Chevron Left
Back to Water Resources Management and Policy

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Water Resources Management and Policy by University of Geneva

4.6
stars
857 ratings
212 reviews

About the Course

Water management today is faced with new challenges such as climate change or the effects of human activity. Public and private stakeholders who are active in this field must develop new ways to better manage the water cycle "as a whole". The objective of this MOOC is to develop an understanding of the problems related to water management. Firstly, this course will define a resource and, more specifically, the resource of water. It will look at how water is used and the activities associated with it as well as any potential conflicts. The course will look at water management in detail through the analysis of the different types of rights and obligations associated with, for example, the development of a multi-sectorial regulation system or a watershed management approach. By the end of this course, our aim is to enable you to: 1) Identify the main issues and strategies linked to water resource management 2) Acquire the key reading material needed to understand the many variables (environmental, institutional and political) which affect water and which, in terms of management, may require adjustment. This course was developed by the Geneva Water Hub. Alongside researchers from the University of Geneva from a range of faculties, researchers from other universities and research centres will be involved in this course. Practitioners who deal daily with the political dimension of water management will also input into the course. This MOOC is designed for all those interested in the water sector. Prior training is not necessary to follow our program. The findings presented in this course can be easily reapplied to different contexts and to different scales of analysis. This MOOC is supported by the Geneva Water Hub and the University of Geneva along with the MOOC in « Ecosystem Services: a Method for Sustainable Development » (www.coursera.org/learn/ecosystem-services) and the one in "International Water Law" (www.coursera.org/learn/droit-eau). This course is funded by the Global Programme Water Initiatives of the Swiss Agency for Development and Cooperation (SDC). This course is also available in French : www.coursera.org/learn/gestion-eau...

Top reviews

CO
Oct 2, 2020

This course presents complex and hard to understand concepts of water resource management in a very subtle and precise way thus suitable for all learners from all backgrounds and learning levels.

HK
May 17, 2018

i have gained alot out of the course, is there a statement of accomplishment for this course? thank you very much for the knowledge gained, i am looking forward to participate in other courses.

Filter by:

151 - 175 of 209 Reviews for Water Resources Management and Policy

By Subha S

Jul 13, 2020

The instructors have tried to hard to present different facts, and I also admire that they interviewed different persons related to the water management. But I faced a real problem in Week 3 or 2 where they talked about concepts, It really went over my head because no matter how many times I read them I couldnt figure out what they meant. Maybe thats because I am not a native English speaker. And also, THIS COURSE IS IN FRENCH! (except a couple of videos). So please know what you are signing up for. But I really enjoyed the last week and also learnt a lot of new terms. And for the efforts of instructors, I am giving it a 4 star.

By Levente S

May 21, 2020

In general, I liked this course. I appreciated the diversity of people involved and the change of environment the lectures were recorded. However, since most of the lectures are rather "dry, and a lot of us don't speak French, I felt like I could lose focus and attention pretty easily. So I would have loved an occasionally virtually more engaging presentation with graphs, maps, etc. The lectures that were most engaging for me were the ones when there was a guest or a particular case was discussed. But then again, in general, I really liked this course.

By Nicole

Feb 28, 2019

This course was honestly more difficult than others, keep in mind that it's mostly in french. It's tricky for people like me, who speak french and english, both as second languages. Most of the words I didn't understand were translated as the same (from french to english). I also felt that the translator's objective was more to translate sometimes rather than give the intended meaning. Trying to coordinate between french and english wasn't easy. However, the course was helpful nonetheless. I highly recommend it for people interested in this topic.

By Georgia H

Jun 4, 2020

I found this course really interesting as it covers a broad range of topics in the field of water management - I enjoyed the mixture of theory, case studies and interviews. It was a good level for me as someone who is familiar with some of the debates, theories and issues but looking to get a bit more detail across the board. I also thought the module quizzes were a good length and allowed you to recap what you'd learnt well.

By Ravi K M

Aug 15, 2020

A very interesting course based on some good real life examples from around the world. Suitable for anyone who wants to understand the basics of natural resources management at community, state or international level. Though it is mostly in french; English transcript and presentation along with supportive documents are sufficient for a good understanding of the subject.

By iveth k j

Oct 6, 2016

This course introduced me to new valuable concepts, that I find useful in my daily work. I liked tha clarity of most of the teachers. The case studies served to understand better the concepts presented. However, I would have liked to learn more about the situation regarding water resource management in South America.

By 831 S K

Aug 9, 2020

I personally feel that the course should have been in English language ,although there were sessions in english. It would have been more comfortable if it was in ..,above all the course was really good to the core.It has been very wonderful and good as par for the explanation through out the course.

By Qasim K

Mar 23, 2020

An interesting and engaging course with examples from the real world. I really enjoyed the course and gained valuable knowledge. The only negative point was, at times I felt the original essence of the lectures was not properly captured in the translations.

By Eugenio P

Feb 8, 2016

Muy buen curso. Very nice course. Loads of interesting things to learn. Maybe some compulsory readings would be nice and will help structure the content of the course. Still, very very interesting and quite mind blowing. Recommend it for sure.

By Amrita R

Apr 27, 2020

Since, this course contained english subtitles so often. It was quite unworthy scrolling through the texts written escaping the visual representation. Otherwise, other so many things described brought me into light of this course. Thank you!

By Thomas M

Apr 2, 2020

Great content and delivery however for an english speaking person I found the translations in places to be very difficult to read and spent on average twice the time assigned for each unit to properly understand the content.

By Himanshu G

Apr 16, 2020

I found this little difficult as I have read through each line and each word carefully as the language was the problem. Other than that course gave me good insight of water resource management policies and its importance.

By Prashanth N

Mar 17, 2020

The course enhances the understanding of the sector through the various frameworks. It gives the learner an idea about the various practical case studies that could be looked at to get deeper knowledge the sector.

By Inca A

Apr 23, 2020

Thank you for a given chance to complete the course. I enjoyed the course and learned essential concepts, approaches, terminologies. Would love to see some essential readings and their reflection in quizzes.

By Ashish K

Feb 12, 2017

A very interesting course to understand what is happening in the space of Water Management and Policy at International level. A good mix of theoretical frameworks as well as practical case studies.

By Nigel W

Jul 15, 2019

Great Overview of WRM! Just what I was looking for...loved the interviews and the different viewpoints on the effectiveness of different management systems. You should have a PodCast!

By Morgan G

Feb 18, 2020

There are some slides which have quotes in French, but the translation is not included. Other than that the English translation was good and I learned a lot from this course.

By Sahil G

Oct 7, 2019

The course was very informative and helped me understand different aspects related to water, the classes were really helpful in explaining the trans boundary aspects of water.

By uneeb r

Apr 9, 2019

its content is very good but its not available in English language. takes time to read captions and makes it less interesting

By Arunlal K

Apr 18, 2020

The course is structured and organised in professional way. It gives an exposure to both generic and specific cases.

By Adrian G

Dec 11, 2016

It has a very interesting topic to know about, I only wish they could fix the subtitles to a more organic English

By Karma N

Nov 10, 2020

its helpful to know about water crises. even though i have little bit difficulties in catching up with language

By Ye P O

Aug 16, 2020

Very much interesting topics and much fun to learn. However, I wish the entire course was in English.

By Niladri G

May 27, 2020

It was really a good short course. Except the last module rest were really well articulated.

By Dante R

Mar 21, 2017

Great introductory course. The content covers current topics such as the Water-Energy-Nexus.