Chevron Left
Back to Understanding Financial Markets

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Understanding Financial Markets by University of Geneva

4.7
2,677 ratings
521 reviews

About the Course

In this course, you will learn what the main financial markets and their characteristics are as well as how they are linked to the economy. Our very diversified team of experts will start by teaching you how the price of stocks and bonds are computed and why they move while you will become increasingly aware of the notion of risk and why it matters when measuring an investment's performance. The focus will then move to less popular markets such as gold, emerging markets, real estate, hedge funds and private markets. These will be analyzed with an emphasis on their particular risks and return opportunities as well as how they can help in building efficient portfolios. Finally, the policies of central banks and their impact on financial markets will be presented to you along with the link between the economy and the price of financial assets. All along these different steps, experts from UBS, our corporate partner, will show you how the concepts you just acquired are effectively applied in a leading global bank. This focus on practicality means you will not only understand what is going on in global financial markets but also start to figure out how you can use them to achieve financial goals, be it a client's or your own. Course Director and main teaching contributor: Dr. Michel Girardin, Lecturer in Macro-Finance, University of Geneva...

Top reviews

MC

Jul 17, 2017

Mr. Michel is really an amazing teacher! His lectures are vivic and greatly attracts my attention. I hope to take more of his classes because I've Learned more than I nomally can do in a short class

AF

Mar 15, 2016

This course excellent provides all the basic information which is important and necessary would recommend the course to all the newbies in financial markets\n\nP.S:The professors are AMAZING!

Filter by:

226 - 250 of 504 Reviews for Understanding Financial Markets

By EVANS W G

May 07, 2017

Modules on portfoloio construction and risk management are the best anywhere! Keep up!

By Andrew K

Jan 21, 2017

Great course!

By Ahmer J K

May 19, 2017

Excellent course, very well delivered! Loved it!

By Zacharias L

Oct 25, 2016

I have gained an exceptional understanding of the basic financial markets and the key principles of investment practices. The feedback from UBS professionals, although very short, was quite enlightening and helpful. I am sure ready to continue with this specialization and I will recommend it to many of my friends who are eager to know more about how financial markets work.

By Mauricio O

Jun 27, 2017

A great course to understand basic concepts in financial markets. It's very useful for personal finances and also to know how the markets work.

By Venkatesh N

Feb 20, 2016

Great lectures,

Great Lecturers,

Great Guest Talks,

Great way to start with the ABC of markets

By Paul W

Jul 10, 2016

This course has increased my knowledge about the economy and especially about emerging markets and bonds. Thank you for this great course!

By Markus Z

Feb 21, 2016

Excellent video series with very good teaching staff.

By Cherikuri V A

Feb 26, 2016

Its a great course.....

By Niranjan S

Oct 05, 2016

Great. It has helped increase my knowledge of financial markets.

By Thirupathi R J

Nov 02, 2016

Great course for new students, I love to learn. Thank you Coursera

By 卫泓泰

Oct 23, 2017

非常好!很好的打扎实了我的想法,也推荐给了很多人

By John K Y

Jun 22, 2016

Great learning experience!!

By Ankize L

Jul 25, 2016

very good

By Artak H

Oct 09, 2016

Very good course !!!

By M B M

Jun 27, 2018

I enjoyed the clear and basic examination of interactions between bonds. equities, interest rates and inflation. Building a solid logic foundation. Not certain yet how to convert this knowledge into actionable decisions but it forms a great foundation. Many thanks to the excellent instructors.

By Andreas W

Jun 06, 2016

Comprehensive introductory overview. Lecturers are great!

By Jaime A

Jun 03, 2017

Right level of information. Learnt a lot.

By Gilang R P

Sep 08, 2016

The lecturers is a real deal and the course is so fun and enjoyable.

By Saswato R

Dec 31, 2016

Great course!

By Jens S

Sep 11, 2016

Very interesting course with good lecturers.

By Bilal A L

Nov 26, 2016

one of the best courses available for those who are keen to learn and understand how financial markets work.

By Jeffrey B P

Jun 13, 2017

My view of the course so far is that it's very clear and thorough. I'm excited to see the impact that the course will have in my investing.

By Sebastián S

Feb 16, 2016

Very simple and useful

By Brandon G

Sep 15, 2016

It is very important for every individual to understand the basics of investments. This course is easy to understand and many innovative examples that makes understanding simple, even for a non financial field individual.