Chevron Left
Back to Weight Management: Beyond Balancing Calories

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Weight Management: Beyond Balancing Calories by Emory University

4.7
stars
870 ratings
291 reviews

About the Course

Across the globe, more people are suffering from obesity than at any other time in our history. Why has obesity become so common and so challenging? In this course, we will look at the root cause of obesity, as explained by the latest science. We will see how our food environment has evolved over the last half-century, and how it is altering our biology to over-consume calories and resist sustained weight loss. We will also see how stress, a sedentary lifestyle, and inadequate sleep disrupt our appetite control system to promote gaining weight. By developing a better understanding of the physiology behind obesity, you will learn how to work with your body to prevent and manage weight gain. This course will also provide practical tools and strategies for creating a long-term, sustainable weight management plan to leverage your habits and your surroundings....

Top reviews

GS
May 25, 2020

The content and flow of the course are optimum and thought-provoking. The quizzes are designed with an inclination towards practical application, which helps one to apply the learnings from the week.

RR
May 17, 2020

There is so much this course taught me about habits that I didn't even realize were unhealthy. A lot of information to take in and hopefully I change my lifestyle accordingly. Thank you so much!

Filter by:

251 - 275 of 290 Reviews for Weight Management: Beyond Balancing Calories

By Sandra H ( J

Apr 20, 2020

Very structured, short but clear conveying of basic information concerning weight management. the workbook is a nice feature and there are a lot of external references to read more detailed information. I enjoyed this course

By LilWritingHood M A

Jan 1, 2021

The course was great however the students / classmates were slightly awful. A woman / girl I dont know kept failing me for " Not completeing the assignment" Yet she only answered questions in a paragraph at a time. etc

By Chenoa H

Feb 14, 2021

There was very good information to learn from this course. One frustration was the peer reviewed assignments. I do think that you should not have course reading materials that require a subscription.

By Luis F S

Aug 3, 2020

It's a good course overall. Nonetheless, I think it uses arbitrary definitions to establish what is an "ultra-processed" food, considering that there is no scientific consensus on this criteria.

By Irene L R

May 18, 2020

El curso está bien, lástima que no te deje terminarlo si no pagas el certificado. Muchos artículos que propone como lectura están bastante bien.

By Mansoor M

Aug 23, 2020

Good course for understanding how the body responds to weight loss and what strategy to follow to maintain a healthy weight.

By Bàrbara B M

Jul 11, 2021

El curso es una excelente forma de conocer los problemas que nos impiden bajar de peso y una buena guía para conseguirlo.

By Marcelo H

Apr 25, 2021

Great course! recommend to anyone wanting to get educated about food, food habits, healthy diet changes and greatfulness

By Tanya K

Nov 2, 2020

Many aspect of course I really liked: article included, interactive work.

I did not care much for video presentations.

By MAHIMA.R

Apr 19, 2020

This course is really good. After finishing this course, I understood the process behind making diet plans.

By Eyob A

Jun 3, 2020

I would give it a 5 but I couldn't get an achievement for completing it without paying so its a 4.

By Georgiana M M

Nov 26, 2019

There are valuble information but also some very generic ones. All in all I've learn a few things.

By AREEJ M

Jun 6, 2020

this course is very informative and this course helps me alot in my field and in my future career

By Loretta W

Apr 11, 2020

pretty basic information. would be great for those who are new to diet, nutrition and exercise.

By Zola L B

Feb 8, 2021

I wish at least one assignment was viewed by a professional and not only peers

By Ruth V

Nov 10, 2020

very good, learned more about weight management and healthy eating and habits.

By Prachi M

May 23, 2020

Explain in detail about how different food affects our health physiologicaly.

By Bhakti S

Jun 9, 2020

Very good content of this course and it really useful for me for my startup.

By Luisa F D B

Aug 17, 2020

I expected a more academic course but I is also a good course

By karen L R P

Apr 10, 2021

muy bonito y caro, quiero mi sertificado graciaas

By Ola R

May 3, 2020

It's too useful but contain too much articles

By Fatema A M H

Jun 30, 2020

It is useful and wonderful course.

By Abeer

Sep 26, 2020

highly recommended!

By Jayprakash P

Mar 16, 2020

it was good course