Chevron Left
Back to Tricky American English Pronunciation

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Tricky American English Pronunciation by University of California, Irvine

4.7
stars
2,126 ratings
728 reviews

About the Course

In this course, you’ll practice the sounds of American English that might sometimes be confusing. You'll practice both consonant and vowel sounds. You’ll also learn about the things that give English its special “music,” such as how to stress the right syllable in a word, how to make your voice go up and down in a natural-sounding melody, and how to naturally connect sounds and words. Learning these things will help you speak more clearly and make sure that others can understand what you're saying. This course is useful for English language learners who want to improve pronunciation of American English for better communication. Note that access to all of the lectures and handouts are free to anyone, but the graded assignments and quizzes are only available in the paid version of the course. You will need to submit recordings of your own pronunciation for graded assignments....

Top reviews

FJ
Aug 16, 2020

This is an amazing course! Finallly I get it the sounds in english and I just learn some tricks for pronunciation. I'm very happy for can understand more english. I strongly recommennd this course!

FF
Apr 26, 2020

the tutors were explained all subject clearly to us, non boring and easily understood. thankyou for helping us, i'm gonna practice more so i could improve my english pronounciation in the future.

Filter by:

626 - 650 of 725 Reviews for Tricky American English Pronunciation

By suzie s n

Aug 28, 2020

-

By Kyrie

Aug 14, 2020

l

By Idris T

Apr 28, 2020

+

By Aivars M

Apr 1, 2017

!

By Martina V

May 5, 2020

Cool materials and nice presentation, but the course covers really just the basics. I was secretly hoping for some more advanced stuff towards the end of Week 4. Also, the exercises were way too easy. I would recommend this course to an intermediate English speaker who has trouble understanding American English (it was probably meant to be that way). Honestly, it doesn't have much to offer to an advanced English speaker, who is hoping to fine-tune his or her American pronunciation.

By Janine B

Jun 28, 2020

I really enjoyed this course. It was fun and brought a lot of interesting new information on the table and made me aware of my weaknesses that I still have even though I speak English nearly fluently. But there are still bits and bobs that I can tweak around to become much better in pronounciation. Very helpful, very useful and I happily recommend the course to anyone who wants to improve their already good English skills to the next level.

By Jose J D T A

May 2, 2020

It is a really great course, even if you consider yourself fluent in English it is pretty good for reinforcing some pronunciation rules. Although, i would have loved to get some feedback by an instructor and not only my peers (which was great tho). Maybe the instructors would have given conciser advices over the assignments. Overall, I think this course is a YES for every English student, regardless the expertise.

By Clarice T

May 10, 2021

Even after some years of studying English, I learned important things I didn't even know about before, such as how to pronounce the -ed and -s. I wish there was more profound material on how to pronounce vowels for example, since there are sounds that don't exist in my language and it's really hard to say them even with the exercises of repetition. Good course overall.

By Tomoya O

Sep 18, 2020

It is hard to master for non-native speaker to speak English. I searched the pronunciation course which any community college provide, but I couldn't. It is good opportunity for me to learn American English pronunciation correctly. And, I found out the practice was important to pass assignment in this course.

By SANCHEZ A I J

Jun 29, 2020

Me ha parecido un excelente curso para aquellas personas que quieran perfeccionar su acento o para quienes apenas están aprendiendo Ingles, lo recomiendo me ha servido de mucho, he quedado muy satisfecho y solamente me falta practicar mucho mas para poder pronunciarlo mas fluidamente muchas gracias

By Gertie O C R

May 10, 2020

This course helped me to be aware to my weaknesses and motivated me to continue practicing and improving my pronunciation, especially those tricky sounds.

I would like you to include more activities like the " shadowing a conversation" and downloadable mp3 files. Thank you.

By diego r

Jun 17, 2020

It was a really good course, I think the only way to make it better is to receive a professional feedback from an expert rather than from other students, but maybe that is not possible. The information was really valuable and i learn a lot, all i need is to practice more

By ISAAC C H

Mar 8, 2021

El curso es muy bueno, brinda herramientas y conocimientos importantes a la hora de comenzar un ejercicio, contiene videos que ejemplifican las actividades, ayuda a entender conceptos y reglas basicas importantes para el entendimiento del idioma.

By Kartini R

May 7, 2020

I liked to follow the course in UCI since I could choose whatever course that is suitable for me regarding time. But since the pandemic Covd-19, I have much time to follow some online courses that I really like.

Thank you UCI.

By Youngil K

Apr 24, 2020

As a second language, there are so many things confusing for pronunciation and hard to understand in English. this course helped me a lot to understand difference in English and mother language. thanks for valuable class.

By Xianwei Z

Apr 5, 2020

The course is almost perfect. it provides useful tips and leads for me to improve my pronunciation.

If there are more tips on shadowing videos like where to reduced where to stress it would be perfect.

By Anita N

Apr 8, 2020

good for knowing how to speak and pronunciation right, but you should practice it yourself and i think it would be better if you have someone who can really guide you well in real situation

By Gabriela S L

Nov 28, 2020

The videos and material were very good and I learned from them, but i would have liked to be rated by teachers and not by other students because how do I know the things I need to improve?

By Nupur A S

Jul 25, 2020

Very interactive and awesome course. I think they have add more shadowing assignments so that learners can practice it. Again thank you so much for this free and amazing course.

By Tomoaki M

May 18, 2020

Thank you for the lessons. They say I need more emotion in speaking, which I couldn't agree more lol. Anyway, it was kind of important to know how I actually sounded, I think.

By michellezheng

Sep 22, 2019

It is not that difficult for me ,and the content is good for non English speakers.I hope that teachers can join us for interaction some day in the future.

By Rochester

Apr 10, 2018

The prnunciation tricks are very useful,but the lessons are far from engouh to study.So I reconmand that adding more prnunciation trick lessons.Thanks!

By Seda B

May 9, 2020

I am a doctor and I am working pandemic hospital. So we are in bad mood this days. This course help me to be better.

Thank you so much for everything.

By Ana M T C

Jul 22, 2020

It was useful as a revision of the main American sounds, it is a good way to improve your pronunciation without too many technical language

By MONIQUE E P H

Jul 14, 2020

I liked the course because I could learned skills and pronunciation tips and tricky words in a simple way and It was very entertaining.