Chevron Left
Back to Understanding Financial Markets

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Understanding Financial Markets by University of Geneva

4.7
stars
4,390 ratings
917 reviews

About the Course

In this course, you will learn what the main financial markets and their characteristics are as well as how they are linked to the economy. Our very diversified team of experts will start by teaching you how the price of stocks and bonds are computed and why they move while you will become increasingly aware of the notion of risk and why it matters when measuring an investment's performance. The focus will then move to less popular markets such as gold, emerging markets, real estate, hedge funds and private markets. These will be analyzed with an emphasis on their particular risks and return opportunities as well as how they can help in building efficient portfolios. Finally, the policies of central banks and their impact on financial markets will be presented to you along with the link between the economy and the price of financial assets. All along these different steps, experts from UBS, our corporate partner, will show you how the concepts you just acquired are effectively applied in a leading global bank. This focus on practicality means you will not only understand what is going on in global financial markets but also start to figure out how you can use them to achieve financial goals, be it a client's or your own. Course Director and main teaching contributor: Dr. Michel Girardin, Lecturer in Macro-Finance, University of Geneva...

Top reviews

MC
Jul 16, 2017

Mr. Michel is really an amazing teacher! His lectures are vivic and greatly attracts my attention. I hope to take more of his classes because I've Learned more than I nomally can do in a short class

RC
Oct 5, 2020

Thank you! Coursera for providing me the platform for boosting my knowledge in Financial Markets, as i have learned various financial parts in this subject and this will help me in my carrier too.

Filter by:

201 - 225 of 897 Reviews for Understanding Financial Markets

By Patrick M

Jun 9, 2016

Great course, covers all major Asset classes as well as gives advice and guidance with how to manage them individually and within a portfolio.

By Inge S B (

Sep 23, 2020

Very good, gives a comprehensive view on moderen financial theory and valueable information to be used directly in practical day to day work.

By Nishith S

Jul 28, 2020

Absolutely amazing course to learn .it gave me basic insights of financial markets.i would like to thank Coursera for giving this opportunity

By Anoop T S

May 5, 2020

The course is excellent and very well collated. Easy for beginners. Special thanks to Dr. Michel Girardin for his excellent teaching skills.

By Ma. L J B M

Jun 30, 2020

This course is very useful and rewarding. The professors made it easy to understand, I was able to grasp every context with ease. Thank you!

By Andres M

Dec 18, 2017

Just what I was looking for, this course is composed of key concepts and subjects that are very well explained. Would recommend it for sure.

By Pablo J G F I

Jun 22, 2020

Even for a finance major (graduated back in 2011) the course provides interesting and relevant information. I highly recommend this course.

By Jeffrey B P

Jun 13, 2017

My view of the course so far is that it's very clear and thorough. I'm excited to see the impact that the course will have in my investing.

By Mattia C

May 9, 2020

A brief explanation of the financial market and how it's work. The course contains a lot of interesting point of view of the last decades.

By Albert A D

Jul 16, 2017

This course is highly recommended for all who want to have a good understanding about the financial markets. It was very beneficial to me.

By Paul W

Jul 10, 2016

This course has increased my knowledge about the economy and especially about emerging markets and bonds. Thank you for this great course!

By Lalita A M

Sep 6, 2020

The course has the best additional reading links which not only brushes your basic concept but also adds and molds them in better shape.

By Kartik G

Nov 28, 2018

This is a course which gives a good foundation for finance. Helps you connect with the basic concepts and develop intuition for finance.

By VAIBHAV B

Sep 8, 2018

Quite elucidating course as everything is explained well and from the scratch with pertinent illustrations for better comprehensibility.

By Costin T

Dec 2, 2016

Outstanding teachers, excellent explanations with real-life examples, making complex topics understandable quite easily. Congratulations

By Ram K S

Jun 24, 2020

Very well structured course. All the professor were good especially Professor Michel and his beautiful demonstrations. Thanks Coursera.

By Aneel K

May 6, 2020

It is really helpful course. I enjoyed learning with much fun and submitted quizes on time. Thank you so much to University of Geneva.

By Aidan v N

Dec 20, 2018

Very informative and somehow succeeds in covering many important topics in investments and finance within a relatively small workload.

By Fernando d M F

Sep 29, 2017

I understood better how all these groups of actions and investments and positioning of the country with companies to the world works

By Christopher T

Oct 9, 2020

Concepts were really well explained through the different lecturers and lessons were made enjoyable through the examples being given.

By Francisco J H K

May 3, 2020

This was a very direct and easy to understand course. It help me refresh quickly some of the concepts I had studied before.

Thanks!!!

By Vladimir L

Mar 19, 2019

Fantastic course for those that want to get exposure to how financial markets work. Great beginner course for getting your feet wet!

By Roberto d C R

Feb 18, 2018

Wise and complete view of the Financial Market and the interaction of Bonds, Equity, Monetary Policies and the portfolio management.

By Daniel F S R

May 29, 2017

Very good lecturers and complementary reading. Easy to understand and engage. A lot of practical knowledge from UBS guest lecturers.

By Firdaus K

Apr 15, 2020

Awesome course!!!!! Has the right balance of theory and empirical insights. Has the appropriate difficulty level. Fabulous faculty.