Chevron Left
Back to People Analytics

Learner Reviews & Feedback for People Analytics by University of Pennsylvania

4.5
stars
5,259 ratings
997 reviews

About the Course

People analytics is a data-driven approach to managing people at work. For the first time in history, business leaders can make decisions about their people based on deep analysis of data rather than the traditional methods of personal relationships, decision making based on experience, and risk avoidance. In this brand new course, three of Wharton’s top professors, all pioneers in the field of people analytics, will explore the state-of-the-art techniques used to recruit and retain great people, and demonstrate how these techniques are used at cutting-edge companies. They’ll explain how data and sophisticated analysis is brought to bear on people-related issues, such as recruiting, performance evaluation, leadership, hiring and promotion, job design, compensation, and collaboration. This course is an introduction to the theory of people analytics, and is not intended to prepare learners to perform complex talent management data analysis. By the end of this course, you’ll understand how and when hard data is used to make soft-skill decisions about hiring and talent development, so that you can position yourself as a strategic partner in your company’s talent management decisions. This course is intended to introduced you to Organizations flourish when the people who work in them flourish. Analytics can help make both happen. This course in People Analytics is designed to help you flourish in your career, too....

Top reviews

AA
Dec 21, 2018

Thank you so much for this very helpful module! I hope you continue to inspire HR professionals around the world to use HR Analytics as an important means to drive organizational-related decisions.

AK
Oct 4, 2020

detailed, yet high level enough to bring any specialist into the subject. provides useful information that is beyond people analytics. very recommended or any level/specification HR professional.

Filter by:

701 - 725 of 989 Reviews for People Analytics

By saurabh s

Oct 16, 2016

The course serves well for beginners purpose. However I would really appreciate a little more advance level to be introduced as soon as possible to leverage the momentum generated and also to cater to practical needs.

Greater fo

Focus on real life examples and exercises will also help.

By Rida G

Nov 15, 2020

This course really helps me to learn new skills, like talent management, learn about people etc. this course was more than my expectations. After this course, I have learned individuals investigation and furthermore to actualize it. It has assist me with progressing in my insight.

By Rodrigo A

Mar 20, 2021

The course is really good to present an overall understanding of areas to focus on and to suggest ideas of tools to use. I think there could be a week #5 with more hands-on exercises to actually implement some of the suggestions. In general, it's a great course for managers.

By Karin F

Apr 17, 2018

This course give a good summery about People Analytics. I think it's just a pity that one does not see in the tests which is the correct answer, if one has chosen the wrong one. The course keeps saying that employees value feedback. That should also be considered here too.

By Sharon L L

Jun 11, 2021

The course was a bit challenging but I love that it pushed me to the wall and I was able to learn. Being a student still pursuing my masters, this was completely new to me and it has been really insightful and helpful. I learnt a lot and I'm grateful to all my lecturers.

By Rabab W

Sep 24, 2017

The course was useful and definitely it added to my experience; however I was a little bit confused by the middle of the course may be because of the quantity of the information or the length of the course.

Overall; it was very useful and it helped me a lot, thank you!

By Michele T

Dec 27, 2020

A very good course, with high levels teachers and useful insights and tips. Maybe, I'd like to imagine a suplementary (or a 5th module) course about practical PA approaces and exampkes in order to have the chance to get more practice. Just an idea! Congratulations!

By arushi m

Apr 14, 2020

Very well embedded with examples, though a few more industry related examples would be appreciated. It is a great introduction or starting point to understand analytics as a subject and relate it to people management in our organizations. Great learning experience.

By Terry W

May 13, 2020

This course provided insight into managing people using analytics techniques. Each module helped me gain awareness to recognize the noise and make better workforce decisions by harnessing the power of data, getting a clearer picture of what goes on and what isn’t.

By Kayla S

Jul 1, 2020

A fascinating course that unfortunately doesn't seem to have the time to dig in very deep into the concepts covered. I would love to see recommendations for further coursework or resources related to People Analytics, as the topic definitely piqued my interest.

By Christos F

Sep 6, 2018

The course was really interesting as it deals with human nature, how people think, act and are assessed in a working environment. It brings in new ideas on how to manage and assess people, giving a clear view on the commom mistakes made through that process.

By Manu S

Apr 26, 2020

Very well curated course for building fundamentals, the examples and anecdotes mentioned were really helpful. Would really like to see some assignments and hands-on activities done on data sets. This would add value to the overall experience of the course.

By NIRBHAY G

Apr 23, 2020

It would be good if some examples which are relevant in other parts of the world may be included to give insights into some topics. I had to first understand the concept of drafting to be able to make sense of the NFL Draft case in Performance evaluation.

By Domenico M

Jan 4, 2017

This course gives you plenty of examples of the way un-measurable human relationship can be quantified. Moreover, you will be very surprise in all the evidence put together to show how the "good old way" in selecting and evaluating people is quite wrong

By Georgia

Oct 20, 2020

Great course if you haven't had much exposure to the field. I have been working in Human Resources for 11 years and do have a academic statistics background prior to this so although I found it a great course it felt like more of a refresher for me

By Clara Z

Dec 15, 2015

All the videos are very interesting and insightful. But I feel the overall content can be more substantiated to make it more like a course. Each of the current week can be followed by at least 2 more weeks of detailed techniques and examples.

By Mahima B

May 27, 2020

Wonderful course. Loved it. But in some of the modules examples used were from sports field. Good that examples were connected to the sports field and analytics but not all can easily connect it to the topics if they don't follow sports.

By Jay S

Dec 18, 2015

Great introduction to Performance evaluation and Talent assessment techniques. Application of statistical tools to the data needs more emphasis and possibly with a hands-on example using Excel data analysis tool would have been great!

By Pavel C

Apr 10, 2016

Very good one on subject - however I suggest to improve it by

a) giving some more challenging tasks than just checking knowledge with MCQ

b) adding some ideas from cross-cultural perspective

c) considering adding more links to resources

By Rashi A

Apr 17, 2017

Really found this course of immense value. The aspects discussed, illustrations given and the content are all very relevant. Also, loved the fact that while concepts and theory has been discussed, a mention of the practical aspects

By Babuprasad S

Aug 22, 2016

Some more context based on examples from that could map to students going through this from different pats of the World would help better. The baseball was to specific to the West which was tough to follow at the start.

Thanks

Babu

By Shilpa P

Aug 8, 2017

I am new to this field. Have been in Line HR for more than 15 years and really struggled to use analytics to the HR function. This program gives a very good framework. The topics and discussion were very insightful and thought

By Surya P

Sep 21, 2020

It will be more effective, if you provide some info on tools which work as same as Analytic tool. So that we can easily understand how to use analytic tools for identifying the right talent and for the organizational growth.

By Rishica S

Jun 10, 2020

Overall the experience was good.

But took some time in understanding the concepts that was explained by Prof. Mathew Bidwell.

Seemed like sometimes he was getting confused while trying to explain the concepts with examples.

By Rasika D

Jul 18, 2017

I find this course really helpful which provides modern approach to HR challenges. Though I am not from statistics background, it was easy to understand all the concepts as they were well explained by all the professors.