Chevron Left
Back to Fundamentals of Project Planning and Management

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Fundamentals of Project Planning and Management by University of Virginia

4.7
stars
6,547 ratings
1,725 reviews

About the Course

Projects are all around us. Virtually every organization runs projects, either formally or informally. We are engaged in projects at home and at work. Across settings, planning principles and execution methodologies can offer ways in which projects can be run more effectively and efficiently. Project management provides organizations (and individuals) with the language and the frameworks for scoping projects, sequencing activities, utilizing resources, and minimizing risks. This is an introductory course on the key concepts of planning and executing projects. We will identify factors that lead to project success, and learn how to plan, analyze, and manage projects. Learners will be exposed to state-of-the-art methodologies and to considering the challenges of various types of projects....

Top reviews

FF
Dec 31, 2020

This is very good course to understand the fundamentals of project planning and management. The instructor explain the concept in a simple way. There are good examples given to understand the course.

TL
Jan 7, 2021

This course satisfied my desire to learn about Project Planning and Management at a high level. Yael's content and delivery meet my needs and I highly recommend this course to anyone involved in R&D.

Filter by:

1676 - 1700 of 1,736 Reviews for Fundamentals of Project Planning and Management

By Rasulova D S

Sep 1, 2020

Good luck

By Ankit R

May 31, 2020

Thank you

By DAVIDE S

Dec 11, 2015

excellent

By Louissaint J

Oct 4, 2020

Amazing!

By Alanoud S

Jul 31, 2018

Thank u

By Omkar S G

Dec 25, 2017

Good!!!

By Rajesh P

Jan 12, 2022

Good

By Aouk P K R

Oct 27, 2021

good

By Puspanjali S

Aug 11, 2021

good

By Sunil S

Aug 1, 2020

good

By Mayank P

Jun 2, 2020

good

By Muhammad Z S

Apr 25, 2016

Good

By HTS P

Oct 14, 2021

OK

By OMKAR K G

Oct 19, 2020

no

By edgar a o c

May 13, 2020

:)

By Panagiotis F

Feb 2, 2019

-j

By Lola K

Oct 12, 2020

V

By Darshan S K

Aug 27, 2020

G

By Yousaf K

Jun 20, 2020

-

By Luther K

Mar 6, 2018

I

By Sanjay L

Jun 21, 2017

I

By Patrique H

Jun 11, 2021

+ basic content, easy to pick up

+ instructor explained in a nice way

+ instructor is using careful wordings

- the agile video should be split up in 3 (agile, scrum, kanban) to do justice to this course and those topics (and add some info on the way they do costs and planning calculations as they take a value based approach instead of cost based approach like the regular project management in this course)

- twice I noticed a false answer in the test outcomes, but it must be me as 200k+ people completed this course already

- theory based instructor, no real life experience

Conclusion: read project management for dummies (or some books - just check your favourite university's curriculum/booklist on this topic) you will learn more. But if online is your thing, and you need a certificate, it is a good start as the videos are done nicely and the examples are fun to go through. And you definitely learn also from other on the forum when going through their answers!

By Slavisa D

Jan 7, 2020

Pros: 1. Good overview of techniques and methods, also agile methods, widely used in project management. 2. Week 4 is especially useful because of metrics like CPI, SPI and CSI. Thank you for this.

Cons: 1. The multiple choice questions are written in a misleading and very tricky way. The course should transfer knowledge, not mislead the students.

2. The course is defintely too fast for beginners. I could follow because I made the agile course at University of Alberta before taking this course. The Alberta course is much better than this course.

3. The handouts are bad and you have to use your own literature to dig deeper.

By Georges N

Feb 20, 2021

sorry for the rating, it is NOT for the course, but it is for coursera,itself, the course was wonderful, the teacher increased much my experiences, however and after i finished all the course with all the related quiz as submitted, they required a payment for to get the certificate (you may have asked that from the beginning - this is unprofessional) ... disappointed !!

By Elizabeth H

Nov 29, 2016

I did learn the basics, but will need to go on and learn more in depth. I'd also like to have more written materials to go with the videos. I know I can download the video transcript, but what I'd like is actual handouts that are organized. I am more of a written/visual learner and need to read to retain information.