Chevron Left
Back to Negotiations

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Negotiations by University of Pennsylvania

4.5
stars
42 ratings

About the Course

In this course, you will learn crucial skills needed to understand the intricate dynamics that go into the process of negotiation, and how you can go into your negotiation confident and fully prepared. You'll learn about the framework that goes into shaping a successful negotiation, in addition to gaining the knowledge that will allow you to adapt to rapidly changing circumstances. You'll also learn about emotional control, crafting questions to help you get the information that you need, and skills that will allow you to negotiate in any setting. You will also successfully learn how to navigate a negotiation through real-world exercises, and how to best work to build trust, diffuse anger, and make rational decisions based on the information at hand. Lastly, you will learn how to prepare to negotiate in any setting and use your skills to facilitate with teams and influence outcomes. By the end of this course, you’ll be able to utilize your newly acquired skills to successfully negotiate for employment, contracts, and in any part of your life. Within this course, you will end with the knowledge of how to craft a successful negotiation strategy and manage the conflict that can arise, as well as build trust....

Top reviews

MS

Jun 25, 2022

For me, the course was difficult, but I like the instructor's teaching style. This is the second course I took from this instructor.

LH

Aug 7, 2023

I absolutely loved this course! The delivery is fluid and the content is directly applicable for immediate results. Great course!

Filter by:

1 - 15 of 15 Reviews for Negotiations

By Alejandra M

May 13, 2022

Not very dynamic. Professor has a lot of knowledge but the topics covered are not good enough. I found better courses with more reach and interactive material

By Joseph R V

Dec 5, 2022

Very well done. Great course content. Not easy, but doable. You need to put in effort to obtain maximum value. Glad I took it.

By Obedia A N

Oct 25, 2022

The tutor was very thorough and gave great examples which made the course very easy to follow!

By Gara S

Nov 2, 2022

The Professor used very relatable examples, his pace and methodology were excellent.

By Ji U

May 27, 2024

It is a negotiation skill that can be applied very well to life. Building good business friendships is important. Because good friendship is a sustainable business. Negotiation advantage naturally holds the upper hand in that situation. Importantly, it must be coupled with ethics in order not to be taken advantage of too much. There are definitely strong connections between negotiation and building business friendships. Why Business Friendships Matter: Sustainability: Genuine connections are more likely to last. Just like a strong negotiation aims for a win-win, business friendships built on mutual respect and trust foster long-term collaboration. Negotiation Advantage: Having a positive relationship can create a more open and friendly negotiation environment. This can lead to more creative solutions and better outcomes for everyone involved. Balancing Friendship with Ethics: Ethical Considerations: It's important to remember that business is still business. While friendliness can help, don't let it cloud your judgment. Always be mindful of ethical boundaries and avoid compromising your integrity. Strong business relationships can be powerful tools for success, as long as they're built on a foundation of trust, respect, and ethical conduct.

By HARUN S

Oct 19, 2022

Disruptive to integrative issues, judgement biases, failure of perspective taking, duchenne smile, reappraisal, re-frame, competitive arousal, dodging, paltering, deflection... It was a nice journey with Maurice Schweitzer, Professor of Operations, Information and Decisions...   Many thanks to Coursera platform and Wharton Business School...

By Julio R Q

Mar 4, 2023

I really enjoyed this course on Negotiations; it´s not as structured as I would have expected compared to other Wharton courses I´ve done, but the insight and wisdom provided by the instructor, shows his ample knowledge and experience in teaching this topic.

By Tiffanylamps. e

Jul 29, 2023

It was a great course, treating all aspects of negotiation process, both in theory and practice.

I would only make instructions for assignments more clear as they were not allways easy to understand.

By Mike S

Jun 26, 2022

For me, the course was difficult, but I like the instructor's teaching style. This is the second course I took from this instructor.

By Ludovic H

Aug 7, 2023

I absolutely loved this course! The delivery is fluid and the content is directly applicable for immediate results. Great course!

By Mehul P M

Dec 6, 2023

Loved the course. Very informative with appropriate examples given when required.

By Saljooq H

May 6, 2023

Great course for anyone who wants to improve his negotiation skills.

By Reto M

Oct 6, 2023

Excellent course, great examples, very well structured

By Luigi C

Apr 6, 2023

One of my favorite lecturers... Needs video animations to make the concepts friendlier.

By Svetlana

Aug 11, 2023

This course is certainly was a high expectation of mine. Unfortunately for me it was way to difficult to comprehend the content.