Chevron Left
Back to Design Thinking for Innovation

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Design Thinking for Innovation by University of Virginia

4.7
stars
8,166 ratings

About the Course

Today innovation is everyone's business. Whether you are a manager in a global corporation, an entrepreneur starting up, in a government role, or a teacher in an elementary school, everyone is expected to get lean – to do better with less. And that is why we all need design thinking. At every level in every kind of organization, design thinking provides the tools you need to become an innovative thinker and uncover creative opportunities that are there – you're just not seeing them yet. In this course, developed at the Darden School of Business at the University of Virginia and taught by top-ranked faculty, we provide an overview of design thinking and work with a model containing four key questions and several tools to help you understand design thinking as a problem solving approach. We also look at several stories from different organizations that used design thinking to uncover compelling solutions....

Top reviews

LM

Sep 22, 2019

I really liked the peer reviews at the end. It was a great way to view other examples of how different projects, industries, and teams have used design thinking. The course was easy to follow as well.

ET

Jan 29, 2023

I learned a new approach by this course. I strongly recommend it to any business person who wants to find innovative solutions for his challenges in daily business life as well as long term solutions.

Filter by:

2076 - 2100 of 2,475 Reviews for Design Thinking for Innovation

By Riri M

Feb 10, 2016

Good course! The flow of the modules fit perfectly.

But I wished they uploaded the lecture slides and the templates for the design thinking process.

By Azmayen S

May 12, 2020

helped me with gaining some great points to start thinking about my future career.I hope to see this kind of courses more in near future. PEACE!!!

By Casey N

Aug 16, 2019

Great course, but you get out of it what you put into it. I thought it was a very good introduction to the concepts, principles, and basic tools.

By Rodrigo G

Apr 17, 2021

It is a great first approach about DT. As a suggestion, I would consider to improve evaluation systems. Feedback from students is sometimes poor.

By Baibaswata C

Apr 24, 2019

Some portions of the course need more detailing, for a better understanding of the concepts. Nevertheless, its a good primer on Design Thinking.

By Zhiyin L

May 2, 2018

Very helpful course to learn design thinking, giving 4 stars because I think the final assignment is not evaluating all contents of the course.

By Ximena R

Aug 7, 2020

The course itself was very informative. Just wished it had more areas to practice and that the assignments were graded by teachers, not peers.

By Karen M

Aug 31, 2020

I really liked the tools shown in the course and their examples. They inspired me to apply them in my professional field. Thank you so much!

By Tauheed M ( A P

Aug 3, 2020

It was really very good learning and learnt to know the about various tools to make the task meaningfull and effective in short time.

Thanks

By Dennis G

Apr 28, 2017

Very much enjoyed all the videos and the lessons learned. Have already started to try an use some of the techniques and concepts I learned.

By Ivo R J

Apr 11, 2021

This course is fantastic!!!! I learned great tools and how to apply them in a creative processes to find solutions or create new products

By Steven L

Aug 17, 2020

The step by step approach is helpful and aided by case studies and videos. Assignment is not heavy. Practical and insightful. Thank you.

By Luis L

Aug 7, 2019

Great course to understand the basics, I would like it to have deepen into the tools available for the workshops but it was a good start.

By kamaljyoti d

Jun 8, 2020

Course content should also include Value Chain Analysis, Brian storming, Concept development, Assumption testing and rapid prototyping.

By Vazgen B

Jul 8, 2016

Very interesting course, but a bit short though - it just covers the surface of design thinking and some of its tools (very well done).

By Shreyas D

Apr 28, 2020

The course was really good. I was able to learn some new concepts which will be helpful for our carrier. I really like the assignment.

By Rosellini

Apr 15, 2018

Really good courses and support but some videos are may be too long and could be divided in 2 or 3. Also, give more concrete examples.

By Krishna C R

Nov 5, 2018

Could have included some more case studies to help to understand better. But overall the structure and content of the course is good.

By Clocchiatti A

Jan 4, 2021

Very good course! I was inspired about the concepts and I got some tools and solutions to run design thinking sessions in better way

By Sonya M

Jan 1, 2017

The content of this course was written well, and very clear. It was a good overview of DT and the Professor is very knowledgeable.

By Daniel S B

Feb 16, 2018

Great introduction to Design Thinking.

It would be better if some examples of real cases using the different tools could be added.

By Chen F S

May 28, 2020

Course can propose some challenges to apply the design thinking tools for participants who have difficulty coming out with one.

By Priscilla M

Mar 26, 2018

The course was great. I would recommend more practical examples to ensure clear understanding of all the design thinking tools

By Ale S

Jan 7, 2018

Excellent introduction to design thinking, I really recommend to read the book "Design for growth" if you want to go deeper...

By Alex K

Feb 8, 2017

Really enjoyed this course. It had a management stance, which for me as a product designer was insightful. Clearly presented.