Chevron Left
Back to Water Resources Management and Policy

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Water Resources Management and Policy by University of Geneva

4.6
stars
862 ratings
213 reviews

About the Course

Water management today is faced with new challenges such as climate change or the effects of human activity. Public and private stakeholders who are active in this field must develop new ways to better manage the water cycle "as a whole". The objective of this MOOC is to develop an understanding of the problems related to water management. Firstly, this course will define a resource and, more specifically, the resource of water. It will look at how water is used and the activities associated with it as well as any potential conflicts. The course will look at water management in detail through the analysis of the different types of rights and obligations associated with, for example, the development of a multi-sectorial regulation system or a watershed management approach. By the end of this course, our aim is to enable you to: 1) Identify the main issues and strategies linked to water resource management 2) Acquire the key reading material needed to understand the many variables (environmental, institutional and political) which affect water and which, in terms of management, may require adjustment. This course was developed by the Geneva Water Hub. Alongside researchers from the University of Geneva from a range of faculties, researchers from other universities and research centres will be involved in this course. Practitioners who deal daily with the political dimension of water management will also input into the course. This MOOC is designed for all those interested in the water sector. Prior training is not necessary to follow our program. The findings presented in this course can be easily reapplied to different contexts and to different scales of analysis. This MOOC is supported by the Geneva Water Hub and the University of Geneva along with the MOOC in « Ecosystem Services: a Method for Sustainable Development » (www.coursera.org/learn/ecosystem-services) and the one in "International Water Law" (www.coursera.org/learn/droit-eau). This course is funded by the Global Programme Water Initiatives of the Swiss Agency for Development and Cooperation (SDC). This course is also available in French : www.coursera.org/learn/gestion-eau...

Top reviews

CO
Oct 2, 2020

This course presents complex and hard to understand concepts of water resource management in a very subtle and precise way thus suitable for all learners from all backgrounds and learning levels.

HK
May 17, 2018

i have gained alot out of the course, is there a statement of accomplishment for this course? thank you very much for the knowledge gained, i am looking forward to participate in other courses.

Filter by:

176 - 200 of 210 Reviews for Water Resources Management and Policy

By Dante R

Mar 21, 2017

Great introductory course. The content covers current topics such as the Water-Energy-Nexus.

By J S K

Oct 23, 2016

An interesting course. Videos were in French but read the script in English to understand

By Dr S K

Mar 15, 2019

I would have felt more comfortable if the lectures were delivered in English.

By DARSANA P

Sep 2, 2020

Informative modules with interviews with experts of the field, Thank you!

By Muhammed f

Sep 24, 2020

The sessions was so helpful for my project and the subject was so clear

By Thapelo M

Feb 11, 2019

It was a bit tricky but a worthwhile learning experience nonetheless

By Gerdus L

Oct 29, 2020

The course was well laid-out and clear. I learned a lot.

By Tapiwa M

Oct 19, 2016

A highly empowering course in terms of Water management

By JUDITH A J

Mar 30, 2016

Great course, but can be tasking for English speakers

By Alexis C

Sep 18, 2017

Very good course content, varied and well developed.

By Vishwajit S

Feb 2, 2019

BASIC KNOWLEDGE OF WATER MANAGEMENT IS VERY HELPFUL

By Fernando d J J G

Jun 20, 2020

Very professional and good information

By Mbaye S

Sep 26, 2018

Un cours très riche en enseignements

By ABHIJIT G

Jul 9, 2017

A very useful course

By Pradip S

May 5, 2017

great course

By Amin

Apr 30, 2016

Great Course

By Héctor C V

Jan 23, 2018

Perfect

By Bharath V T

Jun 26, 2020

good

By Daophet P

May 6, 2018

good

By Jeremy D V

Aug 23, 2016

Very interesting course, providing a descent overview of the whole water management and policy question. A lot of interesting examples are provided to illustrate the different points and various experts are interviewed throughout the course. I still believe though that the general message remains very generic and would benefit from further technical details to go more in depth. Also, the English subtitles do not always exactly match the oral French version.

Finally, the marking only based on quizzes that can be retaken several times makes it very easy in my view. I believe that assignments that would require more involvement from the students (e.g. maybe group assignments with other students?) or applications of the course concepts to case studies would greatly enhance the quality of the course.

Still, it remains a very interesting and well dispensed course!

By STEFFEN P

Jan 12, 2017

Dommage pour le contenu du cours qui est bien présenté, mais le mélange français-anglais le rend difficile à appréhender correctement. Notamment, avec un très petit effort, les mini-quizes dans les videos pourraient être bilingues. Les questions sont assez courtes pour être présentées simultanément dans les 2 langues FR-ENG. De même, les sous-titrages devraient changer de langue (video FR - sous-titrage ENG c'est ok mais Video ENG - sous-titrage ENG est inutile ! p.e. 3.6, 3.7, 5.6 etc.). Et que dire des slides en majeur partie en anglais.

Bref c'est malheureusement un sentiment mitigé que j'ai à l'égard de ce cours (le 4ème MOOC que je suis). Je ne le conseillerai pas à des personnes non bilingues. Dommage.

By Eveline V

Jan 24, 2016

Since I'm working on water modelling (computational fluid dynamics, programming shallow water simulations), I thought it would be fun to learn more about the political side. However, this course has very little in-depth information (pun not intended) and I would like to know more about the actual tools used to design water policies. Though the course is most likely too easy for most university students, it is also very abstract and I would have liked having to do a little more thinking on the real-world examples myself.

By Stephanie A

Dec 21, 2016

The information presented was interesting, and the instructors were engaging. However, I had major issues with the translation. It was completely literal, and often translated in ways that did not make sense. If I did not have a working knowledge of academic French, I would have been lost. Also, many of the test questions were unclear and did not follow best practices in test taking.

By Animesh K

Nov 18, 2020

Satisfactory Course.

Could have used more data to display on screen instead of only telling data verbally. Its helpful for those who don't have this native language

By Paolo C

Feb 17, 2020

some additional information, and actual links to more in depth topics would be a nice addition to the course.