Chevron Left
Back to Improving Communication Skills

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Improving Communication Skills by University of Pennsylvania

4.6
stars
802 ratings
192 reviews

About the Course

Learn how to communicate more effectively at work and achieve your goals. Taught by award-winning Wharton professor and best-selling author Maurice Schweitzer, Improving Communications Skills is an essential course designed to give you both the tools you need to improve your communication skills, and the most successful strategies for using them to your advantage. You'll learn how to discover if someone is lying (and how to react if they are), how to develop trust, the best method of communication for negotiation, and how to apologize. You'll also learn when to cooperate and when to compete, how to create persuasive messages, ask thoughtful questions, engage in active listening, and choose the right medium (face-to-face conversation, video conference, phone call, or email) for your messages. By the end of the course, you'll be able to understand what others want, respond strategically to their wants and needs, craft convincing and clear messages, and develop the critical communication skills you need to get ahead in business and in life....

Top reviews

AJ

Mar 10, 2018

What a great class!! I enjoyed every bit of it! and learned alot about how trust and deception work. The mechanism of Goal setting and ideas about how to have an effective conversation.

TR

Feb 25, 2019

Great material, the professor does a great job explaining complex topics in a straightforward and plain way. You will get very insightful takeaways for your life and work afterwords.

Filter by:

151 - 175 of 186 Reviews for Improving Communication Skills

By Jianwei W

Feb 06, 2018

I found this course very informative, filled with many many aspects, physiology, cooperate communication, etc. It is not about how to write email but much deeper. I would appreciate better assignment design - real life situations which can immediately apply what I have learned. In the end, people are coming here to improve their real life communication skills not theories.

By Utku K

Jan 31, 2018

Some more detailed could be more helpful I think, like non-verbal communication types, types of cons, signals in different cases, useful signals, not useful signals... But in general it was a very good course, I enjoyed everything, I wished furthering my knowledge in the area thats why would like to have more detail. Thank you very much! Great course!

By Meherunnisa B

Jan 04, 2020

An incredibly motivational classes besides of thought provoking. It helps to think over good perspectives of every actions. Makes me to built firm relationships. And to cultivate new ideology. I leant when to trust and when not,and benefits of goal settings, Key ideas about deception, effective speaking...

By Yuliya P

Jun 05, 2018

Quite useful though in some cases quite general. Very easy to follow the presenter. The idea of the course is to get some take-away points and start practicing them in your daily life. So don't expect to become a professional communicators but rather expect some useful ideas. Thank you!

By Elechukwu J E

Dec 13, 2019

This course is incredibly realistic and awesome. It gives different psychological approaches to solving several different niggling issues as 'how to gain trust' and 'detection deception'. However, some points expatiated I think could be viewed more relatively. Especially signalling.

By Meghavi

May 16, 2018

Back to basics course on communication. Well developed modules as communication is not just jargons, vocabulary but also about building a relation. The faculty Prof. Maurice is extremely knowledgeable and well researched on the topic.

By Manuel G

May 12, 2017

Very interesting. From my point of view, it offers a good grasp of the theorethical basis which underlies the different phenomena explained and good practical stories which illustrate them. I enjoyed it and recommend it.

By Pierre-Yves B

Apr 04, 2018

Very informative, but I would have liked some more practical experience or exercises. The many examples given were very illustrative though. Good course.

By Yasmin A

Aug 25, 2019

Way too much information. I feel it needed to be two courses rather than one. Otherwise, really good content. Thank you.

By Leandro C M

Oct 18, 2018

Could be more focused on communication skills

Video examples of excellent communicators would also help and inspire

By Patrick E

Aug 04, 2017

Engaging lectures that help you consider and apply ideas people use every day in a more conscious, structured way.

By Anastasia P

Feb 15, 2018

Good course for the theory on the different elements that influence our personnal and workplace communication.

By Roberto M

Sep 24, 2018

I think the course could be improved by adding some exercises so that students can practice what they learn.

By Maurizio P

Jun 16, 2017

Interesting and well structured course. Clear explainations, very useful the examples from news.

By Omar G

Dec 22, 2019

Materials are insightful and examples bring theory in to practice

By Waleed P

Aug 27, 2017

Loved the course. Would love to see some more examples next time!

By sonika t

Jun 11, 2017

Good experience and a very good learning .......thanks

By Anshuman S

Jun 12, 2018

Well designed and articulated course!Excellent!

By Saqib R

Sep 17, 2017

very informative and help to enhance abilities

By Joseph K

Jan 29, 2019

Some of the quizzes were too difficult.

By Ayotunde R

Sep 14, 2017

An informative and enjoyable course.

By Rodrigo B d S

Jun 11, 2017

Very good tips!

By Moazzam Z

Oct 15, 2017

good

By Derek R

Apr 14, 2019

OK

By Anita

May 29, 2019

v