Chevron Left
Back to Design Thinking for Innovation

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Design Thinking for Innovation by University of Virginia

4.6
stars
5,740 ratings
1,798 reviews

About the Course

Today innovation is everyone's business. Whether you are a manager in a global corporation, an entrepreneur starting up, in a government role, or a teacher in an elementary school, everyone is expected to get lean – to do better with less. And that is why we all need design thinking. At every level in every kind of organization, design thinking provides the tools you need to become an innovative thinker and uncover creative opportunities that are there – you're just not seeing them yet. In this course, developed at the Darden School of Business at the University of Virginia and taught by top-ranked faculty, we provide an overview of design thinking and work with a model containing four key questions and several tools to help you understand design thinking as a problem solving approach. We also look at several stories from different organizations that used design thinking to uncover compelling solutions....

Top reviews

LM

Sep 23, 2019

I really liked the peer reviews at the end. It was a great way to view other examples of how different projects, industries, and teams have used design thinking. The course was easy to follow as well.

RB

Sep 15, 2020

Very well explained with lots of practical examples - would highly recommend this course to anyone looking at getting an initial understanding of design thinking and how it can be applied practically.

Filter by:

1476 - 1500 of 1,773 Reviews for Design Thinking for Innovation

By Aslı S

Jul 31, 2019

It is inspiring and makes you question the way you process your ideas. I found materials very useful and practical. Anyone can enroll and finish this course.

By Sylwia D

Nov 29, 2017

The course was interesting but too complicated. The final assignment assumed that everyone would have applied design thinking tool in their work in the past.

By Max S

Aug 09, 2020

Some nice tools and insight, but presentation could sometimes be more compelling. More in depth information of how to use and apply the tools would be nice.

By HARIKRISHNAN B

Jul 14, 2020

Her speech is so drowsy, please ask her to speak in a way that will not boring.i have attended some courses which are so good to hear & doesn't make drowsy.

By SEBASTIEN M

Jul 06, 2020

It is a short and clear course. I think you could let clearer what the student will learn. I think the course lack of a powerpoint support a little better

By Tyler W

Jun 12, 2016

Great course. Learning a new way to problem solve and think in an innovative mindset is something we all need to succeed in this every competitive world.

By José L S

Nov 10, 2015

Great Explanation, and very useful to modify certain mindsets. I think that the book should be complementar to this course, eventually with more detail?

By Kenny C R

Nov 26, 2019

The course was highly nutritive, although I would have like to hear more about other tools that can be used and look more deep into their applications.

By Rakesh S

Sep 11, 2019

Pretty good lectures. I would improve by providing more typical example templates that were used prior so we could use them for our real-time problems.

By Essy A

Nov 08, 2017

The course overall is such a key skill to polish. I am a happy student. Design Thinking for Innovation has given me such insight and a new perspective.

By Ry G M

Feb 10, 2016

Good course! The flow of the modules fit perfectly.

But I wished they uploaded the lecture slides and the templates for the design thinking process.

By Azmayen S

May 12, 2020

helped me with gaining some great points to start thinking about my future career.I hope to see this kind of courses more in near future. PEACE!!!

By Casey N

Aug 16, 2019

Great course, but you get out of it what you put into it. I thought it was a very good introduction to the concepts, principles, and basic tools.

By Baibaswata C

Apr 24, 2019

Some portions of the course need more detailing, for a better understanding of the concepts. Nevertheless, its a good primer on Design Thinking.

By Zhiyin L

May 02, 2018

Very helpful course to learn design thinking, giving 4 stars because I think the final assignment is not evaluating all contents of the course.

By Ximena R

Aug 07, 2020

The course itself was very informative. Just wished it had more areas to practice and that the assignments were graded by teachers, not peers.

By Karen M

Aug 31, 2020

I really liked the tools shown in the course and their examples. They inspired me to apply them in my professional field. Thank you so much!

By Tauheed M

Aug 03, 2020

It was really very good learning and learnt to know the about various tools to make the task meaningfull and effective in short time.

Thanks

By Dennis G

Apr 28, 2017

Very much enjoyed all the videos and the lessons learned. Have already started to try an use some of the techniques and concepts I learned.

By Steven L

Aug 17, 2020

The step by step approach is helpful and aided by case studies and videos. Assignment is not heavy. Practical and insightful. Thank you.

By Luis L

Aug 07, 2019

Great course to understand the basics, I would like it to have deepen into the tools available for the workshops but it was a good start.

By Kamal J D

Jun 08, 2020

Course content should also include Value Chain Analysis, Brian storming, Concept development, Assumption testing and rapid prototyping.

By Vazgen B

Jul 08, 2016

Very interesting course, but a bit short though - it just covers the surface of design thinking and some of its tools (very well done).

By Shreyas D

Apr 28, 2020

The course was really good. I was able to learn some new concepts which will be helpful for our carrier. I really like the assignment.

By Rosellini

Apr 15, 2018

Really good courses and support but some videos are may be too long and could be divided in 2 or 3. Also, give more concrete examples.