Chevron Left
Back to Visual Elements of User Interface Design

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Visual Elements of User Interface Design by California Institute of the Arts

4.7
stars
4,928 ratings
1,211 reviews

About the Course

This design-centric course examines the broad question of what an interface is and what role a designer plays in creating a user interface. Learning how to design and articulate meaning using color, type, and imagery is essential to making interfaces function clearly and seamlessly. Through a series of lectures and visual exercises, you will focus on the many individual elements and components that make up the skillset of an interface designer. By the end of this course, you will be able to describe the key formal elements of clear, consistent, and intuitive UI design, and apply your learned skills to the design of a static screen-based interface. This is the first course in the UI/UX Design Specialization, which brings a design-centric approach to user interface (UI) and user experience (UX) design, and offers practical, skill-based instruction centered around a visual communications perspective, rather than on one focused on marketing or programming alone. These courses are ideal for anyone with some experience in graphic or visual design and who would like to build their skill set in UI or UX for app and web design. It would also be ideal for anyone with experience in front- or back-end web development or human-computer interaction and want to sharpen their visual design and analysis skills for UI or UX....

Top reviews

BB

Mar 31, 2020

This course is very useful for a beginner who is looking for the basics of UI/UX course.\n\nThis course will give you the basic idea of interface design which very important for its advanced studies.

RS

Dec 31, 2021

I never thought this is possible. I am very grateful to Coursera and Calarts. This is a starting milestone to changing my career life for better. I am ready to pursue more and more with your support.

Filter by:

226 - 250 of 1,233 Reviews for Visual Elements of User Interface Design

By Yosua W

Aug 8, 2019

This course is really helpful for those who are just starting to learn about UI/UX design. It contains basicsand fundamental UI/UX Design skills.

By Melisa C

Apr 18, 2019

Loved it! Really educational and helpful to give you in your beginning as a UI designer. Really good material and guidance. Totally recommend it!

By Renzo M A S

Apr 21, 2021

Muy bueno! Aprendí mucho sobre el diseño web y sobre todo al diseño visual. Como puedo mejorar y darle una experiencia agradable a mis usuarios.

By Fabio S

Mar 5, 2021

O curso incrível, passa uma base muito boa pra quem está procurando sobre Interface de Design. A provas são bem competitivas. Vale muito a pena.

By Fernanda B M P

Dec 27, 2019

Great course with a good learning curve. The exercises are useful and the concepts are laid out in a clear and compelling manner by the teacher.

By Bektovic F

Oct 1, 2019

Learning plenty of new concepts and doing my firsts design was absolutely awsome! Great course, can't wait for next one in the speciallization.

By Qiucen S

Jul 24, 2019

It helps me to learn illustrator and all the design tools that I wasn't familiar with. It pushes me to continue learning and go beyond my limit

By Brent J

Oct 24, 2018

Great! My only complaint is that some of my reviewers put absolutely no effort into their responses, but I'm not sure how you would fix that...

By Dariya M

May 19, 2022

This is a great course! A lot of important basic information and principles. You will also be able to practice your skills on a small project.

By priyanka k

Oct 9, 2020

Excellent content, simple to understand and delivered at a good pace. Great to get back to the basics which are often forgotten while working.

By Kerry F

Apr 17, 2020

I am really enjoying learning more about UI/UX in the CalArts program. I have started the next course and have learned so much just in week 1.

By Karl C A

Oct 22, 2020

This course is really great! Beginners' friendly and very informative. I didn't know anything about UI Design but this taught me very deeply.

By Fredj K

Jul 7, 2020

A great course, absolutely an amazing course for any level UI/UX designer or for front end web developer experienced or at a beginner level.

By Askar A

Feb 15, 2019

That was a awesome experience!!.. Thanks to Coursera and CalArts , for giving me this opportunity. I am so excited to continue this course.

By Martin R

Nov 21, 2018

Great course to ease oneself into the topic, or a refresher for those doing it, but needing structure and reason to improve their practice.

By Kimberly T

Nov 27, 2020

Very easy to follow and do at your own pace. The assignments helped to apply what I learned and I now have a design to add to my portfolio

By Luca C

Oct 14, 2020

For Start to understand how the workflow is done and how you can deal with it i think this course is pretty well done! I strongly suggest!

By Eunice P

Oct 8, 2019

Wonderful course for beginners of mobile app design. The course project is also a great way to get a feel of the interface design process.

By K C

Dec 10, 2020

Fantastic. Wonderful lecturer, very meticulously explained. I really enjoyed it and look forward to the next stage of the specialization.

By Theo 1

Nov 24, 2020

This course is great for anyone wanting start understanding UI Design. I really enjoyed taking Visual Elements of User Interface Design.

By Binoj m

Sep 15, 2020

I feel the course is well conceived and executed especially for beginners. Loved the classes and tasks given by Mr. Worthington. Thanks.

By kareem h

Nov 8, 2020

It's a really good course. It helps me understand the meaning of the visual elements of UI design and build my new career

Really thanks

By LEUNG K W D

Jul 12, 2020

I can learning from this course about the UX methodology, rather then technical skill set. It's what i want to learn, Thanks for that.

By Chris R

Jan 30, 2019

Practical, encouraging and realistic course where the teacher expects initiative from the student. I can highly recommend this course.