Chevron Left
Back to Improving Communication Skills

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Improving Communication Skills by University of Pennsylvania

4.7
stars
1,795 ratings

About the Course

Learn how to communicate more effectively at work and achieve your goals. Taught by award-winning Wharton professor and best-selling author Maurice Schweitzer, Improving Communications Skills is an essential course designed to give you both the tools you need to improve your communication skills, and the most successful strategies for using them to your advantage. You'll learn how to discover if someone is lying (and how to react if they are), how to develop trust, the best method of communication for negotiation, and how to apologize. You'll also learn when to cooperate and when to compete, how to create persuasive messages, ask thoughtful questions, engage in active listening, and choose the right medium (face-to-face conversation, video conference, phone call, or email) for your messages. By the end of the course, you'll be able to understand what others want, respond strategically to their wants and needs, craft convincing and clear messages, and develop the critical communication skills you need to get ahead in business and in life....

Top reviews

SP

Sep 9, 2020

An absolutely wonderful course on communication skills. Its a course every professional should take as it teaches the very basics of communication that we all should incorporate and practice everyday.

MG

Mar 11, 2020

This course surpassed my expectation. I can not only apply what I have learned in my professional life but also can help me to improve some personal aspects, like communication with my family members.

Filter by:

76 - 100 of 462 Reviews for Improving Communication Skills

By Zen M

Dec 21, 2018

Wonderful course material! Videos and lecture slides offered excellent insights into human behavior, particularly deception and apologies. This class is a must for anyone looking to communicate with large groups at scale!

By Taylor D

Dec 20, 2021

Fantastic quick primer on a range of communication skills including facilitating cooperation, building trust, detecting deception, apologizing effectively, communicating effectively, active listening, and goal setting.

By Arif M

Apr 4, 2018

Very good learning... I think there are lots of story in a single lesson which makes me confused some situations and points. May be its happen only to me but i think you should construct the course layout more simply

By Leona C C Y

Nov 25, 2017

I love the systematic and organized structure, content and context, the knowledge of communication skills are useful and practical, I will make the best use of them into my daily life. Thank you Professor Maurice!

By Karen P

Jun 26, 2020

Really enjoyed listening to Professor Maurice Schweitzer's lectures. He uses very interesting real life stories and examples to broaden our understanding of communication skills. In depth learning. Great course!

By Isabelle W

Mar 3, 2019

I think the content of the course will probably be different to what you thought it would, but it's definitely worthy of trying. Really useful and easy to comprehend, especially with proper amounts of examples.

By Olesya A

Mar 3, 2018

The crucial concepts of social interactions are covered and some applications are discussed. I like the fact that professors draws upon examples from politics, criminal justice, international relations.

By Christa D

Jun 21, 2021

The material was well organized and I learned important skills that I am taking away from this course. The examples provided through the lectures were extremely helpful, too. Great course!

By German S

Jul 6, 2020

I really enjoyed this course. It was very clear and straight to the point. I just need to go ahead and start trying to apply what I learned and I'm sure I'll get some extra questions then.

By Bhumika V

Jun 27, 2022

This course is very usefull and i learnt so many things from this course. A special thanks to Coursera team to make me learn the course and providing the courses in a effecient manner.

By Jason Z

Jul 6, 2020

Very interesting course, not just about the skills, also a lot theories behind the communications. Professor also gave a lot interesting example to help you to understand the theories.

By Roland A C

Jun 12, 2020

Loved it! Learned a lot and the professor provided clear and informative videos. Definitely suggest for anyone interested in gaining a better understanding of effective communication.

By Anton K

Mar 23, 2020

In a simple, effective and positive manner this course offers a deep exploration of different communication skills and helps to bring more awareness in every conversation. Thank you.

By Avinash K D

May 10, 2020

well-curated course, focussed on quality perspective rather than too much of information, crisp concise and delivered in the most effective manner. Thank you for the course.

By Pamela F

Nov 10, 2019

I really learned more about my own communication skills with this course. I will utilize the skills leaned to be a better communicator, also be a more efficient goal setter.

By Roslyn P

Sep 2, 2019

I found this course to be insightful. The new perspectives will help build my mindfulness of the best ways to conduct conversations to create positive outcomes and impact.

By Ankush D

Mar 4, 2019

I love the course and the kind of explanation used by the creator is through and specific. The Examples used are appropriate and It helps a viewer to understand with ease.

By Veronika D

May 3, 2020

I enjoyed very much this course, the notes have been very well prepared so have been the presentations. I really liked also Mr. Schweizer’s style of classes. Thank you

By Deepti S

Aug 5, 2019

Very interesting course and wonderfully delivered by Professor Maurice Schweitzer. It was an immense value addition to me. Enjoyed every bit of the course. Thank you.

By 王尚

Feb 17, 2018

The skills mentioned in the course are both useful and practical.I am much more confident when communicating with others now.Thank you,Professor Schweitze.

ヾ(≧▽≦*)o

By Kamil H

Apr 30, 2020

Very informative and allows one to relate to real world examples and ones own workplace and the various approaches one can use to improve effective communication.

By Daniel A

Sep 9, 2020

Overall excellent course, some of it was a little bit of difficult, but the lessons that were worth it were more than valuable and worth their weight in Gold !

By CHIH T S

Apr 7, 2018

As a business development professional, this course helps me to hone in my communication skill, as well as gaining insights to tips that I didn't know about.

By Ali J

Jun 14, 2020

thank you so much, Maurice Schweitzer, for this wonderful course for us and I was really amazing learning with you once again thank you so much

best regards

By khurram.naseer

Oct 10, 2017

Excellent course. I really enjoyed & It was a great learning experience for me. It helped me focus & think about different aspects of communication skills.