Chevron Left
Back to Design Thinking for Innovation

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Design Thinking for Innovation by University of Virginia

4.7
stars
6,337 ratings
1,984 reviews

About the Course

Today innovation is everyone's business. Whether you are a manager in a global corporation, an entrepreneur starting up, in a government role, or a teacher in an elementary school, everyone is expected to get lean – to do better with less. And that is why we all need design thinking. At every level in every kind of organization, design thinking provides the tools you need to become an innovative thinker and uncover creative opportunities that are there – you're just not seeing them yet. In this course, developed at the Darden School of Business at the University of Virginia and taught by top-ranked faculty, we provide an overview of design thinking and work with a model containing four key questions and several tools to help you understand design thinking as a problem solving approach. We also look at several stories from different organizations that used design thinking to uncover compelling solutions....

Top reviews

RB
Sep 14, 2020

Very well explained with lots of practical examples - would highly recommend this course to anyone looking at getting an initial understanding of design thinking and how it can be applied practically.

SP
Aug 15, 2020

Excellent program to learn lots of tools towards Design Thinking !! Thanks a lot! Very interactive and the last activity of completing the assignment was very thought provoking !! thanks to all pears!

Filter by:

1901 - 1925 of 1,967 Reviews for Design Thinking for Innovation

By Hélène A C

Apr 27, 2020

Nice introductory class about design thinking. It is quite general though but very inspiring. I really recommend the book as a complementary reading, it helps understand better some methods and processes described briefly in this course.

By Jordan H

Dec 9, 2019

Not very engaging or interactive since it is just watching videos. I wish that there were some exercises using the extra resources like all of the mind mapping charts or brainstorming activities for a grade throughout the course.

By Andrea M

Nov 3, 2019

The course is interesting and may work as a general introduction. nevertheless the lessons and the material made available in form of slides is not sufficient to really become knowledgeable about the presented methods.

By Sam E

Oct 24, 2016

The course videos are well made and insightful. Except for the very end there are no quizzes and assignments. This misses out what for me is a vital part of the learning experience, regular feedback and reflection.

By VERONICA B H

Nov 1, 2016

I would appreciate more practical cases with the detailed methodology that were applied. Also I will love external resources to study and examples of design thinking applied in different types of industries

By Shrinivas K

Dec 1, 2019

The course, although is good for anyone who wants to take a step towards design thinking, but more examples, theory and detailing can make it better and help us retain and apply the learnings.

By Alessandra M

Jan 6, 2017

The content is very interesting and I learned a lot about Design Thinking. However, the lecturer sounds like she's reading the text, which sometimes makes it hard to focus on what she's saying.

By Dmitry A

Feb 5, 2018

This might have been a great course, if it was called Design Thinking 101. Somehow I expected more of content, frameworks and details. More engagement like assignments would also be great.

By Simon C

Aug 5, 2017

The first few modules where the basics are covered are much more useful than the final modules, where things felt more like promotional vehicles for their books and services.

By Penny P

Apr 1, 2017

This course provides a good understanding of the DT steps with concrete application examples. However, it requires additional readings to be able to apply this learning

By Kaitlin G

Jul 24, 2020

It was good but the professor literally said everything in the book... I felt like I could have read the book and gotten just as much out of the course.

By André M

May 2, 2020

I felt it could went way deeper. It provided a very superficial understanding of this subject, could have went in more detail into each of the tools.

By Bianca G

Jul 4, 2018

Good course to provide a good understanding of what is design thinking and its process, but doesn't give us practical experience and cases for testi

By Felipe A C

Nov 27, 2015

The course is pretty uneventful. I have done some courses from other universities, which are more interactive and fun. But the content is great!

By Alexa K

Aug 4, 2020

Honestly, the information was great, however it went by really slowly, and the videos were really long compared to other Coursera courses.

By Karen C O

May 4, 2020

Me parece que es un curso un poco por encima del tema.

Se que es nivel inicial pero aún así me pareció un poco superficial.

By Shubham K S

Aug 30, 2018

I wish the subject was bit more clear. I felt i lost direction in between the lectures about the main goal of the lecture.

By GAYKAR N S

Jun 4, 2020

Content is good but some graphics and animation should be added to make it more attractive as well as educational.

By Giulianno C C

Feb 11, 2016

Great materials, great learning system! I could get some inspiration and learning, but i thought it was to short.

By Felipe M

Nov 5, 2016

Could be less generic! The exemples are a little bit abstract, not much hands on or practical.

By Girish J N

May 17, 2020

contents are enough and useful but video & language is little bit difficult to understand

By Arren A

Oct 27, 2019

No supplemental materials like PDF and downloadable illustrations in image format

By Gyr M

Jan 25, 2017

The course is made for managers who want to get on the innovation wagon.

By Srichand S

Jun 24, 2020

More practice material required related to videos by each presenter

By Jacques H

Jun 27, 2017

GOOD but they should add more assignments to allow us to practice