Chevron Left
Back to Improving Communication Skills

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Improving Communication Skills by University of Pennsylvania

4.6
685 ratings
169 reviews

About the Course

Learn how to communicate more effectively at work and achieve your goals. Taught by award-winning Wharton professor and best-selling author Maurice Schweitzer, Improving Communications Skills is an essential course designed to give you both the tools you need to improve your communication skills, and the most successful strategies for using them to your advantage. You'll learn how to discover if someone is lying (and how to react if they are), how to develop trust, the best method of communication for negotiation, and how to apologize. You'll also learn when to cooperate and when to compete, how to create persuasive messages, ask thoughtful questions, engage in active listening, and choose the right medium (face-to-face conversation, video conference, phone call, or email) for your messages. By the end of the course, you'll be able to understand what others want, respond strategically to their wants and needs, craft convincing and clear messages, and develop the critical communication skills you need to get ahead in business and in life....

Top reviews

AJ

Mar 10, 2018

What a great class!! I enjoyed every bit of it! and learned alot about how trust and deception work. The mechanism of Goal setting and ideas about how to have an effective conversation.

TR

Feb 25, 2019

Great material, the professor does a great job explaining complex topics in a straightforward and plain way. You will get very insightful takeaways for your life and work afterwords.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 163 Reviews for Improving Communication Skills

By Robert C

Oct 29, 2018

Some parts of this course were good and some weren't. I would have liked to have heard less of telling stories and more focus on communication. I totally disagree with the whole concept that there is any platform where threats are a good idea. I would have like to have seen more clarity in the lectures about core and non-core violations. The lecture veered off into stories about well's Fargo, Martha Stewart, David Letterman and political figures. I would have liked to have seen the quizzes do a better job of reflecting the lectures instead of being a game of chance. Or, whack a mole. Mostly, I found this course to be a bunch of crap mostly because of the stories which had no real bearing on the course. After the second week, I quit watching the lectures and downloaded the scripts. There probably needs to be further readings if a topic isn't covered very well.

By Olena W

May 29, 2019

I did really enjoy the course. I gave a different perspective on situations and personal behaviour. The approach was very effective and the knowledge sticks in your mind. Very good.

By Sergio C

Aug 07, 2018

I find the course simplified and therefore effective. I enjoyed it and believe it is going to be useful moving forward. However, I believe some quizzes were not clear enough and lead to confusion.

By César A d F R

May 12, 2019

Great overall course, multiple nuances, and insights presented on a variety of subjects related to communication. On the negative side, the evaluation could be more interactive, not only consisting of multiple choice quizzes but maybe include some written task or even video eschange.

By Alla P

May 15, 2019

Professor Maurice Schweitzer is obviously an expert in this field, and it was great to be able to learn from him. Course was very useful and thoughtfully presented.

Thank you!

By bikram k

Sep 23, 2018

The course is good. I would like to see exercises and tools that can we used, practiced in daily life.

By 李佳璇

Nov 18, 2018

I 'll work harder.

By Zen M

Dec 21, 2018

Wonderful course material! Videos and lecture slides offered excellent insights into human behavior, particularly deception and apologies. This class is a must for anyone looking to communicate with large groups at scale!

By Caroline H

Jan 28, 2019

I thoroughly enjoyed Professor Schweitzer's "Improving Communication Skills" course. It was an unexpected lecture for me in terms of the materials being taught. However, I really appreciated learning about social dynamics, the breakdown and analyses, of communication. Professor Schweitzer is a great instructor and has kept my attention for these past 4 weeks of lecture. Great course!

By lisbeth l o

Nov 13, 2018

ex

By Robert G S P

Jan 08, 2019

Strongly recommend this for the context of communicating in a corporate context and in the context of negotiations.

By Joe W

Jan 21, 2019

great course!

By Sidrah Q

Jan 20, 2019

Wonderful course.. wouldve appreciated more if a more detailed summary on key areas was gic=ven and the audio couldve been louder

By Tomas R

Feb 25, 2019

Great material, the professor does a great job explaining complex topics in a straightforward and plain way. You will get very insightful takeaways for your life and work afterwords.

By Isabelle W

Mar 03, 2019

I think the content of the course will probably be different to what you thought it would, but it's definitely worthy of trying. Really useful and easy to comprehend, especially with proper amounts of examples.

By Sonja L

Mar 05, 2019

Lost of great examples to really explain the content

By Ankush D

Mar 04, 2019

I love the course and the kind of explanation used by the creator is through and specific. The Examples used are appropriate and It helps a viewer to understand with ease.

By Atilio M

Mar 07, 2019

Great course, easy to follow and understand.

By Naif M A

Jul 29, 2018

5

By venkatesh p

Apr 25, 2017

Amazing course!

By Abdelhafid B A

Oct 15, 2017

very helpful

thanks

By Ruiqi J

Dec 10, 2017

The course is structured, informative, and not dull to take; the professor speaks with a loud, clear and engaging voice that adds motivation to stay in the course. Understand the materials used come from primarily academic studies, it'd be better/helps understanding if more example of life-related scenarios can be used.

By Tarek M k

Jul 03, 2017

thanks for helping

By Anissa B

Jul 18, 2017

Excellent!

By Kai-Hung C

Jul 06, 2017

Inspirational!