Chevron Left
Back to Fundamentals of Project Planning and Management

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Fundamentals of Project Planning and Management by University of Virginia

4.7
stars
7,212 ratings
1,886 reviews

About the Course

Projects are all around us. Virtually every organization runs projects, either formally or informally. We are engaged in projects at home and at work. Across settings, planning principles and execution methodologies can offer ways in which projects can be run more effectively and efficiently. Project management provides organizations (and individuals) with the language and the frameworks for scoping projects, sequencing activities, utilizing resources, and minimizing risks. This is an introductory course on the key concepts of planning and executing projects. We will identify factors that lead to project success, and learn how to plan, analyze, and manage projects. Learners will be exposed to state-of-the-art methodologies and to considering the challenges of various types of projects....

Top reviews

JL

Sep 6, 2020

Very informative, concise, and easy to digest. Provides a solid foundation / framework for approaching projects, with great tutorials on using software for analysis. Great experience overall, thanks!

TL

Jan 7, 2021

This course satisfied my desire to learn about Project Planning and Management at a high level. Yael's content and delivery meet my needs and I highly recommend this course to anyone involved in R&D.

Filter by:

1576 - 1600 of 1,901 Reviews for Fundamentals of Project Planning and Management

By Alex L

Sep 5, 2020

Relatively easy course, some parts were perhaps too generalized or simplistic to be applied in a real setting, while at other times the examples seemed highly convoluted. Nevertheless, I think it gave me some handy tools to work with, and if the day comes when I'm tasked with managing a major project, I think the material learned will be useful.

By Musabira A

Apr 23, 2020

I would like to thanks my instructor Yeal Grushka of this course for helping us to understand all the fundamental concepts to plan and manage a project.

By this course,the basic concepts of a project like risk analysis ,planning, finiding scopes etc have been cleared to us. I hope this couse will help me in future to manage and plan a project.

By Patrizia P

Dec 30, 2020

Very good overview about project planning. Very well explained and easy to understand. I can recommend that course for every person starting off with project management. The tools presented could have been a bit more modern as in the last years a lot of new project management tools came up and visualize topics in a more engaging factor.

By Ariella G

Apr 8, 2020

Great overview of project management and easy to understand. Loved the case studies. There were certain areas that I thought needed to have more depth in and practice exercises such as Earned Value Management. I would have liked more resources to use on the job but I am sure I can find them in other places as well.

By Ananth G

Nov 29, 2015

A very good insight into the basics of Project planning, easily executable strategy and MSprojects intro was eye-opener. Tried on one small project and was able to feel the difference before the course came to an end. Thankyou very much. Some more information and detailing required in project execution(week 4).

By Raul M

Apr 23, 2020

I liked the course but I think they could go deeper in some definitions, and exemplify them with more different cases, easier and more difficult. But in general is a good option to have the most important basis of the management. It let me the opportunity to know which topics I need to study by my own.

By Genevieve R

May 26, 2021

I learned a great deal from this course in an area that I am not currently employed. I would need to find another course to compliment this one that is more appropriate to my area of work: legal support provision. But I am happy to have this study and generalized knowledge of managing new projects.

By Arthur W

May 21, 2021

a great mix of explanations, cases, tools, and methodologies. I am happy that I have participated in the course. The information is a lot, what would be great, would be a small "PM booklet" at the end that combines all the information shortly. But other than that the course was very good.

By J R R D

Feb 2, 2020

I think this course provides of the essential of project management with a good lecturer and cases that provide an actual vision of the issues that may face when you are in site. This course will give the elemental tools to participate or collaborate in a new project management plan.

By Brian K C

May 20, 2020

A nice introduction to the field of project management for anyone who expects to take on small and medium sized projects in their workplace. I felt that the professor was a bit too fast at times in pace and I couldn't keep up with her while taking notes - but that could just be me.

By Vaishali U

Jul 1, 2020

It is a very basic course and is very good for beginners who have no idea of Project management. The course structure was light and did not involve too much information which is good for newcomers. It motivated me to take on a few more advanced level courses in project management.

By Fritha J

Nov 20, 2016

An overall excellent course. 4-stars are attributed purely because of the limitations of when a quiz can be re-sat (twice in 7 days). This elongated the duration of the course.

The material learnt within the course has been immediately applicable in my job - with success.

By Christian W

Sep 23, 2021

Interesting and inspiring course with helpful set of project tools. Minor optimisation proposal:

Provide a pre-filled MS Project file with example data shown in the slides. This would provide a playground for those who have MS Project license available.

Thanks Christian

By Prashant P

May 24, 2021

Good course the content & delivery both are praiseworthy. Giving it 4 stars only because there is problem with thee assessments even the correct answers are marked as wrong and leading to unnecessary frustration this is specific to week 1 , week 2 & week 3 assessment.

By Darryl N

Oct 3, 2020

This course provided a very systematic approach to project management. It gave insight into some of the successful tools in project management. Cost control was also emphasized in a project. A variety of planning and scheduling skills were also discussed in this course.

By Rahul K

Jul 13, 2022

Course outline, content has been meticulosuly planned and trainer keeps the audience captivated with her clear and concise way of delivery.

Overall, this course imparts the basics of project management and planning in simple and effective manner - Highly recommeded.

By Solange U

Aug 11, 2020

The course provides a good introduction on project planning and management. The course was organized clearly but sometimes it was too mathematical. However, the teacher makes it very accessible for beginners in project management! I highly recommend this course.

By Roosevelt Q

Jun 1, 2021

I enjoyed the course. It provided a solid foundation of basic project management principles and practices. I would like to see a few more formula examples provided in the earned value analysis section. I've always through that was a tough concept to grasp.

By Kamakhi P

Mar 11, 2021

This is a very good learning experience; for new comers, especially, it would be very useful, as it touches, project planning & concepts like critical path, tornado diagram, monte carlo analysis etc. in detail & also backs it with some very good examples.

By Cedric C

May 4, 2020

This was easy to follow and the quiz were great review. I like the fact that along with the video, the script was included. It made it simple to review specific areas of interest. I feel more confident about the topic today and how the tools are applied.

By Pablo N

Mar 9, 2016

I like the course but I have a problem:

Within the task and figure that I passed but within the "Tasks " section no. And I passed the rest of the work and I still do not get the course certificate. What should I do?

A lot of peoble have the same problem.

By Muzahida T

May 25, 2020

In the course “Fundamentals of Project Planning” I have learned the very detail of how to initiate, plan and execute a project. The course was very helpful to know about keeping tracks of project details. I hope it will help me in my upcoming career.

By Muhammad R K

Feb 20, 2021

I have taking other project management courses, but the depth and style of presentation by the course tutors is different and unique. It really add to my knowledge. Thanks to the tutors, University of Virginia and Coursera for this valuable course.

By Xavier P

Dec 31, 2021

Interesting and allow to see projects from a different angle. Nevertheless I personally struggled into translating question into my language, which eventually was very misleading and making me answer the exact opposite of what I had in mind

By ASHLEY G

Jun 1, 2020

This course was really interesting, cool and informative. I feel like it put my natural thoughts and processes in the field into and organized and teachable manner. It is easy to get lost but one has to pay attention and focus. Thank you.