Chevron Left
Back to Understanding Financial Markets

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Understanding Financial Markets by University of Geneva

4.7
2,577 ratings
504 reviews

About the Course

In this course, you will learn what the main financial markets and their characteristics are as well as how they are linked to the economy. Our very diversified team of experts will start by teaching you how the price of stocks and bonds are computed and why they move while you will become increasingly aware of the notion of risk and why it matters when measuring an investment's performance. The focus will then move to less popular markets such as gold, emerging markets, real estate, hedge funds and private markets. These will be analyzed with an emphasis on their particular risks and return opportunities as well as how they can help in building efficient portfolios. Finally, the policies of central banks and their impact on financial markets will be presented to you along with the link between the economy and the price of financial assets. All along these different steps, experts from UBS, our corporate partner, will show you how the concepts you just acquired are effectively applied in a leading global bank. This focus on practicality means you will not only understand what is going on in global financial markets but also start to figure out how you can use them to achieve financial goals, be it a client's or your own. Course Director and main teaching contributor: Dr. Michel Girardin, Lecturer in Macro-Finance, University of Geneva...

Top reviews

MC

Jul 17, 2017

Mr. Michel is really an amazing teacher! His lectures are vivic and greatly attracts my attention. I hope to take more of his classes because I've Learned more than I nomally can do in a short class

AF

Mar 15, 2016

This course excellent provides all the basic information which is important and necessary would recommend the course to all the newbies in financial markets\n\nP.S:The professors are AMAZING!

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 486 Reviews for Understanding Financial Markets

By Alexey K

Sep 04, 2016

Not happy about the course. Very very general information. This can be obtained through any internet reading and doesn't require a purchase of the course. 79 dollars is not peanuts for many countries. The lecturers often refer to the videos which are not part of this course. Examples: PPP valuation has not been part of lectures, but is referred to. Maturity and duration of the bond comparison with the glass of water is referred to, but was not part of the course. For the money - we are getting some shorter version of a bigger course. Not satisfied at all. Just finished all the tests and passed, but not happy. Do not recommend to anyone and surely will not buy the next course.

By Vladislav B

May 17, 2016

Inconsistent course content, presenters hop between topics, complete lack of definitions, absense of content structure. Moreover, the presentation style is very boring. One thing is for sure - avoid attending finance at university of Geneva by all costs.

By Collin S F

Mar 06, 2016

I am disappointed in the quality of the lectures in this course. They're too summarized -- too quick-- and they lack the thoroughness required to accurately convey the intuition the student needs to comprehend the lessons taught. When I have to spend a significant number of hours watching lectures on YouTube to compensate for the poor quality lectures offered in "Understand Financial Markets", I am left wondering why I enrolled in the specialization. I think Coursera needs to have a conversation with the professors at Geneva University about the need for prerequisites before allowing students to enroll in this specialization.

By tayfun t

Feb 16, 2019

Very disappointed by this course. Concepts are explained very poorly, pop-up questions in the videos are a joke.

By Tom S

Nov 19, 2016

Course was taught by people who gave no indication they had ever bought a security. They read flatly from the teleprompter and rarely looked at their audience. Very disconcerting and not conducive to trusting what is being said.

By Ariel H

Jul 21, 2016

Beware - will make you upgrade to complete quizzes (and pay) - should definitely be much more upfront about this from the beginning.

Seems like very poor tactics on their behalf.

By Raminta A

Nov 19, 2018

Well prepared course!

By Isaac H

Dec 05, 2018

Excellent coarse! Highly recommended!

By Aidan v N

Dec 20, 2018

Very informative and somehow succeeds in covering many important topics in investments and finance within a relatively small workload.

By José F A d V V

Dec 05, 2018

This course give me a solid general view of financial markets.

By Mukesh A

Dec 25, 2018

Dr. Michel has an extremely intuitive and easy way to explain complex topics. Highly recommend even if you have been working in financial industry for a number of years.

By SUTHAKHAR P

Dec 10, 2018

It was a great course for beginners like me. Professor Michel was fabulous with his explanations and examples. Looking forward for the second part of the specialization.

By Hoang A N

Jan 05, 2019

Great course

By Alejandro L S

Nov 20, 2018

Excelent course

By Gregory P

Nov 21, 2018

1

By Bartłomiej N

Nov 06, 2018

P

By Paolo N

Nov 07, 2018

The course presents ( not in depth ) many key concepts of the Financial Markets. I think it gave ma a good understanding on how the market works without going too deep int the material. If you are not familiar with some of the material you might look for a more in depth explanation somewhere else but all together was a very interesting course well presented.

By Arpit S

Nov 23, 2018

Brilliant Course. I was struggling to understand these concepts for eternity. Even failed in competitive exams. But the manner in which these concepts were explained meant that I am now much better equipped to understand these concepts and even use it during investments when I undertake them henceforth.

By Kartik G

Nov 29, 2018

This is a course which gives a good foundation for finance. Helps you connect with the basic concepts and develop intuition for finance.

By Saptarshi D

Jan 06, 2019

No doubt that the profs were amazing communicators with root level knowledge and experience. I particularly liked Professor Michel Girardin for his interesting, humorous and innovative ways of explaining stuff! Overall a brilliant experience learning financial markets. I highly recommend this. Thank you Coursera!

By Enrico S

Jan 20, 2019

This course is wonderful. I have 35 years of experience of study in the markets and i think that this course is well done.All the teachers are very competent

By Brennan L

Jan 23, 2019

Great course with good analogies and topics covered.

By Çiğdem B

Jan 24, 2019

lots of helpful information explained very basically and clearly even engineers like me can easily understand basic approaches

liked it a lot and reccomend it strongly

By Fábio C F J

Feb 13, 2019

top

By Adilson a

Feb 16, 2019

The content of the course is constructed with much details and the plataform is so great!