Chevron Left
Back to Fundamentals of Project Planning and Management

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Fundamentals of Project Planning and Management by University of Virginia

4.7
stars
7,237 ratings

About the Course

Projects are all around us. Virtually every organization runs projects, either formally or informally. We are engaged in projects at home and at work. Across settings, planning principles and execution methodologies can offer ways in which projects can be run more effectively and efficiently. Project management provides organizations (and individuals) with the language and the frameworks for scoping projects, sequencing activities, utilizing resources, and minimizing risks. This is an introductory course on the key concepts of planning and executing projects. We will identify factors that lead to project success, and learn how to plan, analyze, and manage projects. Learners will be exposed to state-of-the-art methodologies and to considering the challenges of various types of projects....

Top reviews

MM

Dec 15, 2021

This is very good course to understand the fundamentals of project planning and management. The instructor explain the concept in a simple way. There are good examples given to understand the course.

SH

Mar 18, 2018

The course provided a good introductory lessons on project planning and management. The course was organized clearly with interesting exercises and the instructions were helpful. Thank you very much.

Filter by:

201 - 225 of 1,911 Reviews for Fundamentals of Project Planning and Management

By pietro v

Nov 14, 2020

Not a missing concept nor a superfluous one. The solid presentation of this course by the instructor, is a key point of the course itself. A really good introduction into the subject and a starting point for those who want go deeper

By jesse e

Nov 2, 2018

Great Course. I had no idea how little I knew about projects until I took this course. And I've learned so much and what's great is that i'm implementing everything I've learned in running a live project that I'm currently managing!

By Sviatoslav B

Aug 8, 2017

In this course professor Yael Grushka-Cockayne explains how to build successful project using modern tools and knowledge. It is great course for those who want build career like Project Manager in different areas. Thank you so much!

By Surinder K P S K

Dec 11, 2020

Very interesting course & very well formatted. quite interactive considering case studies & quiz which were scenario based made concepts pretty clear. all in all great content put in the course with good examples to clear concepts.

By Feng Z

Jul 20, 2020

Solid fundamental introductory course on project management. The instructor was very knowledgeable, well prepared and apparently passionate about the subject. Appreciate her hard work of putting this course online. Would recommend!

By Tejas S

Oct 28, 2020

It's precise and to the point. Instructor have good knowledge. Best part that I liked is examples shown and worked upon. Also shown how to use Microsoft Project Planner, Gantt Chart etc. gave more confidence to work on such tools.

By Marjorie C

Sep 13, 2020

This course was just great! I have learned how to apply useful numeric tools to plan the tasks of my projects better within realistic timing and it had made me think of everything that I am doing right and wrong at work!

Thank you.

By Dana

Feb 14, 2020

This was one of the best online learnings I have done. I really like how I could watch the videos over and over, how I could pause and skip around. This course touches every learning style, that what makes it so great. Thank you.

By Isabel M

Feb 12, 2016

It's a great opportunity to learn something new. The professor is EXCELLENT. I am grateful because all the units are too interesting and it will be useful for the advanced diploma I'm going to start on february.

Thank you so much.

By Claudia C A

Jul 12, 2020

El curso, en general, es muy concreto y muy bien explicado. Los conceptos son claros, y facilita la comprensión. Los temas están bien organizados y lo mejor es que uno puede aprender y asimilar la información a su propio ritmo.

By shridhar d

May 30, 2020

It was a really good experience with this course Best part is its content was well structured and organized to explain with an example in an adequate manner.

The instructor was good it really explains the things in excellent ways

By Richard J P

Aug 13, 2019

I feel like this course gave me a great fundamental understanding of project management. The case studies were interesting and relevant. The time of the course was manageable and I was even able to complete it ahead of schedule.

By Henrikki L

Jun 14, 2022

Overall, great presentation. I'd like to see the content be more based on common language, and keep terminology only where required. The Quiz should be based on common language and keep the presentation the same as the content.

By Ali A A A

May 17, 2020

Peace be upon you and God's mercy and blessings be upon you. My sincere thanks and appreciation. The course was very enjoyable. The method of explanation is very simple and I wish many of you in the future. Thank you very much.

By Amit S

Jul 10, 2022

One of the most refreshing courses which had me thoroghly engaged. Concepts and definitions explained very precisely.Loved the Gantt chart overview, tornado chart and Schedule Performance Index/cost performance Index concepts.

By Alima A

Dec 1, 2016

Great course! I've gained a very strong basic level of project management and I hope to apply this new skill in my future work. Thanks to the Prof. Yael Grushka-Cockayne for her easily understandable lectures, time and effort.

By Mike P

Nov 28, 2020

Very well presented and kept my interest all the way through, I went into it with trepidation but exited happy and motivated. Really enjoyed the course and will look to use what I have learned at ever opportunity. Thank you

By Marco N

Jun 3, 2020

Great course! I really enjoyed every lesson and will start applying the learned concepts to my job immediately. I really recommend this course if you would like to better understand the role and history of project management.

By Chanchal R

May 16, 2020

Each and every concepts are defined clearly,one of the best course on coursera designed by outstanding faculty.I want to pay my special gratitude to University of Virginia and Coursera for providing such a tremendous course.

By Thulio T

Jun 26, 2017

This course is an excellent introduction to the concepts and methodologies used in Project Planning. I started the course with almost zero knowledge of project management and finished it ready to take a specialization course.

By Nilupa R

Jan 6, 2016

This is quite an amazing experience. The lecture videos are totally astonishing. It explains the concepts more clearly and the examples drawn are remarkable and suits very well. Thank you very much, I enjoyed it very well....

By Karthikeyan K

Jun 1, 2020

Overwhelmed and Contended to have such an wonderful crash course with an overall coverage and well explained the basics in all aspects.Tremendous knowledge of the Tutor was helpful in elaborating the PM.Thanks to the Tutor.

By April B

Apr 25, 2020

The course was extremely informative; I am confident it will add value to my career. The instructor was engaging and well learned in the material. Enrolling was an excellent decision to level-up my professional development!

By Stefan G

Jul 13, 2020

It was really entertaining to be a part of this training course. The storyline was transparent, well built, understandable. It gave me a lot of new, useful information regarding project management. I enjoyed it a lot. Thx!

By Tomasz P

Apr 22, 2020

Great course for all who want to start their journey with the projects.

The level and the scope of information has been perfectly chosen.

My special thanks goes to Prof. Yael Grushka-Cockayne - I really enjoyed your course.