nice course. Clear concepts to learn the fundamental concepts of thermodynamics. Should go in-depth with steam tables for analysis.

By SACHIN K K

Nov 27, 2019

One of the best course to learn thermodynamics. but there are so much more in thermodynamics which has to be covered for beginners.

By R R R

May 6, 2020

All the lectures delivered by the faculty are nice, it would be better to provide more practical examples related to thermal field

By Sathvik V

Jan 18, 2018

Very interesting course. I understood much about thermodynamics. Thanks to Professor Margaret Wooldridge for this amazing course.

By RAJATH R M

Jan 17, 2021

In a crystal clear way, all the concepts were explained. I enjoyed and learned a lot through the eight weeks of this course.

By Chandrakant G

May 17, 2020

The course was good and helpful, I also like to appreciate Dr. Margaret for her work and and willing to attend more course.

By Deleted A

Aug 19, 2020

Very good for starters that want to learn the basic of thermodynamics especially for mechanical engineering undergraduate.

By Sayli G

Jul 23, 2020

Loved it. Didn't talk much about entropy but still, amazing because i am a beginner here. Really strengthened my concepts.

By Mansoor A

Jul 18, 2017

Though I have not yet competed all the lectures, but I am impressed with the level of effort put in this course. Thank you

By RITU B

Jan 31, 2019

Thank you for the training course. this course is very interested and my favorite topic, also useful for my current job.

By Dr. P B G

Sep 4, 2020

Very good in terms of the overall structure of the course, instructor, and the kind of knowledge she delivered. Super.

By Aakash K

May 22, 2020

Very satisfying.Each and every topic whether it be theoretical or numerical was very well explained by the instructor

By nidal a

Oct 9, 2020

I really enjoy studying this course I benefited a lot from itة

thank you Ms. Margaret Wooldridge for this course

By Miguel M

Apr 14, 2017

Great course of thermodynamic. I learn a lot about energy generation, mechanical equipments and fluids properties

By Ashwin A

Aug 16, 2016

The lectures are crisp and clear. The fundamental concepts are well explained with adequate supporting examples.

By Aeron C

Oct 29, 2020

this is very helpful to us student who needs to learn thermodynamics and to those who dont understand.

thank you

By Ruizhe M

Aug 7, 2016

Great course, very detailed and clear. Wish it would cover a little more material like entropy calculation etc.

By Siddharth S V

Mar 26, 2020

This course was absolutely fantastic to learn and question were interesting solve and videos as well.Thank you

By ALEEM A R T

Sep 30, 2018

Loved it very much.. its a wonderful course for the students studying mechanical engineering.. thank you.. :)

By Syed K

Sep 29, 2020

a real great course. learned a lot from it. the instructor Dr. Margaret is great. Her methodology is awesome

By Thomas M

Oct 5, 2020

Great course! It was really interesting and gave me a lot of tools to analyse and think things differently.

By Dhrumil P

Aug 21, 2020

Prof. Margaret Wooldridge is an amazing teacher. she is always enthusiastic in lectures. great work by her.

By PHADTARE H A

May 16, 2020

Excellent..... really to rebrush and review thermodynamics this course was awesome and nicest.

Thanks Mam!!!