Chevron Left
Back to Understanding Financial Markets

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Understanding Financial Markets by University of Geneva

4.7
stars
2,774 ratings
544 reviews

About the Course

In this course, you will learn what the main financial markets and their characteristics are as well as how they are linked to the economy. Our very diversified team of experts will start by teaching you how the price of stocks and bonds are computed and why they move while you will become increasingly aware of the notion of risk and why it matters when measuring an investment's performance. The focus will then move to less popular markets such as gold, emerging markets, real estate, hedge funds and private markets. These will be analyzed with an emphasis on their particular risks and return opportunities as well as how they can help in building efficient portfolios. Finally, the policies of central banks and their impact on financial markets will be presented to you along with the link between the economy and the price of financial assets. All along these different steps, experts from UBS, our corporate partner, will show you how the concepts you just acquired are effectively applied in a leading global bank. This focus on practicality means you will not only understand what is going on in global financial markets but also start to figure out how you can use them to achieve financial goals, be it a client's or your own. Course Director and main teaching contributor: Dr. Michel Girardin, Lecturer in Macro-Finance, University of Geneva...

Top reviews

MC

Jul 17, 2017

Mr. Michel is really an amazing teacher! His lectures are vivic and greatly attracts my attention. I hope to take more of his classes because I've Learned more than I nomally can do in a short class

SA

Feb 01, 2020

All the instructors were very knowledgeable and used lots of real life examples to explain the theory. They were also kind of funny and turned a "stiff" topic into a lively and fascinating story.

Filter by:

426 - 450 of 526 Reviews for Understanding Financial Markets

By Swanand K

Aug 02, 2018

I like the lectures delivered by "Michel Girardin", very thoughful & practical in nature. While some other lectures delivered by other faculty members seems to be more of reading the presentation points.

By Shashank V M

Aug 18, 2019

Great course. However, some basics concepts were not explained and Michel should have taken examples and taught the concepts, rather than just teaching the theory with confusing graph diagrams.

By Joao p G d A

Jul 31, 2018

Very good course. It would be nice if the lecturer could present some numeric examples of the impact of prices with the change of interest rates considering the duration of the portfolio.

By Peter H

Jun 30, 2019

really good mix of videos, text and quiz. This course is easy to understand for beginners and well structured. Big compliment form my side. I am glad to have made this course!

By Himanshu D

Jan 26, 2020

Some of the topics was not taught in-depth witch I believe was due to shortage of time but overall the course is a great learning source of introduction to financial markets.

By Raguru J K

Oct 22, 2019

Elaborately discussed about most of the Market strategies and provided insights in to Markets, Bonds, Equities and their relationships with Central banks in a precise manner.

By Waqar K

Jun 25, 2019

The course is very well versed an in detail. A good catch up for those who wants to enhance their knowledge of Financial Markets and looking forward to invest in the market.

By Atul C

Jan 22, 2018

Good and simple foundation building in Financial Markets, on some very interesting topics. Michael it is a pleasure to listen to you and all the analogise that you . A

By Vedika M

Aug 06, 2017

The best thing about this course is that there are some interesting questions in between and that makes you interest level very high and hence easy to focus and learn

By moazzamhussain

Jun 07, 2017

You will be able to learn the basics of financial markets and how economic growth behaves with respect to different economic parameters.The course is worth taking!

By Jiashun X

Nov 20, 2019

Solid knowledge and provide essential fundamental elements for beginners, which is very helpful for anyone who does not possess a background in investment.

By Harsh G

Dec 09, 2019

Amazing course. I had no financial background and had come to this course with just curiosity, but now I am leaving with good financial knowledge

By Antariksh A

Jul 03, 2017

Professors teach nicely and made every point very clear. Course outline will really help if one is studying to be in investment management .

By Chris C

Apr 23, 2018

This was a great introduction into financial markets and monetary policy. It was exactly as advertised, and am happy with my selection

By Mark K

Apr 08, 2018

Good fundamentals. Yield curve discussion in lecture 4 was complicated. Introduction to '4 Pillars of Investing by Bernstein' very good

By Edgar B

Jun 06, 2016

The evaluation is very confusing. In addition, when graded, it gives different "correct" answers overtime the test is presented.

By ananya h

May 13, 2019

Highly recommend this course, but would be better if the course was updated, all the scenarios depicted in this are from 2005

By Chandani P

Dec 07, 2017

A good wholesome understanding of financial markets. Though I think practical application is something missing in the course.

By axel

Aug 10, 2018

a great course, great professors. but there is a lack of technical explanation like NPV etc'

thank you it was very interesting

By José L Á E

Jul 31, 2019

This course has really good content for those who are interested in acquiring a keen understanding of the financial markets.

By Michelle M

Jun 18, 2017

Very helpful in understanding markets. more examples of the mathematics would have been helpful in solidifying the concepts.

By Trevor S

Oct 21, 2018

A well thought out course. Usually clear and informative. There was the odd glitch of some reading material links failing.

By Nikita P

Sep 30, 2017

Quite a good course to get an overview of investment. Nothing extraordinary, but still very informative and useful.

By Dmitry N

Mar 20, 2019

quite hard to gasp the content. maybe it's just me, but more formal math would significantly simplfy the material.

By Santiago M G

Feb 28, 2016

It lacks exercises but other than that this course is pretty fun and interesting. I would definitely recommend it.